We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent five nights at this great hotel and by the end of our stay we felt we had a whole lot of new best friends. The staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
We just love New Orleans and having a perfectly located hotel, with the wonderful Desire restaurant right next door made our stay near perfect.
The room was great, had everything we could possibly want, including the vastly overpriced Evian water which we ignored. Shame in you royal Sonester! !!
We ate once at the coffee bar and were not impressed. The food was stodgy and expensive and the staff unfriendly. This was a shame as the rest of the staff were so good.
We spent a great night listening to Irvin mayfield who was playing at the time.
His show made perfect ending to a great visit to New Orleans and the royal Sonester.
We definitely recommend this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are definitely quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,198)
There are newer reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,525 - 2,531 of 4,198 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel has everything. It's modern and updated but still has the French Quarter charm. There is even a kiosk to check in for your flight and print out your boarding pass. There are several restaurants, including the Desire Oyster Bar. And it's the home of Grammy award winner Irvin Mayfield's jazz club. The RS is in the French Quarter and has all you need for an enjoyable time in the New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to be facing Bourbon Street which can be noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A beautiful hotel, excellent service and staff. Very good location in the French Quarter. Desire Restaurant has a good breakfast & the morning servers there are particularly attentive and friendly. LeBooze is one of a few decent bars on Bourbon Street & a great location to people watch. My only complaint is the pillows, they are terrible, they go completely flat as soon as your head hits them. You can actually roll the king pillows up they are so flat & you have to get any support for your head and neck.

Room Tip: Interior rooms facing the pool or courtyard are best.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbt826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

One of the best hotels I have visited. Perfect location in the city and most friendly and courteous staff. Everyone had smiles and really went out of their way to make our stay there a great one!!!!! The food was great and we just loved the general overall atmosphere . The coffee shop had excellent and a variety of choices to make-----and lets not forget the famous Revolution Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyclara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked a balcony room overlooking Conti, and were delighted from the moment we pulled up to the hotel. I ran in at the front entrance on Bourbon to find the location of the parking garage, and the reception desk had our room key ready to go. From there, check-in and getting settled in our room only took a few minutes. Every single employee we encountered was friendly, personable and highly efficient. The hotel is beautiful and our room was perfectly appointed with everything that we could ask for.

Some of the other reviews about the noise factor at night were correct, but the heavy drapes over the French doors opening onto our balcony were quite effective in blocking the dance-hall music down the street. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and we had free Wi-Fi in our room.

We enjoyed the tropical courtyard, coffee from PJ's and a great casual dinner at the Desire Oyster Bar. Would have spent more time in the hotel, but ... this is New Orleans, and so many other activities were beckoning!

Some of the hotel services, like parking at $40 a day, are pricey, but not totally out of line with what we've spent at other New Orleans hotels. We did get a little sticker shock at the bottled water offered in the room for $6.50, and a big chuckle out of the "romance package" offered in the mini bar.

If we decide to stay in the French Quarter again, the Sonesta will definitely be on our list of potential places to stay.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose an interior room. If you like to people watch, spring for the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspurlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Let me start off by saying the hotel is perfectly located within the french quarter. You don't need a car and you are within walking distance of everything: restaurants, shops and bars! The hotel has a historical, classy, Great-Gatsby feel, but with modern amenities and flair! The entire staff - particularly our front desk receptionist, Ashley - was professional dressed, helpful, knowledgable, courteous and friendly. We booked through Livingsocial and were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of champagne, and discount vouchers to their delicious on site restaurant, Desire, (Loved the Étouffée and the crawfish & Bacon carbonara with penne pasta,yum!), the coffee Cafe and their awesome jazz lounge! In addition, Ashley offered us an upgrade to a balcony suite that overlooked the beautiful garden and pool area...Amazing! Thanks again, Ashley! Also, with all the mayhem that was going on directly outside the hotel, our room was surprisingly quiet...When I come back to visit New Orleans, my accommodations will definitely be THE ROYAL SONESTA HOTEL!

Room Tip: Our room was on a higher floor which may have contributed to the sense of tranquility and lack of ou...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHayes1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just had a fabulous weekend at this hotel. Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms, lovely beds. Only one thing let it down, balcony on side street overlooking lots of rubbish bags & bins at end of night. These were collected early in morning which woke us up.

Room Tip: We preferred not to be on Bourbon Street as rather noisy. Excellent location of hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £149 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing