We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, jazz, ACCOUNTING Dept!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent Christmas just next door to the Sonesta and found the hotel amenable on so very many fronts. I will review the Revolutions experience in "restaurants" but want to commend the hotel for being everything accommodating, even if you're not lucky enough to land a room there! Last to be seated in a full-house Mayfields Jazz Club we were given first-class seating by the lovely hostess and loved the laid back style, service and music on the holiday.

When I couldn't differentiate the charges on my statement, Wade W & Charlene (in accounting) were amazingly gracious and patient. Royal Sonesta and the people who work in front and behind the scenes exemplify the best of hospitality, New Orleans-style!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are very pleased to receive this review from an outside hotel guest. We are blessed to have such popular venues at our property like Restaurant R’evolution, Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, Desire Oyster Bar, PJ’s Coffee and Le Booze that attract people from all over! We are glad that our staff took such good care of you and how your interactions with our accounting team and extended service team really made such a great impression. We look forward to sharing these comments with our staff. Please consider the Royal Sonesta when planning future trips, as we would love to have you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,653 - 2,659 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the place!!! For location, value and quality of service - The Royal Sonesta is THE place to stay!!! Another plus is having The Jazz Playhouse in the lobby - easily one of the city's best jazz clubs!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atkinscondos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Reviews like this are exactly what we strive for! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay and how much you enjoyed the entertainment at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse. If you are not already, please consider joining Sonesta’s Loyalty Program called Travel Pass. As a member you will earn points each time you stay Sonesta and eventually redeem these points for free nights, discounts at all of our outlets, including the Jazz Playhouse, as well as many other great amenities! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed at the Royal Sonesta for a few nights last year. The location of the hotel is amazing, right in the middle of Bourbon street. You won't find a better location if you like being in the middle of the action. That said, the hotel service is fine but the hotel rooms were average at best. They could use a bit of modernization. Another consideration should be the noise. We like to go out and have fun but being right on Bourbon street means intense noise well into the morning. If you do stay here and want to sleep during your stay, make sure to request a room as far away from Bourbon street as possible. Overall, I would recommend the Royal Sonesta, mainly for the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshjobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to share this review of your stay with us and for your recommendation. We’re happy to share that a hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year which will modernize our guest rooms, fitness center and expand our RClub Lounge. Please come back to see us soon and remember Sonesta for your future travels in the U.S. and abroad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

After being told this was one of the best hotels to stay in for NYE in New Orleans for our honeymoon - we booked it - how wrong could it be.
Booking confusing upon arrival/noisey rooms/no hot water/ tv not working/dirty windows that don't open..the list can go on!!

Although this is in the heart of the French quarter and great for location that's all id say was good.

We will never come back here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Serena, we are so sorry that your honeymoon stay was mirrored with miscommunication and service not consistent with our standards. If you would be so kind, our Director of Hotel Operations Klaus Kelterborn would like to set up a time to call you to further discuss your experiences. His e-mail is kkelterborn@sonesta.com and he looks forward to speaking with you as soon as he hears of a convenient time to call you. We strive for perfection for every guest stay but clearly we fell short of our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visited for a wedding and had the perfect location in a beautiful hotel. The rooms are nice, not fancy but comfortable. All the conveniences are in the hotel. There is a good coffee shop, a terrific jazz club, two fantastic restaurants and a beautiful lobby. The wedding was in the court yard and the reception was fantastic. Great food and great service. The hotel is a block from the street car and shopping on Canal Street and a few blocks from Jackson Square. There was a lovely outdoor pool but it was a November visit so we did not swim. The hotel faces Bourbon Street on one side. If you don't want the noise of Bourbon Street, make sure to request a room on he other side of the hotel. The staff is very accommodating and the concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for sharing this outstanding review of your stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are thrilled you had so much fun at the courtyard wedding and really liked our prime location and all the entertaining outlets on property. We greatly appreciate you recognizing our hardworking friendly team and hope you might consider staying at one of our Sonesta properties worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite because it was our anniversary. It was beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. Thank you, Sonesta- we enjoyed everything about our stay. The hotel was clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The parking garage staff was easy to work with. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MEn225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

First and foremost, congratulations on your anniversary! We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans and even upgraded to our Honeymoon Suite! We are pleased to have helped make this one to remember and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

don't ,just don,t miss this spot. great music,wonderfull ambience good drinks friendly waite staff and bartenders
we listened to the marine corp jazz band one nite and the rocked the house next nite was a fanfastic trumpete and his group the place soulful jazz the ware excellent too

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Peter, thank you for sharing this rave review of Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse located on our lobby level. We are glad you had the opportunity to experience its fun live jazz, dedicated service team and special A Very Marine Christmas show. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,900 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,050 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,712 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £151 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing