We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Soul of Bourbon Stree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Soul of Bourbon Stree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you want a close encounter with the soul of Bourbon Street in a nice hotel with wonderful staff. This is the place for you. The hotel is nicely appointed in old style charm; clean and comfortable rooms. Be aware that the life of Bourbon Street is just outside the window. Good breakfast at the Desire and live jazz in the hotel every night.

Room Tip: Rooms as far as possible from Bourbon are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleB9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dale, we are overjoyed with your delightful comments. Thank you so much for the review of your authentic New Orleans stay including a filling breakfast from Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, nightly live jazz music inside Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse and our very hospitable service team. Please visit us again soon, and be sure to try our newest fine dining establishment, Restaurant Revolution. It is experience you do not want to miss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,263
    1,115
    330
    113
    97
See reviews for
499
1,728
115
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a nice hotel right on Bourbon street. The room was clean and the service was good. We dealt with all three concierges and they were all very helpful. Gave us good advice and lots of information. The elevator was a little slow but when our remote didnt work they acted promptly and got it fixed. Maid service was good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hilary, thank you for this review and your gracious compliments to our team, especially the concierge. We are so glad they were able to help enhance your visit to New Orleans. We apologize for the elevator delays that happened during your stay as we are working to replace them. Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was our second trip to NO and to the Royal Sonesta. This time we brought our son, who was able to get time off of work and school. We stayed in a courtyard/pool side room as we did before. It was great, just as it was last time. It was nice to see a lot of the same staff that we had met last year, and were so suprized that they remembered us. The pool was wonderful, as are the work out facilities. The Royal Sonesta is so convenient to everything, within walking distance. Also the concerge is really nice and will have any tour you want pick you up right at the door. Rooms are clean, spacious, beds and pillows are super comfy, and they provide great emenities. The pool bar was fabulous and make sure you say hi to Tommy and have him make you a Tommyknocker. They are so refreshing in the heat of NO. We couldn't be happier with the service at all of the restaurants. The garage is very good, they park for you and pick it up when you are ready to go. They make it really easy. I have no complaints about anything and would highly recommend the Royal Sonesta, It's like walking into another world, after the hustle and bustle of Bourbon St.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the poolside courtyard, away from the noise of Bourbon St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Kelly, reading your review really made our day! Thank you so much for taking the time to share the details of your remarkable stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel and for your compliments on our staff, particularly Tommy. We can’t wait to share these comments with the team! And we’re pleased that you found our interior patio room to be a nice sanctuary from the excitement of Bourbon Street. If you haven’t already, please consider joining our Sonesta Loyalty Program called Travel Pass so that you can earn points for each stay, which you can eventually redeem for free nights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a convention. Rooms are spacious and clean. I did not have a room on Bourbon St but it was very quiet. I liked that you had to show your room key to gain access to the hotel in the evening. Would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdmb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for this review of your restful stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We are very happy that you were able to find some peace and quiet in our hotel during the convention you attended, and we hope you will remember to visit us again for either business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Arrival into the French Quarter on a early Saturday Morning, let alone Bourbon Street, was just the ticket to the start of the trip. The Royal Sonesta located right on Bourban (no noise in our room from the infamous street at night) welcomed and had the look of Christmas throughout the lobby. There were at least 12 live trees decorated with different themes. The welcome by the door man, then the front desk told you right away you were at a class 1 hotel and things were going to be great.

The highlight beside the room which was clean and beautifully appointment with Bulgari soaps and fresh red roses in the room..and serving Harney's Teas..was perfect but the highlight was the Jazz Club downstairs just off the lobby. The night of the arrival and first night was perfect with the Jazz Band Leroy Jones playing (we was the trumpet player for Mr. Harry Connick Jr from 1994 through to 2008) and he did not disappoint. Music of the city and so much more. Luck was on our side and a memorable night.

4th floor was quiet and easy to get to. Security at night in lobby...make sure that you have a key and id. They check everyone coming into the hotel. Nice to see.

Great location and service....it was also game day for the Saints and the lobby and the city was abuzz with Saints pride. Great time and would return...

Room Tip: Ask front desk personnel what rooms are available and they will then inturn assist you as per your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Truenorthandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of our property. Reviews like yours are exactly what we aim for at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans, and we are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations! We are so glad that you took advantage of the opportunity to hear some authentic New Orleans jazz at our Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse. It has certainly become a destination for music lovers around the world. Please consider the Sonesta when planning future stays, as we would love to have you back in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Accomodations, service, ambiance, location and dining exceed expectations. Every detail was perfect. The rooms over Bourbon Street have a phenomenal view and energy. I have dreamed of staying in one for 35 years. Now, the rooms off Bourbon are quiet and perfect for me. The "R Club" amenities were wonderful. Breakfast and happy hour offered excellent options. We never want to stay anywhere else when we return to New Orleans.

Room Tip: If you plan to party nightly until the wee hours, the Bourbon Street side of the hotel is fun! If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaG1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Paula, we’re thrilled to make your dreams come true of staying in the heart of the French Quarter! Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed a wonderful vacation in New Orleans on our R Club level. Please remember to visit us next time you find yourself in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Royal Sonesta on a trip to New Orleans. The lobby is BEAUTIFUL. Quite a refreshing contrast to the filth that can accumulate on Bourbon Street. When checking in, they ask if you would like a balcony or a room facing a quieter street. We chose the room facing a quieter street. Even so, we could not hear much outside noise.

The staff was fantastic. Very welcoming and helpful. The room was very spacious, and the bathroom had two large drawers you could store your toiletries in…perfect because I hate things on the counter….even on vacation! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Brenda, thank you for taking the time to share this experience of your recent stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We are so pleased to learn how much our hospitable team and quiet accommodations enhanced your vacation in NOLA. We look forward to sharing your compliments with our team, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing