We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend first week of Feb 2014. The location was perfect, our room overlooked Bourbon St. and it was great to peep at all the action when we were in the room. The Bed was comfortable and the room was fairly standard. The staff were friendly, welcoming and fun. We would definitely choose it again simply for it's convenient location, as we could walk to the French quarters and all the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: If you like to view Bourbon Street, ask for a room facing it. We did not find the noise to be an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Evonne, thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the local nightlife on Bourbon Street, as well as the convenient location of our hotel right in the middle of the French Quarter! Next time you come to visit, be sure to check out Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, located right in our hotel lobby where you can hear the best local jazz our city has to offer! We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,374
    1,160
    349
    120
    98
See reviews for
538
1,809
121
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed for five nights in January and had a great room on the third floor overlooking the inner courtyard of the hotel which was great - I can't imagine much sleep being had on the rooms overlooking Bourbon Street!

The hotel was clean and like stepping into another world away from Bourbon Street. Our room was large, fantastic bed and extremely comfortable armchair. I especially liked the non intrusive soft blue nightlight that kicked into gear if you got up during the night. Great initiative that meant if one of us got up to use the bathroom they did not wake the other with the light.

All in all, we loved it. BUT - it is important to remember that this hotel is on Bourbon Street. And Bourbon Street is 24 hours. And it is loud and colourful and fun. But it is also debaucherous, wicked and vomit. And I am serious. If you are prepared for that, and can get past it, you will have a great trip!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the inside courtyard of the hotel - unless of course you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for this detailed review of your week-long stay with us last month at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your comfortable and quiet accommodations and the excitement out and about in the French Quarter. On your future travels please consider one of our Sonesta Collection Hotels throughout the United States and abroad!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I saved up for R-Club Concierge Service at the Royal Sonesta and when we arrived, we weren't even put on the R-Club Floor.... We were put a floor below and the accomodations weren't even up to par. It was like staying in a standard room. Yet, I was charged the same overpriced charge for it. Definitely not worth the hype about being located on Bourbon Street. The R-Club Concierge food wasn't too fancy, but was the same the whole weekend. I was very upset as I chose this location over the Ritz where I previously stayed and had far better accomodations! Wouldn't recommend for a luxury type hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Reina, we are very sorry to read that our concierge level amenities did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that this is not our normal feedback of the dedicated service team in the RClub and this isolated incident is taken very seriously. As for the accommodations, we have planned guest room renovations for 2014-2015 including the 6th floor of the RClub level. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, and we hope you will revisit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to our cruise from New Orleans on the 10th January, we were allocated a balcony room looking our on to Bourbon Street, which was very noisy...as we had booked the hotel for a further week after our cruise, we requested to be moved to a quieter part of the hotel which was sorted for us on our return. This hotel is spotless, and the staff are very friendly and attentive. Only problem was the desk took $50 per day from our prepaid credit card which totalled $350 for our stay, due to us being on a three week holiday we didn't budget for the hotel taking the money from our card....and not going to returning it to our card until the day we checked out, but after we complained the following day it was refunded so just be aware of this when booking this hotel... The location of this hotel could not be better as it is within walking distance to everything you would want to see locally in New Orleans if we return to New Orleans this hotel would be our first choice...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank classylady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are very excited that you chose to extend your vacation in New Orleans staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel before AND after your cruise! It is a pleasure knowing that you experienced both our popular Bourbon balcony room and a tranquil interior room, but we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your prepaid credit card. It is our policy to authorize credit cards for total cost of room and tax, as well as incidentals per day and we’re sorry this was not more clearly explained at check-in. Our front office manager plans to use this feedback to enhance staff training. Thank you so much for sharing this valued feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Such amazing treatment! The bell men & hotel staff greeted us by our names. They connected us with amazing restaurants. We choose to upgrade to a beautiful suite. Maurice & Darren were wonderful. They let me tour the rooms before I pick what upgraded suite. Loved my big bath tub! We loved our trip so much we are staying here again for Mardi Gras. My only issue was the housekeepers one day.

Room Tip: Windows without a balcony don't open. All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Michelle, thank you for your review of the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. We are thrilled that our hospitable team, particularly Darin, Maurice and our bellmen, helped create such a memorable stay for you, and we look forward to sharing these compliments with them. Please come back soon to visit you Royal Sonesta family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is on Bourbon which is cool if you want to be in the center of the bar district. Otherwise, the rooms are priced with and with Club service. The service was for breakfast and dinner. Nothing fancy about the food. The rooms are supposed to be better in the R Club. I wouldn't know because our room was on 6 and it was a small no frills room. I previously stayed at the Ritz and had the same concierge service and the Ritz was far better for the money. If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are very sorry that your accommodations on the 6th floor were not what you expected as part of the RClub concierge level. Our full-time RClub manager and attentive team are committed to elevating your Royal Sonesta experience with unrivaled service, breakfast and evening cocktails and hors d’oevres plus more in the exclusive lounge and terrace on the 7th floor. And further enhancements are on the way for our 6th and 7th floor RClub guests! Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback, and we hope you will revisit us again after the completion of our upcoming guest room renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

While the location and the lobby are nice, the rooms are small and outdated. The ceilings are low and the decor dates from the Reagan era.

If you're looking for a convenient and comfortable crash pad while on a party trip to New Orleans, this is a good place to stay. There are probably better options if you're going to be sober for most of your time in New Orleans.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLA70115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to New Orleans. While we’re glad that you enjoyed our hotel’s convenient location and lobby’s comfortable ambiance, we are disappointed that our accommodations were not what you expected. We appreciate your bringing these important observations to our attention, which will be addressed in our upcoming renovation. Our 3rd floor guestrooms have been recently renovated and we have plans to renovate the remaining hotel guestrooms later this year. We hope you will consider revisiting us in New Orleans and one of our Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,306 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,154 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing