We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on Bourbon Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location on Bourbon Street”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at Royal Sonesta at the end of January for 4 nights/5 days.

It is an excellent location on Bourbon Street. We walked everywhere. Very nice restaurant for breakfast and bar for drinks in the evening. Hundreds of restaurants/bars down Bourbon Street. You won't go hungry! Awesome bars with live music all up and down the Street.

The staff is very attentive and friendly.

There was an issue when I checked in for my room (there were 10 of us checking in with seperate rooms - all that were booked at the same time) They said my reservation had changed and had me coming in on the following day. (I had booked an interior patio/pool room). There was nothing available until the following day. The put me on an exterior patio room on a sidestreet (which still had restaurants/bars) and it was very loud. And in the morning very loud. The room was outdated and very small. I was very disappointed in the room. (they told me price was the same for both rooms which I found it hard to believe) I was able to move the next day into the room I had paid for. I was extremely happy with that room. It was very quiet, remodeled, clean and much larger than the prior room. They were very apologetic at the front desk and handled the frustrating situation very well. (I knew the mishap wasn't a result of an error on their part)

Overall it was a nice hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I highly recommend spending the extra money on an interior room. We were out until the "wee ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are so sorry that the room choice you initially requested was not available at the time of check-in and you were inconveniently moved around. But we are glad that our hospitable service team helped you through it and overall you had a fun stay in New Orleans. We’re excited to hopefully welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    1,172
    353
    123
    103
See reviews for
556
1,827
123
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
League City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This wonderful gem in the heart of the French Quarter is one amazing hotel! I did extensive research before our trip to NOLA to pick a romantic hotel....this is the one! We had a covered 3rd floor balcony room just on the corner of Conti and Bourbon. There was so much entertainment in the evening to watch and hear! We lef t our french doors wide open all day and night while in the room to take in all the great food scents and amazing music off Bourbon! The Famous Door just across the street had a amazing band play in the evenings with great music! Every night after dinner we would come back to our room with a turndown service with lit candles, rose petals on our bed, and chocolates! They even brought us two bottles of champagne! We were there celebrating our anniversary, and the Royal Sonesta made it memorable! Unfortunately due to weather we were unable to experience the swimming pool, but I will be back to try that! If your looking for the perfect hotel in the French Quarter....THIS IS THE ONE!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runawayroyalprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Reviews like this are exactly what we strive for! We are honored that you chose the Royal Sonesta Hotel for your romantic getaway and pleased to learn how our special our team managed to make your stay. Please come back soon to experience the pool and for another remarkable escape in the heart of the French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 5 nights last week. My husband stays there frequently for business but this was my first stay. The hotel is right on Bourbon Street so it's very busy. The staff was friendly but not overly helpful. By that I mean that they answered my questions but did not offer any additional information that would've been useful. I expected more with the AAA 4 diamond rating. The room was small but had everything you needed. The bathroom was tiny and dated. Room service was good; prompt and friendly. We ate at Desire for lunch twice and the staff there is great, the food was very good, too. The club floor breakfast was very nice and the room comfortable. Nice hotel overall --- it could be with Mardi Gras starting the staff was stretched to it's limits but I would expect them to be able to meet that challenge being on Bourbon St.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohcandida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are glad that your husband stays with us frequently and we appreciate your choosing us for your visit. Thank you for your compliments to our Desire staff, comfortable accommodations and delicious food. We are glad that you were happy with your room change – we try very hard to please our guests. Note that renovations are planned for the hotel next year and recent room renovations have happened on the 3rd floor. We hope you will consider revisiting us or staying with one of our other Sonesta properties in the U.S. and abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Royal Sonesta was a great place to stay. The staff is the best I've ever seen. Very attentive. The room was perfect. Although we didn't use the pool or the fitness center, I expect to do so next time. The pool deck was closed but looked really nice. I loved the location of being on Bourbon Street, right in the middle of the excitement. Parking is available in their garage right at the hotel. We did not know this. We are already planning our next trip here.

Room Tip: Our room did not face Bourbon St. which us okay with us because it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Cathy, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta and taking the time to share this feedback of your enjoyable stay. We hope you will come back this summer to test our beautiful outdoor swimming pool, which is often called “an oasis in the French Quarter.” Yes, underground secure parking is available at our hotel which can be accessed from Conti or Bienville Streets. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was run down and old, staff not very friendly. We had an early flight and had to get to bed early on our last night there but we couldn't sleep because the lounge band was so loud and staff wouldn't do anything about it. Rooms are way overpriced for being old and dated.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coonrapidsduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are very sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please know that this is not our normal feedback and we usually get elated compliments on our friendly staff and quiet rooms. We are happy to share with you that hotel renovations are planned for the next year and recent room renovations have happened on the 3rd floor. Because your feedback is important to us, one of our managers would like to speak with you further about your observations. Please contact our Director of Hotel Operations at kkelterborn@sonesta.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lovely old hotel on Bourbon Street. Nice room with a balcony to take in all the action. There was live music across the street and all kinds of sights on the street below. Staff very efficient, bellman very helpful with info about room and the area. Good area to walk to all the places you must see.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get room away from Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Lynda, we’re thrilled to read about your fun stay in one of our balcony rooms and glad you got to visit all the famous attractions in the city within walking distance from the hotel. We appreciate your compliments and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Royal Sonesta was everything my wife and I hoped for in our first visit to New Orleans. Great room, wonderful service, first class. Highly recommend and try to get balcony room! Thank you guys for a great time!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jphill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for such a delightful review of your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel! We are pleased that our service team managed to meet and perhaps exceed all your expectations during your first stay with us and we can’t wait for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,615 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,286 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,359 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,194 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing