We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service was bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stopped at their restaurant on Bourbon Street for lunch last month when we visited NOLA. We were seated right away but then no one came by to even give us water. One waitress was standing at the bar yapping to the bartender while we sitting less then 3 feet away. Finally, after 10 minutes of being ignored we got up and walked out. We will never go back since we received absolutely no service!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Kelli, we are very upset to read your comment on the lack of attentive service you described at one of our restaurants. This is not the normal feedback on our wait staff at either of our two restaurants, which usually receive praises on how the friendly, dedicated staff enhance the dining experience whether it be at our casual or award-winning fine dining restaurant. Again, we are sorry you did experience this and we will work with both restaurant teams to ensure this isolated incident is not repeated. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,198
    1,094
    324
    111
    94
See reviews for
485
1,677
111
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here during and after Mardi Gras. This hotel is perfectly placed. It's a lovely building. The rooms are lovely and kept immaculate by housekeeping. My negatives are that on checking in, even though we were the only persons doing so we were dealt with impersonally by the Receptionist. I had advance requested non feather bedding due to allergy but arrived to find that although acknowledged prior to arrival it had not been addressed. Having travelled 24 hours, even though done swiftly it was not ideal to wait bedding change. I had also asked for a Bourbon Street room but was given a room on Conti Street. The heating in our room wasn't working & it was a very cold/wet time. We couldn't even get our coats dry. We did address this but it wasn't fixed. On one occasion, asking the Bellboy to assist us with making a call he remarked "you don't have a phone?!" Then sent me to ask someone else. On checkout we were again dealt with impersonally with exactly the same format used as the couple checking out before us. Not once did any member of staff initiate greetings. I am disappointed when after this holiday had been so long in the planning, the hotel staff seemed a little impervious to how special a time this is for its visitors. Customer Service aside, this hotel did tick the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank judeloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for Mardi Gras and sharing this review. We appreciate your compliments on our convenient location and clean accommodations, as well as helpful comments on the heating system and your customer service experience. Please know this is not our normal feedback on customer service and we sincerely apologize that this was your experience. We will share your comments with our Front Office Director to ensure this behavior remains isolated and not repeated. When your travels bring you back to New Orleans, please consider staying with us and contact our Director of Hotel Operations kkelterborn@sonesta.com for reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay at Royal Sonesta was excellent. Room was clean; bed was extremely comfortable; bathroom/shower were very good. The restaurants at the hotel are first rate, as was the Jazz Playhouse. We will definitely book this hotel again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Laurie, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! Thank you for visiting the Royal Sonesta for your birthday and taking the time to share this great feedback of your memorable stay in New Orleans. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at Royal Sonesta for Mardi Gras 2014.
Upon arrival you will find it very elegant and upscale. The lobby is immaculate.

The service was average at best.
They offer valet service in which they park your vehicle in another lot, this is understandable because parking is at a minimum, but I left my wedding ring in the car, it took multiple phone calls and trips to the valet before I finally had it returned.

The room, again average. It was a sufficient size and was mostly clean.
There were however spider webs over the very small window.
The rooms are noisy, extremely so. The doors are positioned about 2 inches off the ground so any noise from passerby's or other room doors closing will be heard. While I'm on the subject, the doors where incredible loud when they shut. As were the flushing toilets. You can hear every door shut and toilet flush on your floor all night.
The TV in the room received nearly none of the channels that were listed. It repeatedly said "no signal".
There is no microwave or coffee maker.
The room service was ridiculously expensive. It would be nearly impossible for 2 people to eat for under $50.
For the price of this hotel we expected better. Better room, Better service, Better everything.

Can't speak for the rest of the hotels in the area, but I recommend trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerJ1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We appreciate this feedback on your recent stay with us and we honestly apologize that it was not as spectacular as you expected. Please know your observation of our service team is not the normal feedback, and during busy events our valet sometimes parks vehicles in our other garage. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused and for the noise you experienced during your stay. We are pleased to share that hotel renovations are planned in the next year and your comments on the in-room microwave and coffee maker will be considered in the planning. Because your experience is important to us and we want you to feel confident returning to our hotel, our Director of Hotel Operations would like to speak with you further. Please contact him at kkelterborn@sonesta.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me & my husband stayed here 5 nights for Mardi Gras 2014. We looked at numerous hotels and chose this one based solely on the high reviews and location. We loved the location of the hotel. The hotel is very pretty and you get that elegant feel when you are there. We didn't hear bourbon street because we was on the pool view side. But when we got to our room, there was wallpaper coming loose from the wall and a spider web on our window. The doors for every room at this hotel looks a little short and has about an inch or more space at the bottom. Every time someone would come by our room talking, it honestly felt like they was in the room with us. And when anyone's door closed it was super loud. Loud enough to wake you up at the sound of it. We have stayed at a lot of different places and I've never heard doors close that loud. And because of the big gap at the bottom of your door, you can't ignore all the noises. I wish they had microwaves. When we would eat out they would give you huge portions. More than you could finish and we just had to throw a lot of food away because we couldn't take it with us to warm up later.
We did like the Desire restaurant at the hotel. We are planning on going back next year and I'm sorry to say we will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker03f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are deeply sorry to read that your stay at our hotel was anything less than amazing. We apologize that you were disturbed by noise and for the lack of microwaves in the room. Please know that hotel renovations are planned in the next year to include new wallpaper and all your comments will be considered in the planning. Because your experience is important to us and we want you to feel confident returning to our hotel, our Director of Hotel Operations would like to speak with you further. Please contact him at kkelterborn@sonesta.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atco, NJ
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our week stay at this Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana during the Mardi Gras 2014 celebration. I knew of this hotel prom previous visits but did not stay there. Yes it was pricy during this time, but I knew that when I booked it. The noise didn't bother us at all and we sleep well. The hotel is right on Bourbon Street, so we got to see a lot, and have a lot of fun. This may not be for everyone, but those who like party time. One can easily drink to much, and we watched our limitations, laughed a lot and took in the sights. The hotel booked two trips for us, a swamp air boat trip and a tour through the city. We also saw several parades.

Room Tip: Book early during this season because the hotel sells out. Inter court rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisDowhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dennis, we are very excited that you had such a spectacular Mardi Gras stay with us this month! Thank you for sharing how soundly you slept, how our team was able to recommend some tours you really enjoyed, and most importantly, how much fun you had! Please come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went in January and had a room on the side street. It was very nice and the price was good, too. Location is great, on Bourbon Street in the middle of things. Right across the street from the Oceana Grill, which has terrific breakfasts!

Room Tip: Get a room on the side street. Bourbon Street rooms cost more and it is always loud, though can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickDow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Rick, thank you for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. In the heart of the exciting French Quarter we have an endless selection of delicious restaurants and we’re happy you enjoyed your meals. Please try our popular Desire Bistro for breakfast on your next stay, which overlooks Bourbon Street and is accessible through our courtyard and Bienville Street. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,051 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing