We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what we were looking for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We purchased a LivingSocial deal which included 4 nights at the hotel and credit to Desire Oyster Bar, Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse and PJ's Coffee House- all part of the hotel. If you're looking to purchase a similar deal, know that we DID NOT have issues with them honoring the vouchers/credits as they said they would on the phone prior to our purchase. In our case, this meant we were allowed to combine 2 vouchers and associated credits, no restrictions on using the credits for alcohol, etc. The only issue we had was being able to get questions answered about the restaurants and Playhouse prior to our arrival. For example, we didn't know if we needed reservations to any of these until we got to the hotel (turns out reservations were advised for the Playhouse but not for Desire). They seem to operate as separate businesses. One suggestion I have is to make the experience more seamless for the guest by making sure the front desk and concierge understands the operation of these areas and can answer questions.

Be advised that the Royal Sonesta is right in the middle of the madness on Bourbon Street- which could be a good or bad thing, depending on what you are looking for. You have the option to stay on the Bourbon St side of the hotel, which the front desk was upfront about saying would be noisy, or on the other side of the hotel, which is quieter. We chose to go with the quieter side of the hotel and had no street noise issues. It was great to be able to walk to most anything we wanted to see in NOLA!

The Desire Oyster bar had good food and the Jazz Playhouse was fun! PJ's coffee house had average food- adequate for a quick bite but somewhat sub-par when surrounded by such great restaurants in NOLA!

All in all, I great stay for the French Quarter experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzEDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you took advantage of the great value in our Living Social offer and had an authentic New Orleans experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. We appreciate your feedback on improving communications. Check our website year round for other packages and special rates so you can come back to see us for less.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,336
    1,143
    346
    118
    98
See reviews for
521
1,778
119
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After staying here for a work conference and having the pleasure of a Bourbon Street balcony for my first-ever trip to New Orleans, I absolutely cannot complain. But as far as people watching goes? You can't beat it. Truly an excellent experience and one that our sales team and myself truly enjoyed after a long day at the conference.

Room Tip: The Suite on Bourbon would be the perfect place for a bachelor/ette party or crazy weekend. Definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Stacey, we are so happy to read about the fun experience you and your co-workers had at our hotel. We’re pleased to provide a little distraction after a long days work but still quiet and concentration when needed for business. We look forward to welcoming you back soon here and to our other Sonesta Hotels in the U.S. and abroad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I paid a premium to book a hotel directly on Bourbon St with a balcony, but what I got was a room overlooking Bienville instead. The shared balcony went around the corner, so I could overlook Bourbon, but I still feel deceived since I paid for the more expensive room.
The room was clean, but the balcony door didn't quite close all the way, and the sink didn't drain too well.
But Clean being my main factor, I was still happy with it. The doorman was helpful with directions, and the restaurant was cool & let me bring in outside drinks.
It was loud too, because the country bar across the way was booming music until 4am everyday.

Room Tip: If you book a room overlooking Bourbon, maybe call them to verify you'll actually get a room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Neal, we are sorry that the room type you requested was not available on Bourbon Street on the day you checked in. We do our absolute best to make sure each guest is happy and having the New Orleans experience they expect. Our staff has checked your room for the observations you have reported and corrected them. We are excited to tell you that we have a hotel-wide renovation planned next year and we hope you will revisit us then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The RS has got to be the premier place to stay in New Orleans.
They have mastered the art of providing exceptional service at all levels and to all functions.
My Vietnam Special Forces friends and wives ALL gave my selection of the RS an A+.
Our thanks to the entire staff for a wonderful time and comfortable stay.
Chuck Chamberlin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Chuck, we sincerely appreciate the services of you and your friends. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special reunion and for sharing this delightful review. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We weren't thrilled with the Royal Sonesta, but if you're visiting NOLA and looking to party all night long, this might be the place for you. Located right on Bourbon St. Very noisy and not as clean as I would expect for the cost. Very odd smells right outside our room, plus the odor of Bourbon street right outside the main hotel entrance is sickening.

With that said - the location is great - right in the heart of the French Quarters. Shopping and dining was convenient by foot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank lisbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your bringing to our attention the odors and the cleanliness that did not meet your expectations, and we have inspected your room to correct the problem. We are excited to share with you that a hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year and we hope you will try us again then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've stayed at this lovely hotel many times on business trips. This was a special holiday with my special one. Never staying in a Bourbon Street balcony room before, I chose one for this event. It was fun but loud. I do recommend trying it....but just for one night. Well worth the noise!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Lazrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to Sonesta! We love that you keep coming back to see us for business and now for a romantic getaway. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

If you like character and history this is a great place to stay. You can't be any closer to the action and the hotel itself is a peaceful oasis in the eye of the storm. The courtyards and pool deck are charming - the jazz bar in the lobby is epic. Desire is great for afternoon snacking. Beds and linens are very comfy and our room facing the inner courtyard with balcony was the perfect New Orleans retreat. Also really appreciated the art on display throughout the hotel - kudos to the owners and management.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Courtyard balcony is the only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0rrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your delightful review of your recent stay with us! We are so glad you enjoyed the live jazz nightly at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, dining at Desire Bistro & Oyster, hanging out by the pool, luxurious bedding and our large original art collection. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return. Until then…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,459 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,119 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,556 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,101 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing