We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location in the French Quarter”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent the last two nights of our New Orleans trip at the Royal Sonesta in the French Quarter. We had a balcony room facing Bourbon Street. The front desk warned us in advance that the room would be noisey but my two foreign exchange students wanted to be able to people watch. WE got a complementary bottle of champagne and then sat on the balcony and watched everyone go by. The room was fairly large compared to the general standard rooms in the hotel and the WiFi worked without a problem. I have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions and the rooms in the back of the hotel are a lot quieter. You do not come to the French Quarter for pease and quiet anyway. The staff at this hotel cannot be beat. They remember your name and always have a smile on their face. The parking fee is about $30 a night but you pay a high price to park anywhere in the Quarter and do not have in and out privileges. At least here you can park the car, have in and out privileges and not have to worry about your car. You are within walking distance of anything in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel if you want it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsononthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are very pleased to read about the fun you and your foreign exchange students had people watching from the balcony. What an experience! Thank you for your great comments on our hotel and for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,335
    1,143
    345
    117
    98
See reviews for
520
1,778
119
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had a great experience at this hotel, although some of that was luck. The Sonesta is located right at the core of Bourbon Street, which, as other reviewers have noted, is entertaining, but also has some very rough edges. On a busy weekend night it is crowded with very noisy drunks and smells of garbage (even though it is not actually visibly dirty). I was lucky to get a room at the back of the building (not facing the pool, but actually at the back). The view was not pretty, but it was dead quiet at night which suited me fine. I'm not sure why you would want a room facing Bourbon Street unless you really don't like sleeping. Another stroke of luck was that they were overbooked when I arrived so they upgraded me to a room on their Club level. The room itself was nicely outfitted but quite small, but the Club amenities, including concierge service and a nice breakfast buffet, were great. My only small quibbles would be the elevators, which were old and slow, and the lack of control over the air conditioning (seems to be a problem everywhere in New Orleans) which can be set only either freezing cold or off.

Room Tip: Facing Bourbon Street is crazy unless you're a serious party animal. Facing the pool is nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talentimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing this important feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities of your RClub upgrade and had a peaceful night’s rest. Please note that we have extensive renovation planned very soon which will include replacing the elevators and AC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We called last minute and not only did they have availability the rate was great. Everyone in the hotel that I came in contact with were nice and helpful but Jabari at the door is so sweet and friendly, as soon as I stepped out of the car he greeted me with a smile. Definitely coming back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CasWaYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Cassandra, we are so happy to read that our dedicated team was able to meet and perhaps exceed your expectations. We strive to create lasting memories and authentic experiences for every guest. We can’t wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Every thing was excellent.. The only thing that was not 5 stars was the view from my room . All we could see was the old tops of buildings Room 5001. THE STAFT was outstanding. Checking in and out was easy and fast. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Norman, thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy that you found the Front Desk to be quick and efficient, but we are sorry that the view was not what you expected. Next time you stay with us we suggest reserving an interior pool or patio room which overlooks our beautiful courtyard or pool deck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here in January and the location is perfect! Its directly on Bourbon Street (you can request a room on the quiet side of the hotel if ya like) and walking distance to other areas of town as well. Beautiful rooms and great lobby bar!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralynnparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Lauralynn, thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans. We appreciate your sharing this feedback of your recent experience at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel late in the evening, and were shown to a room to the back of the building.The first thing that struck me was the noise coming from outside, the music and shouting. Forget any vision that you may have of Bourbon Street, it's no longer the hub of jazz but instead sleazy strip clubs and cheap karaoke bars and all of that noise pumps into The Royal Sonesta which sits on the corner. I immediately asked for a new room and was shown to one that resembled a broom cupboard! we questioned the size but were told it was all they had free. It was tiny with only a queen sized bed for two which we slept on for two nights before our agent got on to the hotel and sorted everything.

I believe that the hotel is going to be/is being renovated, which it definitely needs. The furniture was tired and dated and the service very 'laissez faire'. If you are looking for the Blackpool of the Louisiana the this is the place for you, but if not then there are far nicer hotels a couple of streets back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingersheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Our hotel is usually called an oasis within the Quarter, so we were sorry to see that your recent stay with us was not what you expected. Thank you for this important feedback on our hotel. Please plan to revisit us next year when our hotel-wide renovation is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Chittenden, VT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want to experience Bourbon St. up close and personally, there really isn't a better hotel! We had a Bourbon St. balcony room for 5 nights, and one of the best parts was just hanging out on the balcony and watching the crowd go up and down the street. I would not recommend those rooms if you are noise sensitive, as the din from the street is pretty much all day and night, with maybe a little break around 4am. But we didn't come to Bourbon St. for peace and quiet.... We were prepared for it, so it was no problem. Would stay there again tomorrow, it really is in the heart of all the action.

Room Tip: Bourbon St rooms are the noisiest, but we found it tolerable. Stay on the other side if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorBill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our coveted Bourbon balcony rooms! If you prefer a more tranquil experience for future visits, please request one of our interior patio rooms or a quieter room on our RClub Concierge Level. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,452 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,114 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,548 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,096 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing