We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mardi Gras stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #29 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mardi Gras stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with friends during mardi gras this year. The hotel is beautiful, with an authentic French Quarter feel. The lobby is impressively large and filled with chandeliers, marble and mirrors.

The rooms are spacious, very clean and well appointed and the bedding is comfortable.

Wi-fi is available and free of charge.

A small cafe and bar are conveniently located inside the hotel and we found the prices to be reasonable.

On the whole, the staff (other than one unbelievably rude woman working in the bar) were very friendly and helpful, especially considering what a busy time it was. A special mention should go to the door staff and concierge/luggage service staff.

The only downside was an unexpected additional 60 dollar charge at the end of our stay for security during mardi gras. We totally understood the need for security but would have appreciated being told about it either when we booked or checked in.

On the whole though, a great hotel. I would recommend to couples and groups and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NayLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,294
    1,130
    340
    116
    97
See reviews for
509
1,754
119
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagrangeville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this Hotel....We had a great time and the Jazz club inside of the hotel is excellent. The rooms are very clean and the staff was very nice. I never heard the noise from outside. Looking forward in returning soon.

The hotel represent the spirit of New Orleans. Most important, the security is wonderful. I felt very safe.......Annette Parker

Room Tip: Make sure you book the room on 3rd floor courtyard, located by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Annie, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Royal Sonesta is situated in the best location for people watching. Our room overlooked famous Bourbon Street. A bit noisy at night, sometimes till 2 or 3 a.m., but sitting on a most spacious balcony makes up for it when you want to see the action of New Orleans. They have a devine courtyard if you need peace and quiet.
Revolution Restaurant was excellent. Totally 5 star from caviar to chocolate soufflés. Antoine's,
Dickie Brenner's and Arnoud's still retain the old world charm of yesteryear with top service and food. Expensive but so worth it. Great fun.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleywyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Ashley, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our first time to Nola, we came here for our 30th wedding anniversary. When we walked in it was stunning !! Nice old charm with a dash of elegance. We checked in and proceeded to our room. I am not sure how they determine who gets what room , but this room was SMALL ! It had a full size bed and the only window in the room was a small one that you would have to stand on a chair to look outside. We were very disappointed . It was nothing like ANY of the pictures we saw on their website. I felt we had to ask for another room. I explained to the desk clerk this was our 30th anniversary ( that day ) and could we get a larger room. The room we ended up with was much better, although our view was of old rooftops. I wish we would have gotten and paid for a balcony room. If going there, upgrade your room for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size room and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Royal Sonesta for a weekend wedding. The location is great. The church and reception were within walking distance of hotel. Groom's family booked the balcony rooms and had a hospitality room for a gathering place. Sitting on the balcony watching Bourbon Street and listening to the music was a wonderful way to enjoy the visit. Rooms were fine. Ask for a quiet room if you don't want to hear all of the revelry. Location great for exploring all of French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTCruiser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a few days of vacation. The property is fantastic especially for the location. Also the inside is really nice, not modern style, but a well kept classic style, without being too heavy. We were worried for the possible noise coming from Bourbon Street, but I still do not know how the room was extremely quiet.

From the Sonesta, you would be really 2 steps away from major attractions and restaurants.

An advice would be to park somewhere outside the busy district, so to save at least 30 dollars a day. You won't need a car during your stay at Sonesta.

We never had breakfast or other meals in the hotel, there is plenty of choice in the nearby area and I guess it would have been pricey.

I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for 5 days in April and it was an awesome time. The hotel knew it was my 40th and made sure that there was champagne and treats in our rooms when we checked in. From being greeted at the door by a very energetic person to the check in crew - it was a very pleasant experience. Very comfortable beds and awesome location. Would for sure stay here again. Awesome place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allismom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are honored that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and took the time to share this delightful feedback. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations for such a special occasion. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing