We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,859)
Filter reviews
4,859 results
Traveller rating
2,835
1,317
423
150
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,835
1,317
423
150
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingfrench doorsclub levelperfect locationthird floormardi grasstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,729 - 2,734 of 4,859 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

booked this as a mystery hotel via bookit.com for a girls trip (3 of us).

Room set up: on entry we realized that it clearly was not for 3 people, the double beds were too small and neither of us are big in anyway.

Service: We asked at the reception to be moved to another larger room (could not use the phone in the room to call front desk, just beeping), on our request we got a confused look with a statement that the room we were given was the best one for triple, having explained that this room does not accommodate 3 adults they finally agreed to a fold up bed. We then left for the day and returned to find they had not even set up the bed or left any linen, again made the trip to the front desk.

Room/Location: On a positive note the room was clean and the pool facing side was quiet although can hear everyone in the hallway due to paper thin doors..but as we were also out late this was not too bothersome. Great location if don't mind being on Bourbon street itself

Verdict: Would not stay here again, the bourbon new orleans where i have stayed before had better sized rooms and service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmepani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was not better. We would like another chance to show you a royal stay so please consider staying with us again next year after the completion of our hotel wide renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed this week during a convention got room with balcony overlooking Bourbon for a one of kind experience. Not really what I needed but I'm glad I did it once. Note that the balconies are shared by several rooms and the french doors don't have very secure locks. My room had a murphy bed and was set up for a suite for probably very exciting parties during Mardi Gras,
Room was very clean and had been recently updated but the wooden doors and molding were pretty beat up. As an older hotel the halls are pretty dark and tired. A great location in the middle of NOLA's Bourbon street if that is what you are looking for

Room Tip: Pick Bourbon street side with balcony if you excitement with street noise. If thats what you want go for it, if you need quiet insist on higher floor other side
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to share these observations of the room you stayed in during a recent visit at our hotel. We are excited to share that a hotel wide renovation is planned for next year and will address each room from top to bottom. We hope you will choose to revisit us after the renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was outstanding. The staff provided exceptional service which exceeded our expections. The room was always cleaned. The hotel lobby has a very friendly atmospher from the staff and the fresh cut flowers is a added plus. The over all experince was great!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Sandra, we are overjoyed to know that our hardworking team managed to exceed your expectations! We can’t wait to share your compliments with them. Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and please come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Royal Sonesta is a gorgeous hotel right in the heart of the French Quarter. I stayed for my wedding weekend and had a suite that was very spacious and decorated nicely (very classic). Water pressure = excellent. Provided toiletries = excellent (I love the scent so much I have been looking to purchase full sized!). Bed = excellent. Service = very good. I had to call a few times for them to bring up certain things, but overall the service was great. The courtyard here is so beautiful and lush. The pool is very nice, though doesn't get sun all day and is typically very crowded. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

First and foremost CONGRATULATIONS on your recent nuptials! We are honored that you chose to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and overjoyed that you had such a wonderful experience. Thank you for your review. We wish you a happy marriage and look forward to celebrating your anniversary for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had such a nice experience staying there. The employees were all so nice and helpful. I would definetely recommend staying there. We were updated to V.I.P. and the breakfast and drinks and appetizers were awesome. Everything was clean and I would definetely come again. The location was great also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Judy, we are so happy that you enjoyed your room upgrade and our convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will be coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews