We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,859)
Filter reviews
4,859 results
Traveller rating
2,835
1,317
423
150
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,835
1,317
423
150
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingfrench doorsclub levelperfect locationthird floormardi grasstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
2,727 - 2,732 of 4,859 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Spent 2 nights here. Great location. We had room over looking bourban street. Yes we heard bands but the noise coming from hallway was much worse!! Nice pool but I thought it looked dirty and cloudy. Did swamp tour. Very fun!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navysafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent visit to our hotel. Please know that our pool is cleaned regularly and our team acts immediately to reported noise inside the hotel. We hope you will give us another try soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I kept hearing how great this hotel was so I was looking forward to a short stay this past week with my husband who was there on business. I'm from Baton Rouge and go to New Orleans often. I've stayed in many of the hotels. There are MUCH nicer places for your money. If you absolutely HAVE to stay on Bourbon Street, I suppose it is one of your better choices. But other than the pretty lobby, there isn't much else to it. The room we were in was on the fifth floor and very shabby. Carpet was dirty and the who room was in need of an update. If you want real New Orleans old world glamour, stay at the Roosevelt. This place is tired.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venessa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Venessa, thank you for trying our hotel and sharing this feedback. We are very disappointed that our accommodations were not what you expected. A huge hotel wide renovation is planned for next year and will address each room from top to bottom, including new carpet. We hope you will choose to revisit us after the renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

booked this as a mystery hotel via bookit.com for a girls trip (3 of us).

Room set up: on entry we realized that it clearly was not for 3 people, the double beds were too small and neither of us are big in anyway.

Service: We asked at the reception to be moved to another larger room (could not use the phone in the room to call front desk, just beeping), on our request we got a confused look with a statement that the room we were given was the best one for triple, having explained that this room does not accommodate 3 adults they finally agreed to a fold up bed. We then left for the day and returned to find they had not even set up the bed or left any linen, again made the trip to the front desk.

Room/Location: On a positive note the room was clean and the pool facing side was quiet although can hear everyone in the hallway due to paper thin doors..but as we were also out late this was not too bothersome. Great location if don't mind being on Bourbon street itself

Verdict: Would not stay here again, the bourbon new orleans where i have stayed before had better sized rooms and service

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmepani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was not better. We would like another chance to show you a royal stay so please consider staying with us again next year after the completion of our hotel wide renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed this week during a convention got room with balcony overlooking Bourbon for a one of kind experience. Not really what I needed but I'm glad I did it once. Note that the balconies are shared by several rooms and the french doors don't have very secure locks. My room had a murphy bed and was set up for a suite for probably very exciting parties during Mardi Gras,
Room was very clean and had been recently updated but the wooden doors and molding were pretty beat up. As an older hotel the halls are pretty dark and tired. A great location in the middle of NOLA's Bourbon street if that is what you are looking for

Room Tip: Pick Bourbon street side with balcony if you excitement with street noise. If thats what you want go for it, if you need quiet insist on higher floor other side
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We appreciate your taking the time to share these observations of the room you stayed in during a recent visit at our hotel. We are excited to share that a hotel wide renovation is planned for next year and will address each room from top to bottom. We hope you will choose to revisit us after the renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was outstanding. The staff provided exceptional service which exceeded our expections. The room was always cleaned. The hotel lobby has a very friendly atmospher from the staff and the fresh cut flowers is a added plus. The over all experince was great!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Sandra, we are overjoyed to know that our hardworking team managed to exceed your expectations! We can’t wait to share your compliments with them. Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and please come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews