We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although we didn't spend much time in the hotel, it is in a great location smack in the middle of bourbon street action, walking distance to the old market and numerous outstanding restaurants. The bed was comfortable, the hotel was clean, and the service was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Ryan, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    1,173
    353
    123
    103
See reviews for
556
1,827
123
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed there for a conference and the lobby is so beautiful with its marble or granite and light fixtures etc..the rooms were gorgeous and beds so comfy..and the soaps luxurious..the only complaints were one day the shower water temperature was lukewarm and $6 dollars for the Evian water in the room??? Other than that..great!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Loretta, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. Your comments are very important to us, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please remember to revisit us the next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First off I would like to thank Mr Marcel at the Royal Sonesta me and my family stay here every time we come to New Orleans This guy always go out his way it felt good when he remember me and welcome us back . We had book for a week and decided to stay extra night . He went out his way upgraded us pool view balcony room kids enjoy the swimming . Thanks for everything

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CJAYNFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
We are thrilled to read how much you and your family thoroughly enjoy staying with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans year after year. Thank you so much for sharing this feedback on our dedicated staff, specifically Marcel, who always manages to enhance your experience. We look forward to welcoming your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Can't find a better hotel on Bourbon St. Beautiful hotel, great staff, comfy beds, just don't get a room on the street side unless you are a party animal (noisy), lots of cafes and restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Chuck, thank you for your delightful feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very nice hotel and right on Bourbon Street.. We did have kids but still was a great location in the middle of the action. Every one was very respectful of the kids while walking around in the evening. Very pretty rooms. Staff was very friendly and concierge was extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again - with or without kids.

Room Tip: Choose facing the pool area. Our room was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so much for deciding to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback about traveling to New Orleans with your family. We are very glad that you all enjoyed our convenient location and helpful staff. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is in the middle of the action - on bourbon street in the french quarter. That means peep shows just outside the front door. So just not that great with little kids. Also, the walls were thinner than we expected - my kids were woken up to some woman's great theatrical screams of delight ;) Staff is great, valets are very helpful with directions. Fantastic gumbo from room service, but pricey as expected. Decor was nice, but not as nice as we expected for a 4 star. Pool not very kid friendly as there is no shallow end. Really, this is not a place for kids, as one would expect that most hotels in the french quarter are not for kids. Over all was great, though. Walking distance to almost everything!

Room Tip: If you want the night action get a outer balcony room - classic french quarter. If you want a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cramsekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you ultimately enjoyed your stay, and sorry you didn't find the outside area more family-friendly. For your future stays with us please know that there are 3 entrances to our hotel – Bourbon, Conti Street and the lower lobby via the underground parking garage ramp accessed from Conti or Bienville. Our concierge is always happy to suggest family-friendly activities in our city like a riverboat cruise or a visit to our award-winning aquarium, zoo and children’s museum. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrero, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This Hotel is top notch all the way. From the beautiful lobby, rooms and service, what more can you ask for, well how about location.....in the heart of the French Quarter. Step out the front door and you are on world famous Bourbon Street. Walking distance to anywhere in the quarter is no problem from this hotel. It also has 2 restaurants and a jazz club on property.

Room Tip: If you like excitement you can book a balcony room right on Bourbon Street. If like a more quiet st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbulmer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing