We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant luxury”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a beautiful facility, well maintained in the oldest part of New Orleans, the French Quarter. The Irwin Mayfield Jazz Club on site is fantastic. We were able to hear some real local legends play, have a cocktail, and not have to brave the potholes and strewn trash on Bourbon Street to look for music. I also think you get good value for the price of the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Patricia, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so glad you found your stay with us at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans to be such a great value. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,402
    1,172
    353
    123
    103
See reviews for
556
1,827
123
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went down to New Orleans for my Bachelor Party and stayed at the Royal Sonesta, Unbelievable time. My boys and I loved how it was right in the middle of the party, but an oasis away from the craziness at the same time. Pool scene was excellent, relaxing and fun. The hotel has amazing luxury details and tons of character. Ask for a room walking out to the pooldeck if you have a big group too.

I'd absolutely recommend Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to a friend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are louder, rooms on the pool are quiet, but keep you in the scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Greg, we are honored that you chose to celebrate your bachelor party with us and took the time to share this delightful feedback on your fun time at the pool. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations for such a special occasion. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Once you enter up the stairs from the parking garage, everything about the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was wonderful! Staff was gracious and accommodating. Rooms were gorgeous! They were able to upgrade our room to a Bourbon street balcony even though I was there on a discounted rate from a TravelZoo voucher. I never felt like I was a second rate guest!

Highly recommended for a Bourbon street hotel!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are awesome but obviously a little louder- drink enough hand grenades and you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoviDTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to stay at our hotel by using the TravelZoo deal, and we appreciate your taking the time to share this valuable feedback on our accommodating team. Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was wonderful. We came here for a bachelorette party, so we had 9 girls and 3 rooms all next to each other. One room was 4 people (mine), and I will warn you that the beds are a bit small (great for snuggling!). Lucky my bed-mate and I were already friends.

We all paid extra and stayed on the 7th floor. Worth every penny. This included a lovely breakfast and a fantastic happy hour ("free" drinks!). Moreover, we had access to this club room in which the happy hour/breakfast was held with a swipe of our key, and so we had a place to play a card game one evening when we did not feel like being out amongst the crowds.

The service was fantastic, and the manage of the 7th floor was very friendly and helpful. The doormen were also very helpful in getting us cabs and giving us advice on how best to get to different places, which we really appreciated.

Parking your car there is pretty steep ($40/night) but for convenience, we did that. Valets were friendly and prompt.

All in all, I would stay there again. This is exactly what we needed for this party.

Room Tip: 7th floor all the way! We had a pool view, which was very nice. Easy to see whether any of our girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are honored that you chose to celebrate your bachelorette party with us and took the time to share this delightful feedback. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations for such a special occasion. Thank you for your comments on the helpful staff and great value you found on our R Club level. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a "romantic getaway" for our 8th wedding anniversary. The building is charming and looks like it "belongs" in the famous French Quarter of New Orleans.

We arrived prior the designated check-in time, but we left our bag at the check-in desk, and went to have a cup of coffee. Before we were halfway through the coffee, we got a call to advise us the room was ready, and our bag was already there. We purposely booked a room with a balcony (facing on Conti Street, as a balcony on Bourbon Street would have been too close to all the noise to allow us to sleep well.)

The bath was not huge, but very nice and it had drawers to store my cosmetics and hair-care items. The tub was nicer than a "business hotel" like the La Quinta hotels where my husband stays for 90% of his business trips. The bed was excellent and we slept quite well (aided no doubt, by a couple of gourmet meals with wine at the local restaurants.)

My husband complained that the room was too cold, but considering the heat and humidity of New Orleans in August, I thought the room temperature was perfect.

If I could get more time off work, I would go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Either avoid balcony rooms, or select one that does NOT overlook Bourbon Street. The hotel itself is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Congratulations on your 8th wedding anniversary! We are honored that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and took the time to share this detailed feedback. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My daughter and my mother all rate this hotel an A+. The front desk staff, the security, the bellmen, the staff at the coffee shop were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are the perfect size and the beds comfy. The lobby is first class with the marble and crystal chandeliers. We ate at Desire four times and this was such an added bonus to our trip. The pool is cozy and well stocked with towels. Will come again....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share these comments on our friendly team and comfortable accommodations, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Royal Sonesta not only provided us with a very convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter, the services we received during our stay was outstanding, with special thanks to Darin (aka. Casper), our Club Floor manager who has consistently went above and beyond to assist us. The food in both their award winning Restaurant R'evolution and The Desire Bar were delicious. Don't miss the Crab Beignets, they are out of this world. We also enjoyed the jazz entertainment in the Irvin Mayfield's Playhouse. Breakfast and evening snacks in the Club house was good, and although we have not taken full advantage of the complimentary food and drinks, I am glad we have chosen the Club Floor because of its quietness in the evening and the outstanding services we have received. It definitely worth the extra cost to me and my wife.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Cecil, reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback on your stay in our RClub Concierge Level, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans, especially Darin, was able to exceed your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
4,624 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,296 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing