We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,648)
Filter reviews
4,648 results
Traveller rating
2,708
1,272
398
142
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,708
1,272
398
142
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsr clubjazz clubbourbon streetdesire oyster bardesire restaurantfrench quarterbalcony roompj's coffeebeautiful hoteloysterspeople watchingclub levelthird floormardi grasstreet noisethe location is perfectjackson square
Filter
Updating list...
2,408 - 2,413 of 4,648 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Royal Sonesta has an excellent location in the French Quarter. The rooms are decorated beautifully with lots of storage options for cloths. The bathrooms are well appointed with lots of space to store toiletries and to keep organized. The grounds are lush and the lobby is very elegant. We had a Bourbon St. Balcony. Yes it was loud but I knew this when I chose his room. It was great to be able to sit out on the balcony to drink coffee in the morning and to sit outside and watch the madness below at night. It was a great experience. If you want quiet then don't choose a Boubon balcony. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It was only loud because we had a Bourbon St. Balcony. Choose an interior room if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Melissa, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback and recommendation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

How can a hotel be located right on Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter and provide a room where you hear none of the raucous crowd below? I don't know, but the Royal Sonesta manages this feat well. The garden is lovely, the staff is gracious, and the rooms are well-equipped. We stayed on the Club Floor and loved it. Great bed, nice bath and shower although the bathroom was a bit small. Super bar and restaurants.

Room Tip: Interior, away from Bourbon Street.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DilleauxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, two steps off Bourbon Street, then the Royal Sonesta is your ticket. The hotel is convenient to all things French Quarter, a short walk to the river and Jackson Square. The roof top pool is a nice place to rest and relax.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank BrianAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Brian, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback about our relaxing pool area. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful hotel located right in the perfect place off of Burbon street. Good staff all around. Made us feel right at home. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a good place and price off Burbon street.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank Micheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Micheal, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and highly recommend it to others, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

May 2014 - Expedia Mystery hotel ("4 star") deal. Great location as long as you request a quiet room facing the courtyard away from Bourbon Street. The price was right, the room was decent but this is by far not a 4 star hotel as it was advertised. Hospitality here is seriously lacking. Although everyone was nice enough, simple requests were filled with lackluster effort if at all. With the exception of some of the bellhops. Front desk all should be retrained in the art of the service industry. This hotel is just milking their location for all its worth. Its a shame because it has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linghuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and/or service shortfalls you experienced during your visit. Please be assured, the service you received is not indicative of the manner in which we intend to operate our facility. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not better, and we thank you for your comments. This is not our normal feedback on our service levels or personality of the associates. We hope you will consider trying us again in the future for the experience so many others have enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews