We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Getaway in the middle of it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Planned a getaway weekend for my wife and I and had seen the Royal Sonesta multiple times and decided to take our vacation there....one of the best travel/vacation decisions we've ever made! The Royal Sonesta is top notch in every aspect. The customer service is impeccable! You can't beat the location. To be able to walk out the front door and be in the heart of Bourbon St and able to get around the whole city...you can't beat it. But in the event you just want to stay in, they have everything for you on location - Irvin Mayfields, Desire restaurant, PJ's coffee and the pool. I would recommend bringing your own water or buying it much cheapier in/around the French Quarter area. We WILL be staying there again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong either with a room facing Bourbon St or a room on the inside. They are both g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have exceeded your expectations for your romantic weekend getaway. We are so pleased that you had an authentic New Orleans experience at our property complete with live jazz in our Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse. We can’t wait to share your pleasant comments with our staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,121 - 2,127 of 4,363 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staying at the Royal Sonesta in New Orleans, we truly feel like we are "coming home." The staff is wonderful and attentive, always with a pleasant smile and willing to help in any way they can. The hotel itself is such a beautiful place. You are right in the middle of the action of Bourbon Street, but once inside, feel like you are in some sort of safe haven away from it all. We had a sidestreet king balcony room. It was perfect! We were able to do some people watching, but generally, it was a much quieter location to relax. Each and every time we have visited the Sonesta has been fantastic and we cannot wait to return again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank bestmomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back “home” soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Coming from new york where everyone is into themselves, it was not only refreshing to come home from a long day of exploring the French Quarter. The staff at this beautiful hotel demonstrated excellent southern hospitality. From the bell hops and door men to the desk clerks and concierge these people were nothing but warm and helpful. I truly enjoyed my stay here because of the care I received at this hotel. The room was very clean and an oasis to get to after wading through the heat and humidity of the city. The desk clerk Curtis was especially helpful and deeply appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnwalker9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We are thrilled that you had such a remarkable experience and connection with our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback. It's a pleasure to know that Curtis, as well as the rest of our staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta and the city of New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Quaint. The staff is excellent and our room, off Bourbon St. and the pool area, was very quiet. I'd recommend buying your WATER at Walgreens or CVS stores on Decatur Street, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Go to BUFFA's for music as it's a local music venue within easy walking distance (on Esplanade Avenue at the far end of the French Quarter). Our room was so comfortable and quiet ~ it was facing Bourbon Street or the Pool area, both can be very noisy. The staff, etc. were very sweet and friendly and the hotel is just a joy to stay in. We'd definitely go back to this hotel as we were surprised at the VALUE! and location, easy walking or street car distances to everything.



  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

If your trip revolves around Bourbon Street, this is the place you need to stay. The hotel takes up an entire block and faces Bourbon. Of course with this convenient location comes a lot of noise, but it was nice being able to people watch from the balcony. If you don't mind the noise, its worth it to pay a little extra for a balcony room. Rooms were upscale and very clean...however the morning we were leaving I did find a dead/dying roach in the bathroom. But I seriously doubt any buildings in the french quarter are completely roach-free considering the age. It won't stop us from staying there again. The service was impeccable and the location was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurs4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback on your exciting stay in our balcony room with friendly service. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel’s convenient location in the heart of the French Quarter, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First, you cannot beat the location right in the middle of Bourbon Street. Walk out the doors of the hotel and you are in the middle of the party. The hotel is also within walking distance to anything you might want to do. My husband and I go to New Orleans at least once a year. It has become our second home. We stayed at the Royal Sonesta instead of our usual hotel because we got an amazing deal. The hotel is old, hello everything in the French Quarter is, and very charming. The rooms are a good size and clean but definitely showing their age, Our room had lots of dust around the air vent, water damage on the ceiling and peeling wallpaper but it has a very New Orleans feel and again the location is awesome. The cleaning people were excellent and our room was cleaned in a timely manner everyday and we immediately received extra towels and soaps when we asked. The front desk people were very friendly and even upgraded us to a larger room when she saw my husband had a broken foot and was on crutches so it would be easier for him to get around. The bellman and doormen were so friendly and helpful whenever we asked about anything. The reason for the 3 instead of 4 rating was because of the only negative we experienced at the hotel. We dealt with 2 concierges and they were beyond rude and very condescending. I tried 3 times to get assistance from them but they could not be bothered. One night I asked one of them to help me get reservations at a restaurant and I was told they were already booked. I called the restaurant myself and they gave me 4 different time slots available. Because of them we will be going back to the Omni Royal Crescent on future trips

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the pool/courtyard area if you want quite at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Mindy, thank you for taking the time to write the above review. It is feedback like this that allows us to evaluate the performance of our team and hotel. Clearly in this case the concierge staff fell short of the goal. We would love to welcome you in the future and are certain your experience would be one that is uniquely found in the French Quarter of New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you want to be deep in the heart of the French Quarter on Bourbon street... this is your place. The staff is efficient. The place is as clean as possible. The pool is a nice escape and the views from the balcony are perfect for people watching. They do their best to soundproof the rooms, but hey -- you didn't go to New Orleans to get a good night's sleep anyway, right? Would definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again.

Room Tip: Balcony room if you're okay with noise... interior pool view if you'd like a good night'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,697 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,366 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,586 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £133 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing