We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,913)
Filter reviews
4,913 results
Traveller rating
2,863
1,331
429
154
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,863
1,331
429
154
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews r club jazz club bourbon street desire oyster bar desire restaurant french quarter balcony room pj's coffee beautiful hotel oysters people watching club level third floor mardi gras street noise the location is perfect jackson square
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 4,913 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel I chose mainly because it was refurbished recently and it was among the options in the French Quarter the best value for money. I liked its location that I could easily move and walk around the french quarter and have my Room right there. If you do not like the noise and movement then you should definitely avoid this hotel. But it offers many things a nice oyster bar,a jazz club with live music every night and really nice restaurants. I really would recommend for a first visit to Nola.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank HelenBorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Team_247, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear HelenBorda,

We thank you for sharing this review and for choosing us on your quest to enjoy a completely immersive New Orleans experience. Our central location makes us the perfect choice for guests looking to explore all that the French Quarter has to offer first hand, and for guests looking for something a little more tranquil, our courtyard view rooms provide the perfect escape. It was truly a pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the months ahead. Until next time!


Warmest Regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We recently stayed at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans this past weekend along with 3 other couples. We went for a friend's 40th birthday and the trip/hotel did not disappoint. We were greeted by the friendliest valet/ baggage carriers who assisted us with our luggage. Since we checked in earlier than check in time our baggage was held for us and we were told we would get a text as soon as the room was ready. Within a couple of hours we received our text and we returned to the hotel.
The rooms are more on the smaller scale but nicely appointed. Bathrooms were clean but also smaller than the norm.
When you stay at this hotel you are staying mainly for its location right on Bourbon. One couple in our party had a balcony room over Bourbon which was great fun. Although very loud at night it provided great entertainment and people watching. We also visited the Jazz bar on night and the band was excellent. We had after dinner drinks and enjoyed the great music.
Overall, we had an amazing stay with a great location and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you don't want the Bourbon street noise make sure to ask for a room away from the noise.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lissy08152016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear lissy08152016,

We love when we have the opportunity to commemorate such wonderful occasions with our guests and we thank you for choosing us to celebrate with. There is so much to explore in the Crescent City, and many great sites await just beyond our front doors, but it is a treat to find that you also experienced a wonderful view of lively Bourbon Street from the balcony of one of our cozy guest rooms. The Jazz Playhouse has become a hotel favorite, frequently visited by locals and visitors alike, and we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the soulful sounds of artists and musicians as you enjoyed a refreshing evening beverage. It was truly a pleasure to have hosted you and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Until next time!

Warm Regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to add night to our trip, and transferred from Hotel Monteleone to Royal Sonesta to check it out. The pool area is amazing. And surprisingly quiet, considering the hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Aldchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Aldchitown,

We thank you for sharing this review and are thrilled to have been your choice as you extended your New Orleans getaway for one more night. It warms our hearts to learn that you felt so at home and perfectly enjoyed your stay. Should your travels return you to the French Quarter, we invite you to join us, as we would love nothing more than the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warmest Regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed Jan 12 and 13 for wedding party. If you are looking for over the top service, this is the place. I really cannot say enough about the entire staff. The hotel hosted the wedding reception and catered the food as well. Mega kudos to the entire kitchen, catering staff. They treated everyone with exceptional courtesy and exemplified our New Orleans style hospitality. Their restaurants are top tier as well. Great breakfast in Desire. Check out Revolucion and LeBooze too. Our room was a bit dated but we also noted that the hotel is renovating rooms. Tell the truth, the only thing I missed was plug in ports for devices. Wonderful hotel, great service, delicious food in the building and in New Orleans to boot. I would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear rdouglasw,

It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we thank you for sharing a review that so wonderfully captures the spirit of our team. As you noted, our associates take great pride in providing guests with a New Orleans experience that they can cherish for years to come and guests often comment how well taken care of they feel from the moment that they enter our front doors. I have shared your comments with our culinary colleagues as well, and they are thrilled that their freshly prepared menu selections so greatly impressed you as well. We would all love the opportunity to host you again very soon, and if I can offer my personal assistance in coordinating that next reservation, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Best Regards,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

From start to finish ...great service ..Thank you for complementary champagne for our friends birthday!! Great touch! ROOM COULD HAVE BEEN A BIT BIGGER ALSO ...5019 ...nice VIEW OF POOLS AND CABANA THOUGH

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lymper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear lymper,

We thank you for sharing these kind comments and are delighted that your recent stay was absolutely wonderful. Our courtyard rooms provide guests with a little escape while keeping them right in the heart of the French Quarter, and we are thrilled that you could enjoy the view. It would be a pleasure to host you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

All the Best,

Alfred L. Groos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews