We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place during Mardi Gras”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #58 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My 3 friends and I stayed here during Mardi Gras this year. We chose Prince Conti because of all the reviews I read on TA and I agree with all the positive comments. The hotel is in a fabulous location- just steps away from Bourbon- yet when we were in our room we did not hear the noise from the street. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and took time to answer our 100 questions about where to go and what to do. When we called the front office for something (towels, forks, etc…) they came to our room within a few minutes. Mardi Gras is such a crazy time, but I felt very safe staying at Prince Conti; they had a great security staff! Our room was plenty large and the beds were comfortable. I have AT&T and we had horrible service in the area (perhaps because so many people were there for MG?) but the hotel did offer free wifi. Our room had a Jacuzzi which was a fun surprise. Something a little different was the fact the shower and toilet were in the same room- there was no separation. It never caused a problem for us but we had to be careful to dry the floor by the toilet good or our socks would get wet. I’d like to return to Nola someday and when I do I would gladly stay at Prince Conti.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blr5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

I keep thinking I must not have been at the same hotel everyone else is writing about. After much research on trip advisor and seeing such great reviews I decided to stay at the Prince Conti. I booked directly from the hotel so when I saw the room, my first reaction was "wonder what the room would look like if I had gone through a travel site?" Some may say charming and quaint - I would say "tired, worn and needed attention"- at least our room.
I know you don't go to New Orleans to stay in your room and we didn't. But the times that you are in your room - it should be comfortable. Our front door was warped and wouldn't shut unless we slammed it. Same for the bathroom door which also had a door handle/cover that needed to be reattached. I can't believe that housekeeping wouldn't let maintenance know that the doors were sticking or that a guest wouldn't have brought it to their attention before I did upon checking out. My guess is they just don't care.
Walls are so thin that we might as well been rooming with our next door neighbors since we could hear every word they said. You could hear people's conversations in their rooms as you walked down the hall. There is no space in the bathroom. Only a pedestal sink and a ledge for placing toiletries; a bathtub and a toilet.
other good and the bad:
We were allowed to check in very early - very nice. We got there at 9:30AM and they had our room before 1PM (not supposed to check-in until 4)
Internet is very slow.
I will say the room was very clean and I really appreciated that. The room just needed some updating - new comforters, new TV (not that we watched it).
Great location in the quarter - no noise from Bourbon Street. Felt safe.
Best part of the stay was the Cafe Conti. It does have a great breakfast and great prices.
Great vending machines on 2nd floor.
I think the rooms on the 2nd floor must be nicer than the 3rd floor (where we were). One side of the hall has only brick so you wouldn't have half the noise. Whole floor just seemed to look better even from the hall.
All in all, I probably would choose some place else to stay next time. I want to give it a great rating like everyone else, but just don't see where they are coming from.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie1nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I had the best shrimp, spinach and cheddar omlet I've ever tasted this morning. The shrimp were large and fresh as were the other ingredients. The potatoes were cooked perfectly with peppers onions and deliciously spiced. The coffee was dark and rich just as I like it. The service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

my husband and I went there for our 38 year anniversay. Cindy the front clerk and Mike the bell-boy was worth the trip. I will go again only if they work. We were treated important Mike overheard us say it was our anniversary and we had champagne in our room late check out next day and they let us keep our car there the next day until 2pm while we went to french market. we walked everywhere and was in good area to be I could watch bourbon street from our window. room was nice. thanks to all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StonewallsBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I stayed at the Prince Conti 2/27-3/3. We arrived and the rooms weren't avail so they held our bags and we hit Bourbon St. This was the perfect location to party and come home to a good night sleep. Even though we were a block away from the festivities we didn't here no noise. Our room was nicely cleaned and cozy and we settled right in. The only thing I would say that the hotel can use is more lighting and lighter curtains and bedspread to make the room appear bigger but besides that the beds were comfortable. The cleaning people were wonderful. I loved the fact that at night you had to use your key to enter the hotel and the staff remembered our faces and were nice enough to open the door for us. The manager, front desk and concierge desk were the most sweetest and helpful staff I have ever met. They advised me on all the great eatery and was helpful with directions etc. I cant tell you how they made me feel like I was right at home. In NYC , were always in a rush and some hotels make you seem as if your just a #, but here I felt like family. I want to thank everyone for a wonderful first time Mardi Gras Louisiana experience. The mgr will remember who we are because we set off the smoke alarm with my flat iron LOL. I wil be staying here for Essence Festival 2011 and coming back in 2012 for Mardi Gras again. Before, I forget please eat in the hotel. The Breakfast was the BOMB!!!!.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheriyah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Prince Conti Hotel proved to be one of the better places I have stayed during many trips to New Orleans. Valet parking was incredibly easy and the service provided by the hotel for parking was outstanding. we stayed in a suite and the rooms were exceptionally well care for and very clean. there were tvs in both rooms and the suite was very spacious. the hotel was very centrally located and close to everything. My return trips will be booked at this hotel in the future. We stayed during the first part of the Madi Gras season so were a little worried about the noise but it proved to be very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed at the Prince Conti the week before Marti Gras this hotel is a GREAT location if you want to hang out and party on Bourbon St. The staff is awesome from the front desk to the bell staff and concierge; one great perk of the hotel is they offer valet parking (this is huge in the French Quarter) at a reasonable price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sand_Dawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,733 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £80 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing