We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay.”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Marlton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My family stayed here over my daughter's spring break. We booked the 2 bed suite room, it was the perfect accomodation for us at the perfect price. The room came with a small refrigerator, coffee pot and a microwave in the sitting room. The bedroom held 2 queen beds and a desk, there were nice flat screen TV's in both rooms. I had read in previous reviews that noise was an issue, but we did not experience any of that, despite being across from the maids closet. The bedroom was totally quiet, you could hear sounds from the hall in the sitting area. If you are using the sofabed you may have a problem with the noise. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. Our flight got in early 11am and they did not have a room ready but did take our number so that they could call us when it was. The hotel is not luxury nor very large but it's location in the middle of the French Quarter more than makes up for that. Centrally located to Jackson Square, Decatur street, French Market, Canal Street and a half block from Bourbon street. It is clean and comfortable and that's all we require, especially when you are out most of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    686
    163
    64
    43
See reviews for
227
669
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Prince Conti, New Orleans in March in the Conference Suite. It was very roomy, with a stove, fridge, dishwasher conference table and living room. There were no dishes, pots and pans or utensils or dishes. We also had a lovely quiet terrace which was like an oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon St and The French Quarter The staff were fantastic in helping us book some excellent local tours. The location is excellent, steps from Bourbon St, in the heart of the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Look at the suites on the side and bottom floor. They are very economical and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Prince Conti hotel is a block away from Bourbon St.
It has an old world European ambiance.
It made us feel welcome and at home.
Our room was quaint and clean the staff took care of business.
In my opinion it was a great value and we will be back for sure!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here 4 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday and the staff was great. They sent complimentary champagne to our room for my b-day and everyone we spoke to at the front desk was knowledgable about the city (it was our first time in NOLA) and gave great suggestions. It was a quick walk to all the major sights and although it's just one block from Bourban it was very quiet. The Bombay Club is a great place to get a drink and the bartender, LJ, was great to talk to and his knowledge about drinks was endless. The room was comfortable although the bathroom was small and the room could use some updating, but did not matter to us because we did not spend much time in the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the French Quarter for a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellee142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Prince Conti for three nights recently. We have stayed there before, and generally have liked it. The price, for a nice "boutique" hotel in the French Quarter, is usually very good, and it was this time as well --- averaging about $130 a night for the three nights. The rooms are nice size, with high ceilings to make them feel even more spacious. The decor is very nice as well. And while it is only a block from Bourbon St. (a plus for many, but a minus for us), the area right around the hotel is quiet.

The problem with the hotel is that the walls are very, very thin. We could hear almost everything people in the next room were saying, and they were talking softly. Even worse, each of the three nights, a couple of time per night, we were woken up by drunk guests coming back from a night of revelry, and it is LOUD. You can't do anything about the drunken guests (it IS New Orleans after all) but the thin walls and doors make this pretty intolerable.

One more concern. While the staff is very nice, we were disappointed when we asked our bellman, after he brought up our luggage, if we could get a few more hangers. He said he "didn't think so" but would ask.... and we never heard from anyone again. We have never had a hotel refuse us a few more hangers... Not a huge deal, but jst kind of strange thing to NOT be helpful with....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianoman822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My two best friends and I met in New Orleans over Easter weekend to celebrate our joint 40th birthdays--I had no idea how difficult it would be finding rooms with two queen beds instead of two doubles, but Prince Conti was one of the few places that had availability for such a room.

I was the first of our party to arrive, and while the room wasn't ready when I arrived at 12:45, they did rush to clean it so that I was able to check in around 2:00, a full two hours ahead of official check-in time, which I appreciated. I walked the Quarter and found a small cafe to while away the time until the room was ready.

They upgraded us to a suite, which we very much appreciated, and the extra space gave our room a good bit of added value. We were all comfortable in the room, but there were some issues: shabby upholstery with rips and tears on the sofa bed in the sitting room, large stains on the carpet in the sitting room, a fairly thick layer of dust on the surface of the mantel and one side table, and a mildewed/moldy a/c vent in the sitting room.

Other minor issues: the water pressure in the shower was terrible and the water temperature inconsistent. It never went from scalding to freezing, but I'd say that the water temperature varied a good ten degrees (Fahrenheit) while showering. Also, on our last day we requested and were given a late check out, but our keys stopped working at 11:00. When we traipsed back down to the lobby to have the keys reissued, they still didn't work when we went back upstairs to finish packing, so housekeeping had to call the front desk and get permission to let us into our room.

Which is not to say that these issues took away from our stay--they really didn't. But nor were we expecting to find that lack of upkeep in a hotel with Prince Conti's rating. Thus I'm giving our stay only 3 stars.

We had pretty limited interaction with staff, as we'd been to the city many times before and essentially knew our way around, but all of the encounters we had were pleasant enough with the exception of one rather curt person in housekeeping who knocked on our door at 9:30 one morning wondering when we'd vacate the room so she could clean it. As it happened, we were all awake, but it seems to me that 9:30 is a little early on a Saturday morning in the French Quarter for housekeeping to start knocking on doors.

There are two things that were quite commendable for our stay, however, and those were very comfortable beds and a fantastic location in the Quarter. We were a nice stroll away from almost all of the places we wanted to see, ranging from the Quarter to the CBD. And since we were upgraded to a suite, I'd say that we received an excellent value for what we paid. If we hadn't been upgraded, I'd say that the value for Friday & Saturday nights would have been considerably less since we were paying holiday weekend prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here 4 nights on our round trip Chicago - San Franciso - New Orleans - Chicago. The location is right in the middle of the French Quarter and a short walk from the riverfront. We booked a double bed suite and it was very comfortable with a separate lounge and bedroom. It was good value approximately $145 per night including tax-the room is more expensive at weekends. Although our room overlooked Conti St and was close to Famous Door there was little noise at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,280 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#62 of 163 in New Orleans
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,227 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing