We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the French Quarter”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great value in the French Quarter”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had decided to stay at this hotel after extensive research and finding this place offered good accommodation with reasonable rates for staying in the heart of New Orleans. In this regard we were not disappointed and we had an excellent stay. It should be noted, however, that the Prince Conti is more of an older hotel in the European tradition with smaller rooms, lobby and travelers should be aware of this. The hotel is older than most modern places in the city but that is what makes it distinct from the traditional hotels one would find in most other places in North America. That said we found the rooms to be clean, comfortable with tasteful decor with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Its location on Conti Street is only half a block from Bourbon but is situated away just far enough that one is not subject to the party on Bourbon if you're looking for a restful night sleep. I did not have an opportunity to try the onsite restaurant and cafe due to the plethora of dining choices in the city. All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in French Quarter without breaking the bank in the process.

Room Tip: If you want a more spacious room, go for a suite they don't cost much more than regular room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smrgeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    687
    163
    64
    43
See reviews for
228
669
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Prince Conti is a nice hotel, in a great location, and their prices were very affordable. Only about 1/2 a block off Bourbon, close enough to be extremely convenient, but far enough to not hear the noise. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were exceptionally nice and friendly. I would definitely stay here again, and would definitely recommend it to others. The only negative we had is the bathroom was small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our room had just a skylight, which was nice cause we got the sunlight but not the sounds from the street. The room was big and clean. The staff were nice and really helpful. We chose to park at a cheaper parking lot close by instead of at the hotel. The hotel is really close to Bourbon Street, and since no breakfast was included at the hotel it was easy finding a breakfast place nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The accommodations were very comfortable. The staff provided ongoing assistance with interesting sites to visit both by car and organized tours. The Cafe Conti in the hotel had wonderful crepes, sandwiches, and salads.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Changfrytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed one night here with my girlfriend. Plus side: very nice staff and great location, a half a block off Bourbon St (not too close, as we could not hear the noise from there). Negative side: I paid $200 for one night and felt like I stayed in a 1800's motel--the guests' cars were parked right outside my door. Kind of ruined the romantic feeling of staying in an old French Quarter hotel. They should figure out how to put in a beautiful courtyard where all the cars are parked. The room itself (#100) was a little shabby--some (not all) of the furniture needed a makeover. The checkout time of 11 am was a little too early, but the staff let us extend that til noon. I think you can find a better hotel for the money in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The location is great if you are staying in the French Quarter. From there everything is "iffy" at best. Very dated, very worn. The worst shower and water pressure ever. Needs updating badly. At the rates they charge, we expected more. Even small upgrades would improve the quality of the experience. The staff was friendly and helpful overall. There wasn't much they could do, afterall, it is a 100 year old building. The rooms were surprisingly quiet...which is a big plus for the Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Prince Conti Hotel was in a wonderful location and had a neat atmosphere. The beds were comfortable but the pillows are the stiff, overstuffed kind that kill your neck. No complaints about the room otherwise. Staff not very nice at all but you barely interact with them at all. Our valet was an awesome guy though (much nicer than any of the other staff).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GradStudentTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,282 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#62 of 163 in New Orleans
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,231 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing