We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is biggest selling point”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #54 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you want a quiet space away (but still steps to) Bourbon, then the Prince Conti is a great location. There ends the major positives. Hotel is old and dated, and nothing special on most levels. It can certainly meet your needs if you are just looking for a place to crash each night, but with so many good choices in NOLA, you can do better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Statman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family enjoyed the service and the location. Have already referred others to the Prince Conti as a place to stay when in New Orleans.
A special thanks to Jerrod and the receptionist for their assistance when we arrived on 23 July.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esingja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Prince Conti hotel for just one night. It is a small hotel in the heart of New Orleans French quarter--literally one short block from bourbon street. The location could not be beat! Also, they offered a weekday discount, so our night there was very economical! Now, the discount price was for 2 and they charged $20 per person above age 12 on top of the price listed, which was still a pretty good deal for a hotel in this prime locale. Plus there's a valet charge. The valet is super friendly, as is the staff at reception.

The rooms are nice--what you may expect for an older building. The decor doesn't appear to have been updated recently, but it is by no means repulsive. The beds are comfortable and it was surprisingly quiet! I think I heard 2 loud cars during the night, but considering the debauchery taking place a short ways away--it was nothing!

The bathroom is small, but again, expected for the French Quarter. We felt very safe and loved being close to everything we came to explore.

I would recommend this hotel to friends visiting New Orleans. I thought it was a safe, clean place to sleep and a great value for the price!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in July with a group of friends. We shared a double room. The rooms are small but that's because this hotel is in an older building. You can't beat the location right off of Bourbon Street. The restaurant/bar and breakfast places downstairs from the hotel are good places to check out.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mmescal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were so excited at this hotel's proximity to Bourbon Street, I had read great reviews about this hotel. Well after 4 phone calls to the front office the restaurant behind us finially stopped banging the cabinets, pots and pans and we were finally able to sleep. However, the next day, while trying to take a nap, we got the same thing over again. Also we had some things left on the bed when we left the room and when we returned there was a note stating that they wouldn't make that bed because of the water bottle, pajamas and puzzle book. Finally, one women in the front office was extremely RUDE and wasn't interested in assisting us whenever we asked questions. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just got back from NOLA last night and this hotel was an excellent choice for our stay! The location of the hotel is 1/2 a block from Bourbon Street and all the action that ensues after the sun goes down. We pulled in to park at 3 pm and were able to check in an hour early with no problems at all. The front desk staff was very polite and maps are provided so you can easily manuever through the city. We booked a king interior room but ended up with an exterior room which was not an issue for us. It was a small room but large enough for my husband and I with a small bathroom. The size of the room/bathroom was to be expected since the hotel is an old building like most of the buildings in NOLA. The cleanliness was beyond our expectations and that was a nice comfort. Please be advised this hotel still operates with tube televisions in their rooms so if this is an issue for you don't stay at this hotel. We were not put off by this because wer were not in NOLA to watch TV anyway. There is also not microwaves or refrigetators in the rooms. I'm not sure about the maid service as we were only staying for two nights and maid service was not needed. We never heard other guests coming and going and the noise from Bourbon was very minimal and only heard when were on our way out but never after we returned to our room for the night. The only noise heard was the garbage trucks in the early morning hours that roused us some but not enough to be considered a negative to our stay. The hotel cafe has good food for breakfast and we were not able to visit the Bombay Club attached to the hotel. Parking was $28 each night which I thought was a good price and the hotel uses three different off-site locations for parking so make sure all of your valuables are tucked away or removed from your vehicle. I enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will stay here again for our next trip to NOLA which I hope is sooner rather than later!!

Room Tip: If size of your room is important pay the extra money for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

i really loved the location. Right off Bourbon street but far enough to not be bothered by all the action. the staff is not the friendliest but you don't really need them. The lobby is very cool there is a very old feeling to this carriage house.

Room Tip: Ask to have a window- the inside rooms are not that appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SGHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,431 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,383 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#60 of 166 in New Orleans
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,755 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#53 of 166 in New Orleans
1,624 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £78 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing