We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy 10th anniversary”
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy 10th anniversary”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Recently, my wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary in New Orleans. We could think of no other place to go. I was referred to the Prince Conti by a friend of mine and we decided to stay there. I was not disappointed. The staff was excellent and very accomidating. The location of the hotel to everything we wanted to do was perfect. Staying in the French Quarter is like no other place. We had an issue with our car and trying to park on the street at night but the manager was nice enough to take care of us. He saw our situation and saved us money by offering us free parking. I have never been personally taken care of by a hotel manager, it really made me feel important. I cannot wait until our next visit to New Orleans because now I won't have to worry about where I will stay. i recommend the Prince Conti to anyone looking for a real New Orleans experience. Laissez les Bon Temps Rolles!
Eric and his wife Natasha

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    675
    162
    64
    43
See reviews for
219
660
83
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2011

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean, and were furnished with antiques, without being over the top. The location was perfect, only half a block from Bourbon street. I would definitely stay there again, and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spammyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I had to drop someone off in New Orleans and decided to stay the night. I have stayed in the French Quarter before and I like to try new hotels. I have found a keeper. The staff was wonderful and my stay was great. I could walk to any thing I needed and even thought we were close to Bourbon Street it was no problem. Thanks for making my stay stress free.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merriment1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Wa.
Level Contributor
291 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The Prince Conti is located just 1/2 a block from Bourbon St. Very nice location for walking anywhere in the French Quarter. I had read that to get a good night's sleep, to ask for a quiet room, not on the street. That was very good advice! Our room had a window, but no view, just an unused area and the wall across. It was very quiet, so that was good! Friends had a room overlooking Conti St. and they said it was very noisy into the night, from party-ers. They seemed to enjoy the local "flavor" though, so it suited them.
The room was well appointed and clean, and we enjoyed the antiquity of it. It was cold in NOLA when we were there and we had some trouble with the heat. It was resolved. There was a free continental breakfast included.
We felt the day front desk person was a bit aloof and not too friendly. She was helpful, however, answering all our questions.
We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imawandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We just enjoyed another fabulous stay at the Prince Conti Hotel. Once again, the staff was delightful - our vacation was the best ever! This hotel is perfectly located, as Conti Street is very close to Bourbon Street but far enough to get away from big crowds on busy weekends. Also the Prince Conti is home to The Bombay Club, which is a fantastic restaurant that features very talented live music and great food. I can't imagine staying anywhere else while visiting New Orleans - Miss Cindi and the rest of the Conti staff consistently spoil us. Our next visit can't come soon enough!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddysbadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This was a great smaller hotel that offered us an excellent rate for a group trip. It was located extremely close to all the great French Quarter attractions and the service was fantastic. It did not have breakfast, and the rooms were a tad warm, but clean, affordable and located in an excellent part of the heart of it all!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

If there is a chance you will be out later than midnight in New Orleans, do not stay at this hotel unless you want to be refused entry to your room and threatened to be thrown in jail.

To be fair, the majority of the staff was excellent and extremely friendly. Unfortunately, I had a horrible experience with the night time receptionist, Rick, that soured the entire stay. I returned from a dinner at midnight to check into the hotel. I had earlier dropped off my bags but our room wasn't ready yet. I had a few glasses of wine at dinner but was in no way impaired. Rick refused to let me into my room. He insisted that I was at the wrong hotel (again, I dropped my bags off earlier so I knew it was impossible). I had to asked him twice if I had somehow insulted him and apologized until I realized that there was no winning with this guy. I literally had to argue with him for several minutes just so he would look up my reservation. Once, he found my reservation, I asked for an apology for the way I had been treated. He refused and told me that if I didn't change my tone, I would be spending the night in jail. He then refused to give me a key (again, he confirmed that I had a reservation and that my buddy I was splitting with was already in the room) and had the porter walk me to the room and let me in.
The next day, I tried to contact the manager and left a voicemail. It's been a week and I haven't received a callback for more details or with an apology. Just goes to show how much they care about their customer experience.
I'm a 26 year old professional male. If I was drunk and obnoxious that night and felt in anyway responsible, I would not waste my time writing this review.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keap120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Prince Conti Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
For security reasons, hotel access was denied because guest refused to identify himself upon entry late in the evening. Staff was cordial and professional at all times - never rude or disrespectful - but deliberate about security policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Property: Prince Conti Hotel
Address: 830 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3470
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing