We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. Marie
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,013 results
Traveller rating
815
766
264
107
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
815
766
264
107
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard balconygreat locationfrench quarterhalf blockbottle of champagnesmall poolbathroom doorparking garageroom was largean older hoteljackson squareloved this hotelmardi grasfew blocksbourbontoulousenoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,745 - 1,750 of 2,013 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2008

While my computer wasn't stolen (I bought a security cable as a precaution after reading the previous review), and I didn't see any mice, this hotel was just incredibly average. The service was hit or miss with some staff members being very helpful and friendly, and others less so. However, it was clean enough (despite a strong mildewy smell) and the location is great.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dptesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Bad enough, but the hotel’s response was terrible.

This was to be a working vacation for us so we each had our computers. After a brief lunch and walk in the Quarter (less than two hours) we returned to our room and found both computers and other items (checkbook, iPods, medicine, etc. – no in-room safe) gone. We immediately called the front desk and their response was essentially “So? Do you want us to call the police or what?”

Not once did a staff member come up to our room to check on the situation. Had they done so they would have noticed the door showed no sign of forced entry, leading us to believe this was an inside job. But the hotel uses an antiquated entry system (actual keys, not security cards) so any past guest can keep their room key and let themselves in, who knows.

The hotel claimed to have no video surveillance on any of the room floors (only on the main floor) allowing any employee or “guest” to put stolen goods in a service cart, backpack or luggage and exit the building without question.

But watching the tapes was of little importance anyhow. After a limited period of viewing the manager had to leave “to pick a friend up at the airport” (I guess guest security was of lesser importance); he delegated the viewing to the night desk attendant who directly told a police officer and us “I have no time to view the tapes, I have to work the desk.”

A few weeks later we received what appeared to be a form letter from Valentino Hotels (which also runs the Place d’Armes and Prince Conti properties) claiming they had done an investigation and were freeing themselves of responsibility. By its impersonal tone we can only assume they have this letter ready to be sent out as the need arises.

If you’re worried about the safety of your belongings, I definitely do not recommend this hotel. In addition to the room doors, the balcony doors are laughable. Shared balcony rooms have locks so flimsy they can be pushed open (note earlier reviewer’s comment) and single balcony rooms don’t even have a lock on the door.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We stayed at the Hotel St. Marie in New Orleans for one evening earlier this month. And although the hotel is very charming and comfortable, be aware that you may encounter a few mice sharing the room with you.

We'd contacted the front desk to report the sightings of these uninvited guests and asked them to send up someone to investigate (just so that the hotel would know that this was a problem). It was around 1:00AM and the person at the front desk asked us if we wanted to change rooms. We told them that since it was such a late hour and that it wasn't really convenient to switch rooms just yet, but we wanted someone from the staff to check it out and then we'd assess from there.

No one from the hotel staff ever showed up and after investigating ourselves (moving furniture and looking underneath the bed and armoire), we decided that we could find no more sightings of mice and attempted to get some sleep (of which we did not get a lot of with one eye open).

Upon checking out the next morning, we mentioned to the front desk clerk that we'd experienced mice the night before and that we had called the front desk and requested that someone from their staff come up to investigate, which did not ever happen. Their response was 'oh, I'll make a note of it.' We weren't looking for any compensation or to raise a huge fuss as other guests were checking in, but we felt that the staff should be more concerned that mice were present in the rooms of their hotel.

If you aren't fond of small furry rodents sharing your hotel room with you, I would book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FLYMYGLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

After reading the glowing reviews about this hotel...we couldn't wait to get there. Yes, what a great location right in the middle of the Quarter, but hey, thats about it. Over three days we spoke with most of the personnel working in the hotel....they really don't seem to care if your there or not. The desk clerk at night even had a little "attitude". As far as the room.....PLEASE don't let them stick you in room#519. It is a HOLE! We booked a Deluxe room with double beds....they looked really nice in the pictures.NOT!
I'll make this short and simple....tiny,tiny room.....very dark, window like a port hole, mattress(I hope your back likes springs), bathroom more the size of a coat closet......very dated(hunter green and mauve) and really depressing. Our friends had a somewhat better room down the hall in # 512. Word to the wise.....get the Superior room if you can....because the Deluxe is a joke. I love New Orleans...have been many times....but never again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

GIRL'S TRIP Group of 6 girls stayed for 1 night (3 rooms) before leaving on a cruise. The rooms are spacious (room for lots of luggage) but a bit dark. Our room had a very tiny balcony-perfect for opening the mini-french door and stepping out to make cell phone calls (no reception inside) or watching the activity going on in the courtyard below. The hotel is a half-block walk to Bourbon Street (maybe 75 yards). Nice to be so close yet not directly on Bourbon St so you can actually sleep!
The concierge was very helpful with local restaurant info and friendly.
The courtyard with pool is very small-not the best spot to sunbathe-but would be a nice area for a small reception. Our group didn't utilize the hotel bar or restaurant (it's the French Quarter-there are so many other options available).
We took a taxi (van) to the cruise port-maybe a mile-for about $8 per person (well worth it with all the luggage HAHA).
I would stay here again for a cruise stayover or a quick 1 or 2 night stay.

Hotel St. Marie still uses actual keys (not programable cards).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank McBizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews