We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, clean and professional, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, clean and professional, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

This is a great stay in New Orleans. The hotel provided great service and the staff was very professional. The rooms/hotel were very clean and nicely decorated. The rooms have balconies that overlook and beautiful courtyard. To top it off, it's right in the heart of the French Quarter about a 1/2 block off Bourban Street on Toulouse. I will stay there again and would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskeytango17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    733
    247
    100
    59
See reviews for
291
737
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

We stayed for thee days and had a wonderful time. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was amazing! they always had the best suggestions for food and were so kind.Check out the restaunt down stairs hillary's it was the best food we had! Can't say enough about the staff the realy take care of you.

  • Liked — great location and staff
  • Disliked — bathroom doors were NOT solid
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeusrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2008

My husband and I just returned from our stay in New Orleans at the St. Marie. We only paid $67.00 a night for a "superior king room", so we were leary in what to expect. However it was nicer than we anticipated. It is a very old hotel with one elevator. The room was clean but old and and a bit musty. It shows some signs of wear and tear. We probably wouldn't advise staying there during hot months, the A/C as talked about in previous reviews does not work that well. Our room faced a side street in the quarter and we were awakened one night at 2:00AM by a dumpster truck emptying dumpsters. We laughed because someone had put that in their review about this hotel also, and we had forgot until we heard the racket. The location of this hotel is prime, and felt safe. If you're used to staying in top notch places like the Omni,or other 4 or 5 star hotels this place probably isn't for you. Overall it's clean,quiet, modestly priced, and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessdru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2008

Stayed at St Marie Hotel for two nights, and really enjoyed it. We had a balcony looking at the courtyard. It was quiet, and clean. The staff went out of their way to make my birthday special. They sent me a bottle of champange and made reservations for dinner at Emerils when I couldn't get in. Housekeeping was nice to. I will be back.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flipper133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

After reading some of the reviews we were going to stay elsewhere, however when that reservation got messed up we ended up in going to Hotel St. Marie. We stayed on the second floor with a balcony. It is a great location (one blk from Bourbon Street). The room was nice and clean - yes the doors can use some paint etc., but it was not bad. Not a 4 star but a good 3.
We felt secure and did not have any unexpected guest (rodents etc.). The staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking at $25.00 per night was expensive, but ........
Overall, ppl in NO realize that they need the tourist. Very nice and helpful. Went mid week, so it was slow.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking fee
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingwood1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2008

Had a room in the extension of the hotel which if you get a room in the extension go else where. Don't bring alot of bags due to you have to climb alot of stairs to bring up your luggage up to the room. You can see going up to the room they really don't maintain the hotel and it is an overpriced for the shape it is in.

The room I stayed in needs alot of updating and the Air conditioning did not work. I came in on a Friday evening. It was really muggy and had to leave the windows open on the balcony to circulate the air due to AC did not work Friday night. Finally got a service person to respond Saturady evening around 5pm. When the guy came he said the AC worked which all he did was check the filter which was very dirty and then said it was fixed. Went to KPals to eat and came back to the room which was warmer and muggy. Called again and finally got another room due to the AC service person did not come out. Really aggravating to have to pack and lug luggage down the stairs a 10pm at night to get another room. They should have done this Friday night. At least the AC worked in the other room.

The staff was friendly but don't make up for the lack of maintenance of this property.

  • Liked — You could listen to live bands right off the Balcony off Burbon Street
  • Disliked — AC did not work and lack of staff to solve problem until late 2nd day of my stay
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jlsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

We had a nice stay, I was uneasy about the security features concerning the keys and balcony doors. As a precaution when we left the room we left the lights and television on and hung a do not desturb sign on the door.
The desk attendants was very nice and helpful, with a quick mention of it being our anniversary they sent up a bottle of champange on ice.
I like the hotel for it hint of the olden days, we found it to clean and comfortable. Would we stay there again? Yes we would. We arrived in New Orleans via train, I will probly drive next time the hotel has a large ungerground parking deck ....no way would I park on the tight norrow streets. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything.
I will never book a street side balcony room again, motor bikes,trucks and anything with a loud muffler kept waking me. But I did like the view.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oneheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing