We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“We loved it and can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

The historic building is beautiful, the staff was incredibly helpful, and we were treated as if we had paid premium prices, when in fact we got a great deal on Priceline!!

The location is just off Bourbon Street, so we were close enough to walk to all the bars and excitement, but it was peaceful enough that we could just sit on the balcony and relax when we wanted to.

We will stay here from now on when we visit New Orleans!

  • Liked — The whole package - very historic and homey at the same time...
  • Disliked — The restaurant is being renovated, but the continental breakfast was great
  • Stayed April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank valandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    733
    246
    100
    58
See reviews for
291
736
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
321 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

This was the second time staying here. We had stayed last year as well. We have a special place in our heart for this hotel. It is great and homey. Unfortunately the restaurant is no longer there and they are working on getting a new tenant. Remember that many places are still trying to get their businesses in order after the Katrina tragedy. Staff is very friendly and helpful and courteous to your needs. If you are looking for state of the art high frills kind of place, then look else where. If you are looking for a good boutique, old charm New Orleans hotel then make your reservations now.

  • Liked — The charm
  • Disliked — The elevator
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2008

We requested a room on the Toulouse side of the hotel over a month in advance, (and contacted them to remind them of this request twice before we arrived) and when we got there the guy at the check out desk put us no the other side and said, "Well, it says all over the reservation not to move your room, but someone did anyway." No apologies, just too bad for me. The room was dirty, the pillows were completely flat, and the TV picture was so bad that it was almost unwatchable. The worst part is, when I told them I was unsatisfied with my stay, they acted like they didn't care. no apologies, no nothing, just too bad for me again. If all you care about is trying to be near Bourbon St., then the price isn't bad, but there are plenty of hotels near Bourbon that are probably comparable and since the service was about as bad as it gets, anywhere else has to be better.

  • Liked — Close to Bourbon Street
  • Disliked — Horrible Service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RABThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

Our stay was great and the price was great for being so close to everything. Stayed three nights in room facing Toulouse Street. The hotel has a awesome location in the french quarter. The room was nice and beds were comfortable. We had a wonderful balcony that featured a table and chairs to enjoy the evening entertainment.
The only drawback was hearing the Opera House most of the night. We are early birds so that didn't help. Guess it should be expected so close to Bourbon St.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise from outside
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUcinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

This is a great stay in New Orleans. The hotel provided great service and the staff was very professional. The rooms/hotel were very clean and nicely decorated. The rooms have balconies that overlook and beautiful courtyard. To top it off, it's right in the heart of the French Quarter about a 1/2 block off Bourban Street on Toulouse. I will stay there again and would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskeytango17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2008

We stayed for thee days and had a wonderful time. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was amazing! they always had the best suggestions for food and were so kind.Check out the restaunt down stairs hillary's it was the best food we had! Can't say enough about the staff the realy take care of you.

  • Liked — great location and staff
  • Disliked — bathroom doors were NOT solid
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeusrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2008

My husband and I just returned from our stay in New Orleans at the St. Marie. We only paid $67.00 a night for a "superior king room", so we were leary in what to expect. However it was nicer than we anticipated. It is a very old hotel with one elevator. The room was clean but old and and a bit musty. It shows some signs of wear and tear. We probably wouldn't advise staying there during hot months, the A/C as talked about in previous reviews does not work that well. Our room faced a side street in the quarter and we were awakened one night at 2:00AM by a dumpster truck emptying dumpsters. We laughed because someone had put that in their review about this hotel also, and we had forgot until we heard the racket. The location of this hotel is prime, and felt safe. If you're used to staying in top notch places like the Omni,or other 4 or 5 star hotels this place probably isn't for you. Overall it's clean,quiet, modestly priced, and in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessdru76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing