We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the Hotel St. Marie !!!!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #61 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2008

i have been to new orleans many times and now this will be the hotel of my future stays. i was traveling with a first time visitor and i just couldn't drag her off the property. we slept in, enjoyed the balcony, they had fluffy croissants and the best coffee, took a dip in the pool and lounged in the courtyard. the front desk staff was helpful and patient. they all went out of their way to help us locate everything we needed. by far one of the most pleasant hotel stays i've ever had and the highest recommended stay in new orleans. oh... and don't underestimate the power of the valet. not only are they kind,professional and dog gone fast but they were of great service also. forget the visitor information centers, stop and talk to Jason in the parking garage. he's the sophisticted southern gentleman with all the information you could need. he's got the best of new orleans down pat and may just let you in on the best local hangouts, sites off the beaten path and all the neat places that'll keep you coming back to new orleans time and time again. enjoy this place-you won't forget it!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cypresslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,666 - 1,672 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2008

Folks my wife and I went on our 6th aniversary. This is our 4 trip together my eighth. This was our fist stay here and is our of our favorites. Great location. Staff was great. Bellmen and Vallets great! Ask for some breakfast suggestions at the front desk I have no doubt you will end up at our new favorite breakfast in N.O. Enjoy the flavor.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thebeachishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we enjoyed it so much we are already making plans to come back. The Hotel St. Marie was very clean and nice and the entire staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our only negative was the dining room being closed for construction. The complimentary sweet rolls and juice were appreciated but after a day or two we'd much rather have a real breakfast to start the day of non stop activities.There is so much to do in New Orleans and we felt so welcome by all who work and live there. Thank you for such a wonderful mini vacation and we will definitely return to the Hotel St. Marie.
Mark & Carol Alman

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DallasTequilarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

The historic building is beautiful, the staff was incredibly helpful, and we were treated as if we had paid premium prices, when in fact we got a great deal on Priceline!!

The location is just off Bourbon Street, so we were close enough to walk to all the bars and excitement, but it was peaceful enough that we could just sit on the balcony and relax when we wanted to.

We will stay here from now on when we visit New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank valandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

This was the second time staying here. We had stayed last year as well. We have a special place in our heart for this hotel. It is great and homey. Unfortunately the restaurant is no longer there and they are working on getting a new tenant. Remember that many places are still trying to get their businesses in order after the Katrina tragedy. Staff is very friendly and helpful and courteous to your needs. If you are looking for state of the art high frills kind of place, then look else where. If you are looking for a good boutique, old charm New Orleans hotel then make your reservations now.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

We requested a room on the Toulouse side of the hotel over a month in advance, (and contacted them to remind them of this request twice before we arrived) and when we got there the guy at the check out desk put us no the other side and said, "Well, it says all over the reservation not to move your room, but someone did anyway." No apologies, just too bad for me. The room was dirty, the pillows were completely flat, and the TV picture was so bad that it was almost unwatchable. The worst part is, when I told them I was unsatisfied with my stay, they acted like they didn't care. no apologies, no nothing, just too bad for me again. If all you care about is trying to be near Bourbon St., then the price isn't bad, but there are plenty of hotels near Bourbon that are probably comparable and since the service was about as bad as it gets, anywhere else has to be better.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RABThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Our stay was great and the price was great for being so close to everything. Stayed three nights in room facing Toulouse Street. The hotel has a awesome location in the french quarter. The room was nice and beds were comfortable. We had a wonderful balcony that featured a table and chairs to enjoy the evening entertainment.
The only drawback was hearing the Opera House most of the night. We are early birds so that didn't help. Guess it should be expected so close to Bourbon St.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUcinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,342 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#58 of 166 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,733 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,184 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing