We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in New Orleans!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in New Orleans!”
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Have been to New Orleans four times and this hotel is the best! The location is wonderful, not even a block away from Bourban! The hotel decor is very charming and the pool area was great! The rooms are huge! I stayed in a queen sized room with three other girls and we had plenety of room. We requested a balcony so that we would have a view of Bourban Street which was really nice. The staff was wonderful! We had a 6am flight and the staff made sure that we didnt have any problems with getting a cab to the airport so early in the morning.

Hotel St. Marie is the Best!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passport78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    742
    255
    103
    61
See reviews for
302
750
78
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We stayed at the Hotel St. Marie during the first weekend of Jazz Fest, 08 for 5 nights. Prior to booking with them, I read reviews on this site, and recall someone complaining about the air conditioning, someone else complaining about keys and safety, and someone else about cleanliness. Those negative comments were not applicable of this hotel! It was very clean and my room very cool (and I'm from Colorado and love it cold!), and I felt safe the entire time. The courtyard is simply beautiful, and the hotel staff are outstanding! I love NOLA and am returning again this summer, and have already booked my repeated stay there. I highly recommned you spend the extra few bucks and get the superior room for the mini-balcony if the weather is okay. It was great to have the doors open and let in the fresh air. This Hotel is a great find, so close to the heart of the action- and surprisingly quiet considering it's less than a block from Bourbon. I highly recommend it!

  • Liked — My room
  • Disliked — Internet wi-fi a bit sketchy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffjs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff Island, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2008

A very average stay. This is a nothing special hotel. We had a room with a private balcony and the outside doors had a gap between the floor and the door so you could hear everything outside. Not a huge deal as it is the quarter and you are dealing with old buildings. I will say though that the gap between the floor and the room door leading to the hallway is HUGE! We're talking about an inch here people. Walking down the hall you can hear everything that goes on in each room.

No ceiling fan in my room which I have gotten used to in the quarter. The TV is on the smaller side and old. They need to upgrade. On the positive side it is close to all the action of Bourbon and is nicely decorated. If you spend under $100/night then it's worth it. Otherwise keep on looking. This is a bland choice, you can do better.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The gap between the door and the floor
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Beach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

i have been to new orleans many times and now this will be the hotel of my future stays. i was traveling with a first time visitor and i just couldn't drag her off the property. we slept in, enjoyed the balcony, they had fluffy croissants and the best coffee, took a dip in the pool and lounged in the courtyard. the front desk staff was helpful and patient. they all went out of their way to help us locate everything we needed. by far one of the most pleasant hotel stays i've ever had and the highest recommended stay in new orleans. oh... and don't underestimate the power of the valet. not only are they kind,professional and dog gone fast but they were of great service also. forget the visitor information centers, stop and talk to Jason in the parking garage. he's the sophisticted southern gentleman with all the information you could need. he's got the best of new orleans down pat and may just let you in on the best local hangouts, sites off the beaten path and all the neat places that'll keep you coming back to new orleans time and time again. enjoy this place-you won't forget it!

  • Liked — ideal location, and great staff
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cypresslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Folks my wife and I went on our 6th aniversary. This is our 4 trip together my eighth. This was our fist stay here and is our of our favorites. Great location. Staff was great. Bellmen and Vallets great! Ask for some breakfast suggestions at the front desk I have no doubt you will end up at our new favorite breakfast in N.O. Enjoy the flavor.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thebeachishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we enjoyed it so much we are already making plans to come back. The Hotel St. Marie was very clean and nice and the entire staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our only negative was the dining room being closed for construction. The complimentary sweet rolls and juice were appreciated but after a day or two we'd much rather have a real breakfast to start the day of non stop activities.There is so much to do in New Orleans and we felt so welcome by all who work and live there. Thank you for such a wonderful mini vacation and we will definitely return to the Hotel St. Marie.
Mark & Carol Alman

  • Liked — walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Very comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — no dining services . Finding a place to eat breakfast was a problem for us.mimi fridge in the room would be nice.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DallasTequilarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2008

The historic building is beautiful, the staff was incredibly helpful, and we were treated as if we had paid premium prices, when in fact we got a great deal on Priceline!!

The location is just off Bourbon Street, so we were close enough to walk to all the bars and excitement, but it was peaceful enough that we could just sit on the balcony and relax when we wanted to.

We will stay here from now on when we visit New Orleans!

  • Liked — The whole package - very historic and homey at the same time...
  • Disliked — The restaurant is being renovated, but the continental breakfast was great
  • Stayed April 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank valandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,266 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 163 in New Orleans
1,635 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
616 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 163 in New Orleans
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing