We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The ambiance, food and decor were superb. The cleanliness and staff were outstanding. Recommend the rooms with balcony that overlooks the beautiful courtyard. The location was wonderful....just a block off Bourbon , but peaceful. To sum it
up for me....magical and charming!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suep117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    728
    245
    100
    57
See reviews for
288
731
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Hotel St Marie is a beautiful spot and a great value. Historic decor is nice to look at but not great lighting. Our room had a kitchenette but no dishes, etc so pretty useless but we didn't expect it to be in our room so it wasn't a problem. Heard a little noise from a nearby room. Beautiful balcony, wish the weather had been warmer to enjoy it. Staff was friendly and made it easy to park and store our luggage before our scheduled check in so we could enjoy more time in the French Quarter. Great location-- close enough to Bourbon St but also just far enough away!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We got a large, comfortable room right where we wanted to be. The staff was friendly and efficient. Our street-facing room was a little noisy, I expect the courtrooms are quieter. If you want shiny and brand new, try someplace else. If you're in New Orleans for some fun and excitement, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BootsDaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in a nice room in the annex that was overlooking the courtyard. Great room with a kitchen- fridge and microwave which we did not use, but I think it is nice to have. My one and only complaint is- the bedding. It was a cool night and there was a sheet, a light blanket and then another sheet on top of the blanket. I mean seriously! At 3 am I wake up with my teeth chattering and not an extra blanket anywhere. Perhaps a nice quilt or duvet would be a nice touch in such a cute room. The bed was comfortable enough though, but it was unfortunate that the bedding was so sparse. In my opinion, not a good place to be cheap. I called the front desk in the morning and a nice guy brought me an extra light blanket and then the next two nights were much more comfortable. Otherwise, we had a great stay and the staff were helpful and welcoming. The location is perfect- just off of Bourbon and it was quiet in the courtyard, except for the first night it was loud until 3:30 am. Also the area is surrounded by excellent restaurants less than a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank raferjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Myself and 3 of my best girlfriends went to NOLA for a girls' weekend trip 2 weeks ago, and we stayed at the Hotel St. Marie. It's a lovely little boutique hotel with a cute lobby, nice little patio/cafe area, and a decent restaurant. We stayed in a "Street View Room" with 2 queen beds. The room itself was a pretty standard hotel room.

Pros:
-- Our room was spacious enough for 4 women and all of our stuff

-- Comfortable beds

-- Little patio which overlooked the street, which made for some pretty awesome people watching

--The restaurant was tasty, albeit a little overpriced. The little cafe had coffee, pastries, and bottled soda and water. it was also pretty overpriced, but it was very convenient.

-- The pool area was nice! Lots of little bistro tables and foliage. The pool wasn't really anything special, just a standard hotel pool.

-- LOCATION! This hotel was only a few blocks from Bourbon St. and everything else we wanted to do. We only had to take a cab once, and that was to go somewhere specific away from the French Quarter to catch a show. Everywhere else, we walked and it was great.

CONS:
-- The bathroom door in our room was not a solid wooden door. Instead it had slats from top to bottom that made bathroom privacy almost nonexistent. The door also didn't have a lock.

-- Our hotel room door had 2 locks, one of which was broken. There was also not a chain on the door, which I prefer to have in hotel rooms.

-- Noise. One night, the sanitation department decided to do their collections at 2 in the morning. They were down on the street outside our room for about 30 minutes. It was annoying.

-- Supplied toiletries. LADIES! They only provide you with a bottle of "conditioning shampoo", so if you have long hair, be sure to bring your own conditioner!

-- Since there were 4 of us, we each pretty much needed a power outlet for ourselves (phone + tablet). We wound up having to unplug the alarm clock and a lamp so we'd have enough plugs. If you're traveling in a group like we were, bring a power strip!

This also definitely seems like a "party" hotel, which was fine with us. While we were there, there was a group of guys to our right on a bachelor party, and to our left another group of guys in town for a wedding. We chatted with them while out on our respective patios. So I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're looking for quiet relaxation. On the plus side however, the rooms had thick walls as we didn't hear anything from either side while in our room.

All in all, a great pick for the price if your goal is to go to NOLA with some friends for a good time. If you're looking for something more quiet and/or romantic, I would go with someplace else. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Street View rooms have great people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HouGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I loved, loved, loved this hotel. Warm, charming, delightful and a great location. HOWEVER, if you need a fancy hotel, this will not suit you. It is more charming than modern, and I think the lighting in the rooms could have been better for work (which I had to do while there). The room had a table, but no desk.

However, from this lively, convivial spot, I ventured forth each day and night to explore the French Quarter, happy to return to this warm spot of light when my day (or evening) was over.

Lovely place. I will (gladly) be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deannenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

First time Stay
Special needs grandson graduation trip. WrestleMania. XXX.
Staff very good. Engaged him about his trip and experience .
Location great. Able to walk to all locations we needed to be.
Hotel clean and comfortable.
Will use this Hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hosickjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing