We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel St. Marie from April 21-25. Our family had a lovely stay.
Every staff person we interacted with was friendly, warm and helpful, particularly John, who always chatted and joked with us on the elevator and shared a lot of very good information about the city for us newcomers. Also, because it's a small hotel, you don't get lost in the shuffle and we felt that we got very personalized treatment.
Our room was clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed the large corner balcony. Our room overlooked the beautiful courtyard and pool.
The hotel is steps from Bourbon Street, but is a quiet oasis.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the court yard are likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    740
    254
    101
    60
See reviews for
296
749
78
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend at the Hotel St marie the weekend before Mardi Gras (considered the family Mardi Gras weekend actually). The hotel was a step away from Bourbon St and all of the night time action. We were a short walk to Jackson Square (and I mean short!). We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go from the hotel in the French quarter. The Garden District was a short cab ride away. If you don't know, you do not need a car when staying in the French Quarter. It costs about $20 to get a cab to the hotel from the airport. During our stay we were able to see several parades and the Krewe Barkus came right around the corner if the hotel (that's the doggie parade for you animal lovers!)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalisn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A charming property just a mere short block off the center of Bourbon Street. Rapid and friendly check in. Decent sized rooms and new bedding made for a comfortable stay. Relaxing courtyard. Bar and Restaurant on site. Only negative, a very, very poor wine list. I have stayed at many different properties over the years in both the French Quarter and the Central Business district. This has become my favorite. Location, service, room quality, and price make for the perfect combination.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just steps away from Bourbon Street. A little tricky to find the entrance to park. Asked for a room with a balcony when I made the reservation but when we checked in it was not what I had asked for. They switched our room with not much fuss. Even though the hotel is steps from Bourbon Street the rooms are very quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Jenn at the front desk took such good care of us, like we were old freinds, welcomed us the the night we got there, arranged our swamp tour, made us feel special. Everyone working in the hotel was very nice and helpful.. Our room was a nice size and very clean, and well supplied. Will be staying there any time I visit the French Quarter. The location is great also, we liked being close to everything .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel & courtyard were lovely, & the people were very friendly & helpful who worked there. It was close enough to be able to walk to everything & after we were sick of Bourbon street, we could head off in different direction & explore other places.
We had a balcony room hadn't expected that, but it was very nice to leave the door open & look out on the courtyard & get some fresh air. Unfortunately the weather was too rainy & cool to be able to use the pool!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The ambiance, food and decor were superb. The cleanliness and staff were outstanding. Recommend the rooms with balcony that overlooks the beautiful courtyard. The location was wonderful....just a block off Bourbon , but peaceful. To sum it
up for me....magical and charming!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suep117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing