We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in French Quarter!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location in French Quarter!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is perfect - very quiet yet walking distance to everything- great if you have kids. Our room was so nice and clean. The hotel restaurant, Vacherie is excellent and a hidden gem. The pool is so nice and refreshing after spending a hot summer day in the town. Would for sure come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    736
    250
    100
    59
See reviews for
293
742
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel only 1/2 block off Bourbon st. You can choose from either street side or courtyard balcony rooms. It also has on site parking (for an additional fee) which is not always the case in the French Quarter and is definitely a plus. Has a small cafe where we had breakfast. Not a huge menu, but the items they had were very good. Rooms we spacious, and the one we were in even had a bidet, which was very unusual. Not a cheap hotel, but very comparable to other hotels in the area. Front desk and other staff we courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a room on the 5th floor, which was nice because it was quite, however the room had a very musty/mildew smell. When my husband said it smelled I knew it was just not me. Looked like the air filters had not been changed in forever. We went out and bought glade and sprayed and then it was ok. The staff was great the food and beverages where good, not sure if we would go back.....but we had a wonderful time and enjoyed the pool.

The beds and pillows where great, we sleep very well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We came here for an extended weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Hotel St. Marie was the perfect spot to lay our weary heads; as well as take a break during the day. Our room was clean and well kept, we spent plenty of time on the balcony taking in the local scenery. Travis greeted us on arrival and his jovial presence throughout our trip was refreshing. Within walking distance of all there is to see and do in the French Quarter, the hotel is perfectly placed for our adventure. Our service was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixSheltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a well priced, very centrally located hotel with a good bar and restaurant also. A small pool is also welcome on the hot sticky days. We will definitely return as you can walk to all the local hotspots and are only a few blocks from the river. Excellent all round

Room Tip: Floors 2 - 4 generally have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Saint Marie for two nights from August 1st to August 3rd 2014. I came down for a friends wedding.

I was very pleased with the hotel. I split a deluxe room with a friend of mine and they have the most comfortable beds I think I've ever stayed in.

Hotel Saint Marie is in the middle of the French Quarter on Toulouse St. Walk around the corner to the left and you're on Bourbon St. 15 or 20 minutes walking get you to the water and a couple of excellent restaurants.

I did not have time to go into the pool but it looked very nice from the porch balcony.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good location ( close to Bourbon Street ) without the noise. The rooms are a little "dated" but the good service and pleasant/helpful staff make up for the old room in need of an update.
The restaurant and coffee shop have reasonably priced food with an efficient and helpful wait staff.
You could spend a lot more and get a lot less...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing inward. Street noise is terrible along with the frequent hor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2332123ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing