We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel!”
Reviewed 24 November 2008

This is a lovely hotel inhabiting some very old buildings in the French Quarter. We had a room with a nice wide balcony overlooking Toulouse - it was great! The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful, and the room, with nice furnishings that looked like New Orleans, was kept up well. The only drawback was the noise from Bourbon Street at night - but that's a common problem in the Quarter. I suspect if we'd had a room further back in the hotel, noise wouldn't have been such a problem - but we wouldn't have had the great balcony and view! Lovely stay - will stay there again.

  • Liked — Authentic, Historic
  • Disliked — Noise from Bourbon St.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GodAnhaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    736
    250
    100
    59
See reviews for
293
741
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Second stay at this hotel - great location, clean, comfortable, staff was very friendly and helpful. After 5 trips to the French Quarter in the last year and a half, we have decided that this is the hotel we will stay at on all future trips. Within walking distance for all of the French Quarter, less than a block off Bourbon St. Good rates, great value for the quality and location.

  • Liked — Location, rates, overall experience
  • Disliked — Walls a little thin - room to room noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthEastTX_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Our recent stay was four days, three nights. We would go back in a second. The hotel was wonderful. Beautiful courtyard, fabulous staff, great location, great amenities. You could not ask for a better hotel! We will stay there again and again whenever we return to New Orleans!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Broms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwood,pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We booked this stay in August wanting to experience a different culture...and boy did we. The hotel was very nice with cleanliness and welcoming crew all the way around. We stayed in room 520 which didn't have much of a view but we didn't really need one considering we were always on the go. We used the pool on a couple of occasions, usually just to rest and eat a muffuletta and have a cold beer. The mornings were nice downstairs with coffee, juice and either a danish or croisant and of course my morning paper. We were far enough from Bourbon street that we didn't here the noise but close enough to enjoy the excitement of all the fun things to experience. You can walk to everything if you enjoy walking and have good pair of sneakers. We always like to have a resteraunt in our hotel but was told that theirs was under construction, but it looked like it was just closed down. try this place you'll be happy..Mike and Mary Beth from Norwood,pa

  • Liked — Where it was
  • Disliked — view from room and no hotel bar and resteraunt
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikem42194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I stayed at the St. Marie just about a year ago...The best thing it has going for it is the location. Even though it's a stone's throw from Bourbon Street, the noise wasn't really a factor. The room was okay, clean for the most part. Mold in the window sills and a partially clogged shower drain were low-lights. The hotel pool was not clean. The most striking and disturbing part of the experience was the front desk person who literally growled "In or out!" when guests approached the counter. I immediately told her out because I didn't want to be growled at. Professionalism and training was sorely lacking here. Overall, great location, good rates, okay room, but improvements are definitely needed.

  • Liked — Location to restaurants
  • Disliked — Surly front desk
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBaldBaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

My friend was getting married a downtown church. So my husband and I decided to make it a get a way weekend in our own area. We live in River Ridge a community a few miles from New Orleans. We choose the St. Marie because of its perfect location. But we love it because of its wonderful staff. They made us feel so special! They greeted us each time we came and went thru the lobby (frequently, because we could go back to the hotel so easily). But even the housekeeping staff was friendly and pleasant (this has not been my experience in other hotels).

Now about specifics: our room was clean and well appointed (perhaps a bit dated in colors and design) but very nice and comfortable. The hotel has valet parking, which is important to us because of the parking difficulties in the French Quarter. The pool and beautiful patio was charming. We met our friends in the patio before going out the night before the wedding. Everyone said that we had found a jewel in the Quarter. Many of the rooms have balconies, ours did not but it was still lovely and the view from our windows was great. I have mentioned the staff, but I must say again how friendly and pleasant everyone was all of the time.

We will stay there again, should we do a weekend in the Quarter and we will reccomend it to our friends who come to New Orleans.

  • Liked — The staff and location.
  • Disliked — Room Colors
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverRidgeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2008

The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly! We weren't sure what to expect since hurricane Gustav had just came through, but hotel was great! Great location and the upgrade to the balcony room was great! Would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltofjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing