We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hotel-perfect location in French Quarter”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #62 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute little hotel-perfect location in French Quarter”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice, comfortable and clean hotel. It is in a great location (one block from Bourbon St) yet without all the noise and commotion. Queen beds are a plus, small but nice courtyard with a pool. Staff is helpful The hotel is an older building,however it is nicely maintained. The only complaint I would have would be that the rug in the room was old, worn and looked quite dirty. The room also had a bit of a mildew smell when you first walk in, but nothing really awful. Also, although the wifi is free, the connection was terrible! We had to go onto the balcony just to connect! Otherwise, dollar for dollar this is a good find,

Room Tip: Room with courtyard view/balcony was nice and quiet. I cannot say whether or not the street view/bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    742
    255
    103
    61
See reviews for
300
750
78
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Hotels.com, so might have gotten a good price, but it was nice and very clean. Great location to walk around the French Quarter and CBD from. It is an old building and we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarrow-flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed again at the Hotel St. Marie . Love this hotel. Location is absolutely perfect.Close to all the excitement of Bourbon ST. just 1/2 block away. Took a bottle of wine down to the pool this time and spent a very relaxing afternoon there before starting the wild nightlife on Bourbon ST. This hotel really gives you the feeling of old NEW ORLEANS.MISS TONYA at the front desk is always very friendly. She didn't just give us any room , she saw to it that we got our favorite room with a private balcony overlooking the street. thank's MISS TONYA. JOHN MARSHALL at the front desk is great also, a true professional very friendly. See ya'll again soon.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking Toulouse ST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I looked at several places to stay for a quick birthday getaway. I spoke to many of the hotels on the phone and all were pretty much the same and didn't seem to care weather i stayed with them or not. I spoke with Ernest at the Hotel St. Marie and i was taken back. I felt like i was talking to a friend and they were inviting me to stay at a place i would feel like home. I know there are so many places to stay, but i would recommend without a doubt this place based on my booking experience alone. I have not been there yet, as my trip is coming up, but i am anticipating a great experience! I teach customer service for a living and was impressed by the caliber of welcome and comfort i felt immediately. Ernest really make me feel welcome and went out of his way (yes above and beyond) to help accomodate me in this upcoming stay. I will be telling others of this experience so they can enjoy and well. I look forward to meeting everyone and thanking them in person!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

First...this is a beautiful , well-located hotel and priced right. Generally good, polite staff. However, desk person Travis gave us a 1/2 hour jerk around to move us to a different room. One that had been empty and ready to occupy for about two hours. He then took his sweet time in making up a key card, costing us another half hour wait, and making us late for dinner. This guy has a resentful attitude...and for spite, he never booked our taxi reservation for 5:15 the next morning. Real professional. I think is might be a good idea to call ahead. If he is still there, you could be next. He sweet talks, but does not belong in the hotel business. Manager/owner Brad Valentino thanked me when I called him a little while ago. Nice guy. This is not the first complaint about Travis.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottW1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Perfect location - a block from Bourbon street but without the noise. We had a room with a balcony facing the courtyard and it was wonderful.
The hotel staff were super friendly and very helpful Really appreciated their knowledge and recommendations.
The valet service was fantastic as well. John was helpful and always had a smile on his face.
Can't wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickilynaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

St. Marie is a quaint hotel that is located not even a block from Bourbon St. The room was nice, but the staff are the ones who left an impression. The ladies who checked us in the first day were very nice; one even suggested which swamp tour we should try. However, the guys (Travis, Thomas,and Rocco) were great. They suggested some GREAT restaurants for us to try, and they even went the extra mile by calling in our reservation (one night) and calling a bike taxi to take us to the restaurant. We have to go back!! Not just to see more of New Orleans, but to also visit hotel St. Marie and it's wonderful staff.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room with a balcony facing Toulouse St. Keep in mind that this hotel is nowhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
2,263 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#52 of 163 in New Orleans
1,631 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 163 in New Orleans
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing