We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel -- I would stay here again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel -- I would stay here again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel and staff. The rooms are clean and although the hotel is an old building the rooms have been updated with the amenities that modern travelers expect. Yes, there are very slight peeling edges of the wallpaper, and the wood trim has been painted many times, but that's just part of the history, as well as maintaining a hotel in a climate with insane humidity. The location within the French Quarter provided for great access to everything. Parking is by valet at $25 per day -- here's a tip -- USE IT! Otherwise there is NO place for your car. The valet guys are great, as is all of the staff. John at the front desk is thoroughly professional, and will call you by name if he checked you in. John was a big part of our satisfaction with this hotel. Nice swimming pool to wash off the daily dust. Breakfast is on the thin side, but when staying in the French Quarter you are going to go out to different eating spots anyway, which is probably why it doesn't pay them to stock up a big breakfast for folks who won't be there to eat it. All in all a very nice hotel with a great location. I would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to my friends. Make your reservations early, as this is a popular spot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightsmith491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    726
    245
    100
    57
See reviews for
288
731
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Redington Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

If you're looking for a clean hotel with a great location and a fair price near the Bourbon Street action, this is your hotel. We stayed 3 nights in a comfortable king bed room with a balcony overlooking an attractive courtyard. Everything was clean and updated to the degree you could reasonably hope for in an older hotel in the area. We were amazed at how quiet the room was - despite being 1/2 block from of one of the busiest corners on Bourbon Street. Everyone was helpful and pleasant to talk with. The continental breakfast wasn't much, but provided good coffee and just enough energy to walk the 6 or 7 blocks to Stanleys or Cafe DuMonde and get what you really want for breakfast when you come to New Orleans. We'll stay here every time we come to New Orleans!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donf798523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

When looking for a hotel in New Orleans, we wanted a reasonable room in a good location. Well, you get what you pay for. The hotel has that over air conditioned smell, you know like when you go to an old casino? The smell was so strong that after I got home and washed my clothes, I could still smell it! As for the room, the turquoise walls and matching bedspread were a bit offputting. The room was clean, but it seems someone kept a dog in the bathroom from the chewed up door I got to look at every time I had to pee. The breakfast "buffet" was basically bad coffee, fake OJ and a pastry. If you stay here go look for breakfast elsewhere. You'll be glad you did. On the plus side, the courtyard was nice. But I hope you don't mind smokers, cause that's where they all hung out. All in all, I wouldn't stay there again. Some of the staff were nice, some didn't know what the heck they were talking about. Pick someplace else, I highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans. Try there you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoraBoraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We have stayed in several hotels in New Orleans! Trust me, you will not be disappointed. The room was amazing! The staff was more then responsive. We received the highest quality service from the moment we entered the hotel. The room was cleaned immaculately! The atmosphere of the hotel invites the guest to relax and enjoy. It is a great hotel for anyone, we will definitely go back! Trust me it beats the other hotels by value and style.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed a single night in Hotel St. Marie in June of 2009. It was the perfect location and the best price in the french quarter. The hotel staff was helpful and polite if not overly exuberant.

All parking for the hotel is valet and the garage is very small. They did not have a problem with our car but those traveling with over sized vehicles might want to call the hotel first and make sure they can accommodate you.

The room we stayed in was a double double and it was spacious and clean. Our window overlooked Toulouse Street so there was not much of a view but who spends any time in the hotel room in the French Quarter anyway. Since the hotel was about a block off Bourbon Street the room was quite at night.

Good budget hotel in a truly excellent location. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

My wife and I just returned from a six day trip to New Orleans and loved every minute of it. The St. Marie is a great hotel, with awesome staff and a perfect location.... Our room was on the back side over looking Dauphine (great HUGE balcony). Granted the mornings were kind of noisy with garbage and delivery trucks driving by, but the balcony, view, and location made up for it... (They do have interior balcony rooms that our freinds stayed in, but the balconies are 1/4 the size, much quiter though).
For advise on places to or things to do talk to John Marshall or Brad, they won't stear you wrong. Thanks again guys.
This is an old building with a lot of character, just the kind of place we wanted to stay in when visiting this historic city... If you want frills this isn't for you, stay at the Hyatt if you want cookie cutter hotels... But we couldn't be happier with the St. Marie... WILL DEFINETLY STAY AGAIN... SOON..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

I'm not sure who goes to New Orleans to stay in the room, between the food, partying , sight-seeing and jazz- that would be silly.

This hotel is the perfect location, just far enough (1 block) off Bourbon so it's quiet enough to sleep but a stone's throw from everything.

The room we had was fine, two queen beds with a balcony. Clean, no frills. The decor was antique-ish, the bathroom door had slits so it would be strange to be there with a partner on a first trip together. The staff was nice, we had to keep going to them to use the safe deposit box which was in the lobby.

The breakfast was less then mediocre but who needs breakfast when you can just walk 5 minutes to Cafe du Monde?

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarlett755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing