We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for small conferences”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for small conferences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We enjoyed our conference at the Hotel St. Marie. The conference room was beautiful. The hotel's location was convenient to the night life for which New Orleans is famous, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griggsli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    733
    247
    100
    59
See reviews for
291
737
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mantel, Bayern
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I don't exactly remember the price, but we stayed there for two nights on the cheap. I love the location of this hotel, half a block from Bourbon St. We were there in late January prior to Mardi Gras and there were still revelers all over the place. This was not a bad thing, New Orleans has a great atmosphere. It is just a great place to be. The hotel was also great, but mostly New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usarmyguy617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed for 5 nights from 7/15 to 7/20/2009. Great location, rate and experience. This is not a luxury hotel but it is a very nice older hotel which is a good value for the $. Staff were very friendly and professional from check-in to check-out. I mean every staff member we encountered!! That's pretty unbelievable!! Rooms were clean and met our needs. Continental breakfast was a very nice plus. The location is very convenient to Bourbon St. yet quiet. This has become one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetoTraveltoo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Having found a great rate on www.NewOrleansOnline.com, this hotel was perfect for our stay. Right off Bourbon St., it was very quiet, even with a balcony. The mattresses were old but still comfortable. The room was spacious. When we first opened the door, there was a musty smell but the hotel is old so it didn't suprise us. It disappated once we opened the door and turned on the air. The management gave us umbrellas to use! The continental breakfast was just that. Frozen croissants (not fresh baked), pastries and juice and coffee. We didn't care for Cafe du Monde was within walking distance! This is definitely an acceptable, affordable hotel for those wanting to stay in the french quarter! We would come back and stay here! Parking per day was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

My family-six of us girls-stayed in two rooms at the Hotel St. Marie while we were in New Orleans for a family reunion. We did alot of research and read alot of reviews, and finally reserved two inside balcony rooms at this hotel. We were very concerned about how quiet it would be, being so close to Bourbon St., even though so many of the reviews said it was not a problem. In fact the reviews were almost too good to be true. But the reviews were true and I'm so glad we stayed here. The rooms were exceptionally quiet and very clean, the outdoor patio was really pretty, it felt like true New Orleans to me, and we all loved this hotel. The location couldn't have been any better and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If we ever get back to N'awlins, and I certainly hope we do, I won't even do any research, I will just make my reservations at the Hotel St. Marie.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borninnawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

The hotel is just off of Bourbon Street, but you need to walk further down Bourbon if you want the louder, crazier action. I spent a week at the hotel and managed to find something new to see or do everyday without a car.

The rooms were clean and a nice size. Housekeeping stopped by everyday to see what we wanted done. One day, we left our stuff on the beds, and they left us a nice note explaining why they did not change the bedding. Internet access was free through a hook up in the room or through wireless in the pool/garden area.

Breakfast was not outstanding: apple, croissant, danish, coffee, but free. However, Cafe du Monde is down the street. Go there and have a beignet and coffee instead.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Read413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel and staff. The rooms are clean and although the hotel is an old building the rooms have been updated with the amenities that modern travelers expect. Yes, there are very slight peeling edges of the wallpaper, and the wood trim has been painted many times, but that's just part of the history, as well as maintaining a hotel in a climate with insane humidity. The location within the French Quarter provided for great access to everything. Parking is by valet at $25 per day -- here's a tip -- USE IT! Otherwise there is NO place for your car. The valet guys are great, as is all of the staff. John at the front desk is thoroughly professional, and will call you by name if he checked you in. John was a big part of our satisfaction with this hotel. Nice swimming pool to wash off the daily dust. Breakfast is on the thin side, but when staying in the French Quarter you are going to go out to different eating spots anyway, which is probably why it doesn't pay them to stock up a big breakfast for folks who won't be there to eat it. All in all a very nice hotel with a great location. I would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to my friends. Make your reservations early, as this is a popular spot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightsmith491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing