We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #62 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, Texas
12
Reviewed 20 June 2006

The hotel is a bit older and the rooms were just average, but the location was perfect for guests looking to be in the heart of the French Quarter (it's just one block off Bourbon), but far enough from the noise and action that it didn't impact our sleeping.

The best part of all was that the hotel staff was exceptional. They provided wonderful customer service, even providing one of my friends a guest room to pump (breast milk) after we had checked out for the day.

We had the "do not distub" sign on the door, and they didn't enter the room but left fresh towels by the door each day. That was a nice touch. It was also nice that they provided towels by the pool without having to worry about taking your own towels. The pool and surrounding courtyard area was fairly small, but the hotel itself is small. So, think more "quaint" than big and noisy.

I'd definitely recommend staying there again because it was an enjoyable trip, good accommodations and wonderful staff.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Marie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,774 - 1,780 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2006

We booked the Hotel St. Marie for a law school graduation celebration and had a wonderful time. We had three rooms with inside balconies overlooking the pool area. The rooms were huge by Quarter standards and the staff were overly friendly and very helpful.

The location could not be better---1/2 block off of Bourbon but none of the noise. We have stayed in the Quarter often but this was our first time at the Hotel St. Marie. We will definitely book again. Great value for the price.

Fantastic summer rates have now kicked in. Book a trip and help re-jazz New Orleans. We enjoyed this small hotel immensely. Let the good times roll again!

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank pumpkinpatch61550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville Tennessee
17
Reviewed 13 June 2006

First of all, its our bad, we wanted cheap...we got it! This hotel looks like at one time it was quite nice. And were trying to give it a break due to Katrina recovery, but we checked in (to a very dark room) and immediately see roaches in the bathroom, which we had to call down to have them come up and clean (and it looked like somebody just urinated all over the toilet rim) but, the phone was broken, so we couldnt! They were accomodating to most requests but, still...roaches and unclean toilet? After 5 days there, they still hadn't fixed the phone.

Be prepared for noisy as hell if you stay here. Thin walls and people up all night partying in the pool (supposed to be closed at 10pm) We know its the FQ and people are there to party, but we couldnt sleep and the staff would do nothing about the noise. Plus the balcony which we upgraded for could barely fit two people and a chair.

On the third day, room service decided to come at 8:00am and after having to yell to keep them from barging in, they never came back to clean so we had to beg for clean sheets and make up our own room later that night.

The staff was not unfriendly but due to all the above, it was a negative experience.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2006

**I still do recommend this place...read on...*

Our room smelled like urine. I understand we're in New Orleans and a musty smell often comes with it, so I'm not being overly sensitive here... after airing the place out with the door open for a good hour and spraying some woman's body spray, it was pretty much fine...but when we stepped through that door we were pretty close to demanding a new room... but we're pretty easygoing people and took all things into consideration.

This was the only issue we had...the beds were comfy, the bathrooms nice, super clean otherwise...just a funky urine like smell. The lobby is awesome and immaculate, the staff is beyond friendly and accomodating and the hotel is close enough to Bourbon St. without being right on top of it. The bar attached, Hillery, I believe, is cute and awesome with a great bartender. I really do recommend this place... because it's a fact, most hotels in New Orleans will have a funky musty smell, that's life....so bring a bottle of Febreze and have a good time at Hotel St. Marie.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tiffeecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, Ohio
13
Reviewed 16 May 2006

We stayed at the Hotel St. Marie from May 10-14. Basically what I've read about it on here is true. The location is great. My husband noticed a faint "smell" in the room, but I did not. The balcony was, indeed, quite small. The courtyard is very pretty and comfortable, although not much room around the pool. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms. The staff was very helpful in getting us a cab back to the airport. We didn't try the restaurants, so I can't comment on those. One big thing I would have liked is if the room had a little fridge. It's so hard to have to throw away the wonderful N.O. food because we didn't have a fridge for leftovers! I think the hotel's price is great for its location. It's not the BEST hotel I've stayed in, and we'll probably try somewhere else next time just because we like to see what else there is, but it was definitely one of the better ones we've been to.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio
13
Reviewed 13 May 2006

Great location! The hotel staff was wonderful,polite,helpful. The elevator was being repaired but they offered to get someone to help with our bagage. It is a quaint hotel, typical of New Orleans. The garden was beautiful, as well as the views. The room was clean, more like a master bedroom than a hotel room. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2006

Stayed at the Hotel St. Marie during Jazz Fest. The hotel is in a great location - about half a block from Bourbon St. The staff are friendly and helpful with things like directions, restaurant recommendations, and obtaining cabs. The downsides were few, but important enough to mention. We had a room with two double beds. It smelled musty and damp. The smell lingered the entire time we were there, but did diminish some after two days. The bathroom door was slatted, so if you like privacy in the bathroom, forget it. The courtyard with the pool is quaint but extremely small. For extra $$, you can get rooms with a balcony and couryard view. However, the balconies barely hold two people and the distance between one side of the courtyard and the other is probably only 30 or 40 feet. Also, as other reviewers have noted, the walls are thin and you can hear people in the rooms next to you and in the hall very clearly.

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank Chicago75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#34 of 166 in New Orleans
2,288 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#54 of 166 in New Orleans
1,642 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 166 in New Orleans
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
1,335 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 166 in New Orleans
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £91 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing