We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - Exceptional Staff”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very good hotel - Exceptional Staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2006

Stayed at the Hotel St. Marie for 5 nights June 22-27. I was completely satisfied with the experience. Hotel property and room was in very good shape. This is a small hotel, but well run. Had a Superior Room with balcony overlooking courtyard. Even though hotel is only up street from Bourbon Street - could not hear the nightlife at all, so sleep was undisturbed.

Hotel staff was exceptional - friendly, professional, and doing a great job.

Also think the hotels telecommunications package was just great - $4.95/day for phone and internet (wired lan). Price was perfect (I think $10.00 that many chain hotels charge is just too much).

So, I highly recommend this hotel for your New Orleans stay!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    740
    254
    101
    60
See reviews for
296
749
78
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2006

I just spent a week at the Hotel St Marie in New Orleans. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff was wonderful, treating us more like friends and family than mere guests. The restaurant, HIllary's, on the first floor was the best dinner we had all week. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. The bistro was also great for breakfast. We tried every breakfast on the menu and found them all first rate. The hotel is located on Toulouse St between Bourbon and Dauphine, making it perfect for enjoying the French Quarter. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go with ease. I would most definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant!!!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

We just spent a week enjoying New Orleans and this hotel was a very positive part of that experience. We have stayed in quite a few places in the French Quarter over the years and this has now become our favorite. Our room was clean and quiet and everyone working there was great. We had wonderful breakfasts, great drinks in the bar and our favorite dinner all week was at Hillary's. The rates are really incredible right now too. Can't wait for our next escape there!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Marie two months after Hurricane Katrina. I was really shock to see that although the City was hit hard by the storm and suffer severe loses, the hospitality and service we received was astounding with the limited resources and of course lack of employees to provide the proper services.
On my returned trip back to the area I will most definitely choose the Hotel Marie.
From the hotel front desk to the car valet service was exceptionally good.
In this review I can't forget about the restaurant Hillery's that is part of the Hotel services.
Hillery's served some of New Orleans special dishes for dinner and gave us the superb services.

I can go on and on about the services, however I will follow on a later date because after six months of living at the hotel, I am still living here and have four months to go. I will keep you posted.

Thanks for giving the opportunity to write this small review on the Hotel Marie.

  • Stayed November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2006

We are in New Orleans often for fun and business. We had our best stay ever at the St. Marie. We have been hunting a place to be regulars at and I think we have found it. Had a nice room overlooking the courtyard. The flowers were lovely. The staff was warm and fiendly and very very helpful. The hotel is just one half block from Bourbon Street, but once inside her doors we were in a haven of peace and quiet. The hotel is small (only about 100 rooms), but has everything we needed. We will recommend it to everyone we know.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco (Dallas), TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2006

I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. We had not been back to NOLA since Katrina and decided to book a last minute Memorial Day weekend trip. The summer rates had just kicked in so we got a great deal. We normally visit in March or November and usually pay double. The hotel is right in the middle of the Quarter. Great so that if you needed to pop by the room real quick it was no big deal. This is the 1st boutique type hotel we have stayed at in NOLA. We normally do the chain places. Never again! We got the King Superior room with exterior balcony. Somehow we got hooked up with one of the big balconies and LOVED it. It was a little noisy at night due to it being so close to Bourbon. There is a little store a couple doors down that was very convenient. Room was very clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Give St Marie a try .. you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallastar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central City, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2006

I visited New Orleans from June 3 to June 6, and I chose the St Marie because of a good experience two years ago. I had heard that most hotels in NOLA were short-staffed, and I expected some compromise of service due to this fact. I was wrong. Although all of the staff I encountered were doing double duty, all were friendly and helpful. I requested extra towels, and did not have to repeat the request thru our stay. The front desk offered directions and suggestions for meals. But most notable was the valet-he was obviously busy, but still helped with the luggage as well and was patient and friendly. The location of the St. Marie is perfect, right off of Bourbon street and well lit for coming in at night. Our room was clean and had plenty of room for four. I don't think you could find a better hotel to stay in for a visit to New Orleans.

Helpful?
3 Thank ManyPurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing