We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great boutique hotel in the middle of the french quarter”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great boutique hotel in the middle of the french quarter”
Reviewed 16 April 2010

we recently stayed here and had a great time. I booked a room with a street view balcony and the room was great. Big room, clean, beds were great. The balcony was huge with a patio table and chairs with a view of Bourbon 1/2 a block away. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful with suggestions of tours and restaurants.
The continental breakfast is not the best but it is adequate for a quick cup of coffee and a croissant. With all the great food in New Orleans, I would rather eat out at one of the many excellent restaurants anyway.
Perfect hotel right in the middle of the French Quarter, 1/2 a block from Bourbon. We did not have a car and had no problem getting anywhere in the Quarter. We walked or took the streetcar around the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tontoMillville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    737
    250
    100
    59
See reviews for
294
742
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

My expectations weren't high with a boutique hotel in the Quarter at this price point so I suppose I was neither pleasantly surprised or disappointed.

The staff wasn't exceptionally friendly nor were they rude or unhelpful. We dealt with the same receptionist the handful of times we required assistance. He directed us to a few restaurants when we asked about that, helped us get some dry cleaning in, and called us a cab for the airport. Again, he wasn't rude but he was kind of subdued and robotic in his interactions. Maybe that's just his personality.

The room was comparative to a old, slightly run-down 2-star hotel (e.g. Days Inn). The room and bathroom were plenty spacious and the bed was usable but not comfortable. I think I may have had some trouble sleeping some nights if not for the excess amounts of alcohol. The room was clean but just had this sort of drabness about it.

We had a balcony room facing Dauphine. It was pleasant to sit out on the balcony in the afternoons even if there wasn't much going on to watch on the street. But it was quiet, save for the delivery and trash trucks in the morning, more interesting than the courtyard; and better than having a balcony on Bourbon (e.g. noisy!!)

Oh, there is a continental breakfast that includes croissants, apples, oranges, coffee, milk, and juice.

Overall it was a clean and comfortable stay at a good location in the Quarter at a hotel that was neither exceptional nor terrible.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Older building. When we got to our room it smelled musty and was told that older brick buildings all smell that way.We have stayed in older New Orleans buildings ,even in November,and there were no such odors.????The desk did send someone with an "Ionizer" which seemed to take care of the problem along with opening the French doors and airing the room out for several hours while we were out.But the beds..there is no fixing them.If I have on suggestion it is to get some decent beds.It's a good thing it"s New Orleans...the late nights and a few drinks help you get to sleep.On the plus side..great location in the Quarter,good staff,clean and with character.On balance I would stay at a place with some period charm than a new non-descript hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Fl.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

The Hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter, perfect location. Within walking distance to everything. We highly recommend Acme, the best food anywhere in the quarter. Also, shop at Rouse, it's a grocery store a couple of blocks away, 24 ounce beer cans for $1.84. Saves you alot of money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmjw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Hotel and staff were fantastic. Even when the toilet overflowed they came right away and fixed everything. Fantastic experience.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tams1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2010

The hotel is perfectly located and a good value for the area. The bathrooms were tiny and outdated but overall the hotel had a lot of charm. We stayed in room 608, which is on the main street and closest to Bourbon. It was so loud, almost as if there was no barrier to our room and the bars down the street. My friends and I hardly got any sleep (even after being out drinking) because the Opera House bar down the street didn't stop playing music until 5 am on Sat night and at about 3 am on Sunday night. Would highly recommend not staying in this room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, OH
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The hotel was nice and was perfectly located near a lot of attractions in the heart of the French Quarter. Reserved a outside balcony, but only rec'd an inside balcony, but luckily one of the larger ones due to the misunderstand (I can only assume). Very quiet and nice, but the room and furniture were very outdated including the bed. Could have been a little more updated. Parking prices are outrageous throughout the city. Make sure you bring your walking shoes!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bartenderess2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing