We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Hotel, Front Desk Women were Rude!!!!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Hotel, Front Desk Women were Rude!!!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

When we arrived at the Hotel St. Marie late afternoon on May 5th, 2010 , we had been quoted a rate of $84 thru their central reservation line using a AAA discount. Before we checked in we wanted to view the room as we had never stayed at this property and were just going by the AAA rating. The rooms were clean and the decor was nice and suitable for our stay. When we went back to check in the staff quoted us a different price than the reservations line. They than tried to charge us for parking and tax which was originally included in the $84. They told us to get a hold of their central reservation to try and confirm the $84 rate, however being that it was now 4::45pm they didn't answer. After some more back and forth with more than unfriendly and unhelpful front desk attendents we finally ended up paying the $84 plus $10 tax and $1 room charge. This all could have been avoided if the front desk staff would have tried to confirm our reservation with the in house reservations dept., instead of us trying to contact them thru the phone in the lobby. I think that that is the front desks job to provide customer service to their guests In the end our room was different then the one we had seen, but was good enough for 1 night after a fun night on the town. The male staff was more than friendly and helpful the next morning. Breakfast was include and was far better than the previous days front desk staff. It is a nice hotel close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTOWN72008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    745
    257
    104
    61
See reviews for
302
753
78
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Great location. Nice Rooms. Great secure parking. Nice Staff. Only misstep was extremely weak coffee and wonderbread croissants. Luckily, Antoine's Annwx was closeby and there's always Cafe du Monde. Great value as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yachtchefKeyLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Stayed here on an off weekend, no festivals going on. Hotel was quiet, comfortable, and close to all the French Quarter action. We reserved the room several weeks in advance and it was as we expected - a king room with inside balcony plus it was ready when we arrived just after lunch instead of 4 pm. Enjoyed the stay there, no complaints. It no longer has a restaurant or bar on site, but that wasn't much of an inconvenience. They do have a free continental breakfast, but it was only bread, sweet rolls, and coffee. Courtyard was nice and restfull, but doubt many people would spend time there. Also has small pool if you choose to get wet. The place is only 1/2 block from Bourbon St. and four from the Square. For the price, location, and comfort I would recommend it, but it's not a hotspot nor has any above average ambiance.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icemanlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2010

I had contact with the front desk prior to booking our reservations and it was the attitude of these personnel that cinched it for us. Everyone there really seemed to enjoy their work, the place was clean, the rooms very spacious, no complaints with the service, best croissants around, lovely courtyard, and we'd stay there again. My only wish was there were better pillows, (too flat) so bring your own.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly-quilters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Without a doubt this is a great place to stay. I have stayed at all 3 Valentino Hotels (Place d'Armes, Prince Conti and Hotel St Marie) and have found all 3 of them at the highest of ambience and quaintness. This hotel was very quiet even though located one block from Bourbon Street. No slamming doors, no noises between floors. Exceptional personnel to make my stay most welcome. Five stars in my book.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boopedo032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Jersey Shore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Outward appearance suggests this hotel is quite old but upon closer look, it was just built to look that way. We were staying there during Jazz Fest and they were a full house and seemed to handle it just fine, unlike some of the places in the NOLA.

The room was a little musty which seemed to be a result of very, very cold air conditioning. Clean baths, good service, fantastic location and a reasonable price. No problem getting extra towels or a roll-a-way. This place doesn't offer food or a bar but it doesn't need to. You are a half block to Bourbon and minutes to everything else. In New Orleans, if you're wasting time in your hotel, well, don't go to New Orleans. This place offers everything you need for a great location at a reasonable price. If you need to be pampered, this is not your hotel.

We had a court yard balcony, which had a table and couple of chairs, perfect for relaxing with the paper and a cup of coffee. Speaking of coffee, they do offer a small breakfast spread but be sure to get there early as they do run out of danish and fruit quickly.

An ice machine on each floor would be nice but not a big deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in April of 2010. I have stayed in probably 25 different hotels/bed and breakfasts in New Orleans, but this was my first time at the HSM. It is my new favorite New Orleans hotel.

The location simply cannot be beat, just 1/2 block off of Bourbon, a safe and easy walk even for 'seniors' like my husband and I (ages 61/58). There is a convenience store right by the hotel and that was handy for picking up soda/candy, etc.

Reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was a 3rd floor balcony room that overlooked the pool and courtyard area. The room was very spacious and clean. Good tv and plenty of storage/closet area. Bathroom was typical size and very clean and well supplied. The balcony was small but it was fun to stand on it and watch the pool area. We had a king bed (huge!) that was very comfortable. Our room was down a little hallway next to a supply room and I was worried that we would hear the staff getting things out of there, but we never heard a thing, no noise issues at all.

We did not eat the continental breakfast because we prefer to eat at the restaurants New Orleans has to offer, but we did walk down to that area and it look cute.

When taking everything into consideration - location, size of room, comfort of bed, cleanliness, etc., the HSM is my new favorite hotel in New Orleans. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 164 in New Orleans
2,274 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 164 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
624 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#50 of 164 in New Orleans
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing