We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel St. Marie Does it Again”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #61 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2007

THE HOTEL ST. MARIE, is a perfect place to stay when visiting the FRENCH QUARTER, in LOUISIANA. Absolutely hospitable, the staff was attentive, and welcoming. Though our reservations were for a large group, each party felt they were personally attended to with the greatest of consideration. From the point of making of reservations, throughout our stay, and in follow up afterwards, we were given the best of care. The rooms were inviting, clean, well maintained and most affordable. The desk clerks were delightful; friendly. The bell hops were personable, friendly, and willing to help without making us feel that our dollar was more important than our comfort. The city, still in the throws of post Katrina reality, was definitely regrouping/ rebuilding, but the people everywhere were thankful, kind, and thrilled to see visitors returning to the city again. I highly encourage America to go, invest your tourist dollar in rebuilding a fabulous town, and stay with the Valentinos at Hotel St. Marie, or any of the other Valentino properties. Respectfully, Karyn Weste r/ Petaluma, CA

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheRevPetalumaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,744 - 1,750 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2007

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel St. Marie! it is right in the heart of the French Quarter, which made for an easy walk to everything I was interested in. It is a block off Bourbon Street, so the late night revelers did not keep me awake. It is a historic hotel with a lot of charm, and it also has a lot of modern amenities. While it does not have a business center, it DOES have an optional $4.95 charge per day that covers all your local & long distant calling, as well as internet usage. The attached restaurant serves delicious food. The staff was friendly, personable, professional, and knowlegeable, even at 2:00 in the morning. I am a professional meeting planner and I would recommend the St. Marie to anyone.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank tmyawtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2007

Hotel St. Marie was the perfect place to stay during our trip to New Orleans. It's one block off of Bourbon St. where all the hottest bars and nightlife are located. The hotel has a quaint atmosphere and the staff is amazing. I lost my luggage on the flight down and the front desk called me at 2:00 am to tell me it had arrived and then delivered it to my room!! Without them I would have been pantyless the entire rest of the trip!!! They also were great help with getting taxi's (to the Sugar Bowl-5 min taxi ride), recommending restaurants, and other places to see and tour. I wouldn't recommend any other place to stay then Hotel St Marie when you plan a trip to New Orleans!!!

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank Jamers513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2007

We love this little hotel. We had a balcony room overlooking the street and it was a little noisy but not so bad. Our only negative comment is the room needed better housekeeping. Great location. Great staff.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank ARTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2007

Stayed January 12-14 for a music festival in the Quarter. Our room was booked as a balcony facing the street, but we got one facing the courtyard instead. That was fine with me due to noise. We had no noise at all, while our friends, who had a room facing the street at ground level could hear every noise from outside. And it was a LOT of noise. Kept them up all night.
The rooms were very large and nice. No problems with water pressure or hot water. Bell and valet were great. Front desk was friendly and very helpful with directions.
We ate at Hillerys on Friday at 6:00 PM. I should have known something was wrong when the place was deserted on a Friday night. The food was way way overpriced, and while tasted OK, there was no food on the plate! I mean hardly anything. I ordered the venison meatloaf and it was the size of a cell phone, with a teaspoon size portion of mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes. Then there was 3 green beans as "vegetable medley" All 4 meals were the same size portions, meaning SMALL. I left and went for a burger because I was still hungry.
I wanted to try their breakfast, based on reports here, but was afraid to. Instead went to the Coffee Pot a few blocks away and it was fantastic at only slightly higher than normal prices.

Oh yes, the beds at St. Marie were comfortable. I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WMiller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2007

We recently stayed a long weekend at the Hotel St. Marie and loved every minute of it! The staff was terrific, helpful and friendly. Breakfast at the hotel was wonderful and the lounge staff was great.

Our room's balcony faced the beautifully landscaped court yard and with the property being located 1/2 block from Bourbon Street, it was very quiet. The hotel was EASILY within walking distance to any place in the French Quarters you would wish to visit as well as the Riverwalk and downtown. Our group of 13 loved our stay so much that we have already agreed our next annual get-together will be held here again.

Can't wait till next year!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen272756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

i have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past 2 years. i met john zaleski when he was a bar tender prior to katrina. i was happy to reutrn on 12/26 to see that he was there and thankfully, alive. he was front desk clerk and gave the same personable service that he had given as a bar tender. i was there 3 days and he always called me by name when i walked through the lobby. the entire staff was friendly. i also have to say that the current bar tender greg pierre was extemely friendly and personable. he was always interested in what i had been doing during the day and what i had bought and where i had been. i am one of those people who will continually go to establishments based on the employees and how i am treated. this is true here in nashville as well as when i go out of town. for years i went to a competitor hotel close to this location for the same reason until it changed hands and i had a safety issue at the pool where neither the staff on duty or corporate managment appeared concerned. it cost them my business and i am sure; other business. i will continue to stay at the hotel st. marie. i could relate other postive experiences but i am sure anyone reading this is tired of listening to me.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#58 of 166 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,728 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,182 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#49 of 166 in New Orleans
3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing