We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as billed”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #61 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2007

I just got back from a 5 night stay at Hotel St. Marie. It's located just 1/2 block form Bourbon Street, and has parking attached to the hotel. The property is well maintained, and as such would rank as a good value. The rooms are not spacioud, but sufficient for a smaller hotel - Save the 5 or $10 that you spend for a balcony - they are tiny, and the ones that face the courtyard all are wide open and face each other - you wouldnt want to sit out, you would feel like you were sitting on a fire escpae in a tenement.

We did not find the staff as freindly and cooperative as billed. There is an older black woman who is very professional and warm, but the other people we interacted with were not as warm or friendly.

I traveled with two other co workers and each room was pre paid. Two were booked directly with the hotel and a third through Travelocity. One coworker travelled fomr the midwest and encountered horrible weather, stranding her in a onnecting city late on a Sunday and it wasn't clear till very late that there owuldnt be a lfight to New Orleans. Her room was guaranteed for late arrival and paid in full.

She never got to New Orleans on Sunday, but caught a very early direct flight to NOLA Monday morning. She arrived around 11, and desperately needed a ocuple of hours of sleep and a warm shower. She was told that there were no rooms available, and that they would not refund the room rate from the night before. they rented her prepaid room and wouldn't compensate her for the room she paid for and couldn't use until 4 pm that day *their check in time. She persistently argued her case, and first was told that the room was rented Sundya evening at 8, and then when she made the argument prsented, was told the room was rented at 3:30 AM when she didn't show up. The front desk clerk then became very unpleasant with her.

In any event, the hotel should have either 1) never rented the room 2) refunded her money for that night 3) and apologized for charing her when they took additional money for the room that was paid in full.

This taints my view of this otherwise nice hotel, and I would caution anyone used to big hotel values and service to think ttwice. I will take this up with management there, and if thye resolve it favorably, will write a follow up notice here.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank sbarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,740 - 1,746 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2007

We just returned from a weekend stay in the Hotel St. Marie and we were surprised to find a hotel in the French Quarter that was so conviently located yet so quiet and comfortable. The room was a very good size and the private balcony overlooked a very charming courtyard. The room we occupied on the 2nd floor was so quiet that we felt like we were the only guest staying in the hotel. The only negative that I have come up with was that the elevator was a little slow. Since we were only on the 2nd floor we took the stairs that were located through the courtyard. We will definitely stay there again!

3  Thank poostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2007

Arrived at Hotel St Marie after a long and excrutiating amtrak journey from Atlanta. 11 planned hours and 5 extra in delay. A very usual occurence it appears.
So having missed the superbowl and it being 12.30am we headed straight to our room.
I wasn't completely up to speed and failed to heed the advice on this forum about asking for a courtyard facing room.
We were given a room facing onto the street which unfortunately smelt a bit musty. We asked for a change of room and the man on reception upgraded us to a balcony room. The room was a good size, clean and had a great view from the balcony of the hustle and bustle of bourbon street. We climbed into bed and were just dropping off when the bar at the end of the street started playing bon jovi - living on a prayer. We tried to ignore it but both ended up singing the chorus. Thankfully exhaustion got the better of us and we slept a long deep sleep, our first of 5 nights in the hotel st marie and new orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank law6knp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

If you have a flair for life and a need for atmosphere, the Hotel St. Marie is a must stay. The hotel is an amazing journey back in time,,, the architecture, decor and courtyard are Vieux Carre at it's finest......................ah, to love New Orleans! It is also centrally located, Armstrong Park off the historic Basin St. is just a short walk away. Also, right outside the front door, turn left and you're on Bourbon, (it doesn't get better than that) Royal St. and next stop Jackson Square.....................all at your immediate disposal! The hotel itself was a delight, more personality than anywhere I have ever stayed from London to Toronto the the W New Orleans, the Hotel St. Marie was definitely a Top Experience. The hotel, the rooms, the courtyard and the staff............................FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank jdcadamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2007

Spent my wedding anniversary at the Hotel St. Marie and loved it.
Asked for and received a street balcony room. Did you hear the noise of the street ?- yeah, but hey, this is The French Quarter. Great location 1 block off of Bourbon and 5 blocks from Canal Street. Couldn't believe they even sent a bottle of champagne up to the room. What a nice touch! Maid service was great and everyone was friendly. Would definitely return.
Tony D.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TonyDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2007

THE HOTEL ST. MARIE, is a perfect place to stay when visiting the FRENCH QUARTER, in LOUISIANA. Absolutely hospitable, the staff was attentive, and welcoming. Though our reservations were for a large group, each party felt they were personally attended to with the greatest of consideration. From the point of making of reservations, throughout our stay, and in follow up afterwards, we were given the best of care. The rooms were inviting, clean, well maintained and most affordable. The desk clerks were delightful; friendly. The bell hops were personable, friendly, and willing to help without making us feel that our dollar was more important than our comfort. The city, still in the throws of post Katrina reality, was definitely regrouping/ rebuilding, but the people everywhere were thankful, kind, and thrilled to see visitors returning to the city again. I highly encourage America to go, invest your tourist dollar in rebuilding a fabulous town, and stay with the Valentinos at Hotel St. Marie, or any of the other Valentino properties. Respectfully, Karyn Weste r/ Petaluma, CA

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheRevPetalumaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel St. Marie! it is right in the heart of the French Quarter, which made for an easy walk to everything I was interested in. It is a block off Bourbon Street, so the late night revelers did not keep me awake. It is a historic hotel with a lot of charm, and it also has a lot of modern amenities. While it does not have a business center, it DOES have an optional $4.95 charge per day that covers all your local & long distant calling, as well as internet usage. The attached restaurant serves delicious food. The staff was friendly, personable, professional, and knowlegeable, even at 2:00 in the morning. I am a professional meeting planner and I would recommend the St. Marie to anyone.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank tmyawtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,344 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#58 of 166 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,733 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,186 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £91 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing