We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I chose this hotel due to its location, price, the fact that they have balconies and the reviews on this site. We arrived around 10:00am after a short ride from the airport. Check-in was I believe 4:00 and we hoped we could drop off our bags and explore the city. After a quick call to housekeeping, Amy surprised us by saying we could check in right then. Amy was a delight, she asked us if this was our first time to New Orleans (it was), when she saw us leaving the hotel she ask what our plans were, and upon our return she would ask how we enjoyed ourselves. While I'm on the subject of the front desk, I'd like to thank Rachael for coordinating a taxi to the train station and our wake-up call both of which were on time. Also a shout-out to the young man with the long hair who offered to brew a fresh pot of coffee at 5:00 am so I wouldn't have to drink what he called "dreg coffee".

Now on to the room. The beds were a little on the soft side for our liking and the spread had seen better days. But the room was clean and housekeeping did a good job our entire stay. As an apartment dwelling New Yorker, I usually choose a hotel with a balcony to get a little outdoor space. Room 214 had one of those black wrought-iron balconies you have seen photos or on television. It was large enough for 3 chairs and a large round table. If you look down the street you can see paddle-wheelers going along the Mississippi. Now a little warning. This street runs perpendicular to Bourbon Street which is less than a block away. Many people come to New Orleans and spend their entire vacation on Bourbon Street due to the fact the bars are open 24/7, and some have never left. We were there the first week in November, so when we closed the balcony door to sleep it block out the street nicely. If you are there during the warmer months, you will hear the noise. There is also a continental breakfast offered daily from 6am to 10am, the coffee is hot and the danish is fresh.

The Hotel St. Marie is in a great location to explore the city. The Mississippi River and Bourbon Street are right down the from the hotel. Canal Street is a short walk away and it's streetcars will connect with the rest of the system.

If we go back, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnronNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    737
    250
    100
    60
See reviews for
294
742
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The lobby is lovely, the staff is nice and helpful, the placement is great and easy to find. The room smells like mildew, however. It's bad enough that my throat hurts and there's a headache building. I paid extra for a balcony thinking I would see the street, but it's a courtyard room. It's quiet except for the tv blaring the across the hall. The sheets are stained and the coverlets are pulled and old.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroradancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Thomas, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Stayed here for four days and loved it. Extended our stay an extra day and the staff made the transition painless although we had to stay in a different room due to booking. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

this hotel had great accomodations especially for a large group, and was a pleasant place to end the day at.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaisheela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Stayed at the Hotel St. Marie for three nights (Thursday - Sunday) The location and potential charm of this property are it's main assets. 1/2 block off Bourbon St. in the heart of the French Quarter. Almost all main NOLA attractions are within walking distance or accessible from the Streetcars. The property itself is a little run down. Not horrible, but burnt our chandelier lights all over the hotel, the bedding is at least 15 years old, doors have old fasioned keys (we kinda liked that), etc. Worst part of our experience was housekeeping. They skipped our room completely on the first day. When we got back to our room at 3pm on the second day for a nap, they still hadn't touched the room. Had to wait another hour (even though we had been out of the room with "maid service requested" sign on the door since 10am. Overall, I would recommend this place as long as you're not paying more than about $150/ night. Peter at the front desk and Donald in bell services were AWESOME!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dettkno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilwaco, wa
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My daughter and I spent a wonderful night at the Hotel St. Marie this Oct. I had lived in New Orleans years ago and we both wanted to check out the city. Not only is the Hotel centrally located within the French Quarter, within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and things to see, but the room was large and beds comfortable- and the staff was helpful and friendly. We were able to take a bike tour of the city and leave our car and luggage at the hotel for safety until we returned. Our room had a balcony over looking the pool and the beautiful skyline of the city. We will stay there again!! Carol Ham, Ilwaco, Wa.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysmomIlwaco_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

stayed here for two nights. location to bourbon street was perfect. Just one block north of bourbon. Perfect location to run back to the hotel to get anything we might have needed or didn't feel like carrying around anymore. We like to travel with a bar if we are going to party at all (to save on cash). So filling up a coke with some "juice" on occation was handy. It was a very quiet room eventhough bourbon street was an insane party till 3am. The room had a good king size bed, small TV, large closet, large powder area and good sized bathroom. Safes were available at the front desk if we needed to store anything, which we didn't. A computer is available to print any flight into that you may need. Otherwise there is no computer/internet access. There was a small breakfast of coffee, juice, milk and danishes. Great for a morning snack. The hotel, courtyard and pool was just like the pictures. parking is $25 a day/night. Or you can google Central Parking in N.O. and get a coupon for $10 per 24hrs just a few blocks away on Rampart street. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I shopped around for the best price and spend $170 after taxes for the two nights. Most botique hotels in that location were that much for one night. So do your shopping and you can find a great deal at this great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoWeimGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing