We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever!”
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best hotel ever!”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I loved this hotel. It was a delightful surprise and more than I ever could have imagined. We had our own balcony, the room was clean and nicely decorated and only a few blocks off of Bourbon St. The courtyard rooms looked nice as well and would be a bit quieter, but overall the folks that work at this hotel and the amenities, the whole experience, was top notch. The hotel is in walking distance of just about everything. I turned 50 with the luff of my life in grand style at this lovely hotel in the French Quarter. I would definitely return. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassij01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    737
    250
    100
    59
See reviews for
294
742
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Only 1/2 block from Bourbon St.We had a huge room with 2 queen beds and a balcony looking towards Bourbon and the river,would stay here again if I was staying 2 nites or more,the only complaint I have is this place has a 2 nite minimum stay for special events and weekends.Our room did not stink or had any mold,yes it is a older hotel but you are in the heart of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Great location, half a block from Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. Off the main drag far enough for some peace & quiet. Worth the extra $ to get a room overlooking the tranquil courtyard and pool. Spacious room, decor is a bit dated, but the bathroom was sparkling clean. Free internet was a plus. Free breakfast was lame: stale croissants and apples, nothing more. Staff was mediocre, front desk was always busy while the valet sat there doing nothing and couldn't answer basic questions. Reserve & pay in advance on their web site for really good price deals. I'd go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed at The Hotel St. Marie last night. Usually I stay at another hotel but it was sold out. I selected Hotel St. Marie due to the price of $139 but I really expected more for the money after reading the reviews here. I was very disappointed as the place is old and needs TLC. The only good thing was the location.

The room was very basic and smelled like mildew. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were flat and hard. The toilet ran every 10 minutes all night long. The shower was very "spitty".

I will not stay here again. There are too many other historic hotels in New Orleans to choose from that have a lot of charm, and where "historic" doesn't mean "old and rundown".

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_McGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I chose this hotel due to its location, price, the fact that they have balconies and the reviews on this site. We arrived around 10:00am after a short ride from the airport. Check-in was I believe 4:00 and we hoped we could drop off our bags and explore the city. After a quick call to housekeeping, Amy surprised us by saying we could check in right then. Amy was a delight, she asked us if this was our first time to New Orleans (it was), when she saw us leaving the hotel she ask what our plans were, and upon our return she would ask how we enjoyed ourselves. While I'm on the subject of the front desk, I'd like to thank Rachael for coordinating a taxi to the train station and our wake-up call both of which were on time. Also a shout-out to the young man with the long hair who offered to brew a fresh pot of coffee at 5:00 am so I wouldn't have to drink what he called "dreg coffee".

Now on to the room. The beds were a little on the soft side for our liking and the spread had seen better days. But the room was clean and housekeeping did a good job our entire stay. As an apartment dwelling New Yorker, I usually choose a hotel with a balcony to get a little outdoor space. Room 214 had one of those black wrought-iron balconies you have seen photos or on television. It was large enough for 3 chairs and a large round table. If you look down the street you can see paddle-wheelers going along the Mississippi. Now a little warning. This street runs perpendicular to Bourbon Street which is less than a block away. Many people come to New Orleans and spend their entire vacation on Bourbon Street due to the fact the bars are open 24/7, and some have never left. We were there the first week in November, so when we closed the balcony door to sleep it block out the street nicely. If you are there during the warmer months, you will hear the noise. There is also a continental breakfast offered daily from 6am to 10am, the coffee is hot and the danish is fresh.

The Hotel St. Marie is in a great location to explore the city. The Mississippi River and Bourbon Street are right down the from the hotel. Canal Street is a short walk away and it's streetcars will connect with the rest of the system.

If we go back, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnronNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

The lobby is lovely, the staff is nice and helpful, the placement is great and easy to find. The room smells like mildew, however. It's bad enough that my throat hurts and there's a headache building. I paid extra for a balcony thinking I would see the street, but it's a courtyard room. It's quiet except for the tv blaring the across the hall. The sheets are stained and the coverlets are pulled and old.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroradancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Thomas, KY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Stayed here for four days and loved it. Extended our stay an extra day and the staff made the transition painless although we had to stay in a different room due to booking. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Property: Hotel St. Marie
Address: 827 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3493
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing