We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #98 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Better the second time”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed at the Clarion for the second time in less than a year when visiting my daughter at Tulane University. I wanted to change rating from 3 stars to 4 stars after this trip. The clarion grand boutique hotel is at a great location if you are visiting Tulane and it is very reasonably priced. By no means is it a fancy hotel but rather provides what is needed, is clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is provided in the morning which is convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveagreatvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased you had a pleasent stay and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    99
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
60
78
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Good value at this mid level hotel
Rooms are not bad but hallways smell and breakfast area miniscule with limited fare
On the positive side your waistline will thank you
Internet didn't work for two days and front office not helpful

You got what you paid for...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistolepeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The only way to make sure we always meet our guests' expectations is to know what other guests thought of their stay! I am glad that overall you thought our hotel was a good value, however i am disappointed that we did not fully live up to your expectations. I have spoken with both our housekeeping supervisor and our maintenance supervisor about the smell you experienced in our hallways. Though nothing was detected, they did do a complete inspection of the air system and carpet shampooing in them to prevent another guest from having this experience. Thank you again for your review.
SIncerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012


My 9 year old daughter and I stayed here recently for a weekend visit to New Orleans. If you have spent any time in New Orleans, you know how difficult it can be to park and get around in your car. I chose this hotel, since it was in the Garden District, and the trolley runs right in front of the hotel. The French Quarter is a few minute trolley ride away, and also the zoo is a short trolley ride away. However, the section in front of the hotel was under construction for our visit. No big deal, as the staff gave great directions to all the sights we wanted to visit. The good: the staff was great! Front desk and housekeeping were very friendly. The guys in valet parking were awesome! They took great care of our vehicle and showed us the best routes to get to all the places we wanted to get to! The location is so convenient to all the sights. The rooms were very clean and very large. Had a fridge, microwave, sofa, desk, nice flat screen, and comfy bed. There is also a Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro on-site, which is delicious!
The bad: my daughter thought the furnishings were out-dated (70's look). I thought it fit the style/location of the hotel. The breakfast was very limited, but there is a great place next door called the Trolley Stop Cafe, which had wonderful food at a reasonable price. The walls were very, very thin. If you are a light sleeper, expect to be woken up in the middle of the night when the neighbors come in. Can hear their casual conversation through the walls.
I would stay here again! Would be a great place to stay for Mardi Gras!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review! It seems like overall you had a great time here in nola! I am so glad you mentioned the streetcar construction. During this time the city is running buses along the streetcar line for easy transportation to the quarter. I like to say its the city's way of giving us some air conditioning on these hot summer days. The construction is expected to finish soon.
You are correct our furnishings are art deco reproductions inspired to fit the architecture of the lobby. In the rooms however are modern, streamlined ,dark wood furnishings purchased in 2008.
I am sorry to hear that you were woken up due to noise and want to assure you that all our walls are concrete reinforced for soundproofing above choice hotel standards. I will look in to purchasing earplugs for the desk just so this does not happen again.
I am glad that you will come back and stay with us next time you are in town and you are correct Mardi Gras is a blast at the hotel. We hope to see you then!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 CHoice hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

If you are familiar with New Orleans and visit here frequently or if you want to miss the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter then this is the place for you. We visit 3 to 4 times a year, so this hotel will become our place of choice. It is not the Waldorf Astoria or the "W." If that is what you are looking for, then you need to stay there. If you want a nice hotel for a reasonable price and a great location then this hotel is for you. The location of the hotel provides easy access to French Quarter and Garden District via street car stops just steps outside the hotel entrance. Beds are comfortable and staff is friendly and accommodating. Great stay in New Orleans

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tomahawkbmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I am so pleased to hear you had a great stay! We try our best to bring you great service, comfortable rooms and a little lagniappe all for a great price. Its great to hear when we succeed in that mission. I hope you will think of us next time you come to town or if you hear of anyone headed our way. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This well-located hotel was an ideal place to stay on our recent New Orleans trip. The room was spacious and well-appointed with a comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly since we were first-time visitors. The breakfast is definitely continental, with cereal and breads, coffee and juice. There are only a few tables, but we were generally the only people there for our three mornings. As the desk clerk explained, most visitors to New Orleans do not bother with breakfast. There is a lovely Copelands restaurant on the lower level which was very helpful to newcomers for our first dinner. The food is delicious, the staff amazingly friendly, and prices within range. Although parking was $18/day, that's apparently true for most hotels here. It was easy to retrieve our car when we did need it. The location proved to be perfect, far from the noise of the French Quarter, but only a 10 minute or so streetcar ride away. The streetcar stop is practically in front of the hotel. By the way, streetcar fare for seniors is incredible (40 cents if memory serves). All in all, I would recommend this hotel very highly and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomMomDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandboutiquenola, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I am so pleased to hear you had a great stay. I do hope you come back and visit us again on your next trip to New Orleans.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookhaven, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Small, quiet hotel that is nicely appointed. Good and Free internet. Fine housekeeping staff, very convienient location with Street car stop across the street. Easy valet parking, great restaurant on the first floor that does carryout.

Skip the free breakfast and walk a block to the Trolley Car Restaurant for a fine meal.

Excellent value for price paid. My favorite place to stay in the Garden District. They have a large second floor balcony that is a great place to bring coffee in the mornings or wine and cheese in the evenings.

Room Tip: Best not to get room adjacent to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
I am pleased to hear you had a great stay once again with us. We love our repeat guests and are so glad you have become one. We know you have many choices when choosing your accomodations and are very happy you chose us. Please come back and see us anytime!
Sincerelly,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I have found my new favorite New Orleans hotel. I stay here for business and I must say that it is one of the best values in the New Orleans area. Prices are cheaper and the rooms are larger than most in downtown New Orleans and the beds are very comfortable. Some of the rooms have whirlpool tubs. It is less than a 10 minute drive to the heart of New Orleans hotspots.

It is a small hotel (only 44 rooms I believe) but I have never had a problem finding a room at the last minute. The breakfast is not much but there is a Copelands restaurant downstairs open for lunch and dinner. The staff is helpful and friendly. The valet is exceptional and free, but you do have to pay for parking, just as every hotel in the New Orleans CBD.

However, for those of you that need a pool, this hotel doesn't have one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out to let us know how we are doing! I sure do appreciate hearing when a guest has a great stay. Please come back and see us the next time you our in New Olreans.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assisstant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2012 Choice Hotels Internation Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Avenue Plaza Resort
#68 of 164 in New Orleans
725 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#117 of 164 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 164 in New Orleans
334 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 2001 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel is located on St. Charles Avenue, the Mardi Gras parade route, and along the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. The shops on Magazine Street are less than a mile away. New Orleans' world-famous French Quarter, the Central Business District, the Louisiana Superdome and the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center are all just minutes away.Loyola University New Orleans and Tulane University are within three miles of the hotel and easily reached by streetcar. The Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport is fifteen miles from this New Orleans, LA hotel. With our hotel atop one of the best restaurants in New Orleans, Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, luxury and service is taken to new heights. The hotel's striking Art Deco style will remind leisure and business travelers alike that they are in one of the most unique cities in America, home to Cajun cuisine, riotous revelry and vanishing empires: New Orleans. Guests of this New Orleans, LA hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and Free USA TODAY papers daily. Business travelers will appreciate the concierge services, the fully equipped BIZNET business center and copy and fax services. Private meeting space ia available and can accommodate up to 40 people for most events and business functions. A lending library is also available for your reading pleasure.All guest rooms are newly remodeled junior suites with ten-foot ceilings, separate seating areas and some with lavish hot tubs overlooking St. Charles Avenue. All rooms come equipped with 42-inch televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, safes, alarm clocks with MP3 jacks, and two telephones with voice mail and data ports. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Clarion Hotel Grand Boutique in New Orleans, Louisiana will be staying in one of America's most beautiful and historically significant areas, the Garden District, a neighborhood dripping with Spanish moss and Southern charm. The location, charm and exceptional guest services make our hotel the perfect spot for both business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New Orleans
New Orleans Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing