We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“talk to Michelle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #99 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Macon, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“talk to Michelle”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Clarion for two nights before sailing out on a cruise--so friendly and helpful there--ask to talk to Michelle (pronounced Me Shell) and he will help hook you up with the best tours in town,we went on a swamp tour and saw alligators up close-exciting! Then on our return to New Orleans, Michelle at the Clarion (even though we weren't spending the night) watched our suitcases while we ate and scheduled our cab to the airport! Loved Michelle--and the Clarion!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Merrill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    99
    25
    5
    7
See reviews for
58
78
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel during New Orleans Jazz Festival. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. They were designed nicely and had good amount of space. The problem I had was with the cleaning ladies who did not show up to clean 2 times and when they did their cleaning was average leaving empty bottles and wrappers on the table. When I addressed this with the front desk, they were very apologetic and addressed it immediately. The front desk staff are excellent, very accommodating, and kind.
Also, the trolley was not working when we were there because they were doing construction. This is not the fault of the hotel, but it would have been nice to have a working trolley.
I would also recommend to explore Garden district as it is a very nice place with some nice restaurants. Trolley cafe close to hotel is pretty good to eat at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Priscilla2284,
I am glad you enjoyed your time with us during The New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival. It is such an exciting time to be in the city.
I am so sorry there was a housekeeping issue during your stay, but pleased to hear my front desk staff took ownership of this and had it corrected. I will pass along your kind words to them.
Unfortunately the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar is under construction at this time. The city has provided a bus to take you four blocks to the current streetcar pickup location. This is a temporary situation and will hopefully this construction will be completed soon.
Again thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent place to stay. Absolutely clean and comfortable. Staff is very efficient and accommodating. Close enough to all areas by bus and trolly. Typical breakfast for a hotel.
It pays to be a Choice hotel member because you can depend on them for consistency.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in the New Orleans area.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a clean quiet room, ask for 42.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Leber G,
We so appreciate your kind words. It is always great to hear when we successfully completed the goal of making each guests' experience a fantastic one.
You are correct it DOES pay to be a Choice Hotel member. You get later checkouts, you get free local calls, you get upgrades when available and you get points per dollar you spend. It is definitely a value you can't beat!
I am so glad you would recommend us and we hope to see you the next time you are in our city!
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recently stayed at the Clarion Grand Boutique in New Orleans. It was right on St. Charles Ave., in the Garden district and close to resturants, bars and the street car. The hotel was good for the money and convenience. It is not a 4 star, but with the high costs of hotels in NOLA, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmonaco62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dmonaco62,
Thank you do much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.We strive to be the best value for your dollar in the city and glad you felt you achieved that with us. I do hope you will come back soon and see us.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimbey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Good location in close proximity to French Quarter. Quiet area, out of the noise of Bourbon street area, but close enough to walk to. Older building, but well maintained.
Rooms very comfortable. On trolley car route. Breakfast is good quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whack4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
I am so glad you enjoyed our Garden District location. It is perfectly situated far enough away from the craziness of downtown, but close enough to get there in under 5 minutes. I sure hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2014 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashviile
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was warm and very helpful. The breakfast was good. The room was very comfortable. It was a big plus to have the streetcar to the French Quarter and the rest of the Garden District right outside the front door. Walgreens is just a block away. The ground floor adjoins a restaurant. We went to the Happy Hour twice and had good food, drink, and service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about us. Your review does a great job of letting our future guests know about the area. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope that the next time you are in New Orleans you will come and visit with us again.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
2014 Choice Hotels International Gold Award Winner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, big room, very clean. Staff are helpful and plesant. Family wanted to see New Orleans and this is a good location, outside the hotel the trolley car takes you into the french quarter. This area seems safe during day plenty of tourists. at night take a cab. Great value as well, recommended for the family visit where you dont want the kids to see the total craziness at night of new orleans lol.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rbtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeofTaylor, Manager at Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad you enjoyed you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Sincerely,
Geoffrey D Taylor
Assistant General Manager
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Avenue Plaza Resort
#64 of 163 in New Orleans
719 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#116 of 163 in New Orleans
236 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
320 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 2001 St. Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel is located on St. Charles Avenue, the Mardi Gras parade route, and along the St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. The shops on Magazine Street are less than a mile away. New Orleans' world-famous French Quarter, the Central Business District, the Louisiana Superdome and the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center are all just minutes away.Loyola University New Orleans and Tulane University are within three miles of the hotel and easily reached by streetcar. The Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport is fifteen miles from this New Orleans, LA hotel. With our hotel atop one of the best restaurants in New Orleans, Copeland's Cheesecake Bistro, luxury and service is taken to new heights. The hotel's striking Art Deco style will remind leisure and business travelers alike that they are in one of the most unique cities in America, home to Cajun cuisine, riotous revelry and vanishing empires: New Orleans. Guests of this New Orleans, LA hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms, and Free USA TODAY papers daily. Business travelers will appreciate the concierge services, the fully equipped BIZNET business center and copy and fax services. Private meeting space ia available and can accommodate up to 40 people for most events and business functions. A lending library is also available for your reading pleasure.All guest rooms are newly remodeled junior suites with ten-foot ceilings, separate seating areas and some with lavish hot tubs overlooking St. Charles Avenue. All rooms come equipped with 42-inch televisions with premium channels, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, safes, alarm clocks with MP3 jacks, and two telephones with voice mail and data ports. Non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Clarion Hotel Grand Boutique in New Orleans, Louisiana will be staying in one of America's most beautiful and historically significant areas, the Garden District, a neighborhood dripping with Spanish moss and Southern charm. The location, charm and exceptional guest services make our hotel the perfect spot for both business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion New Orleans
New Orleans Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing