We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #46 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were supposed to have stayed at the St. James Hotel for three nights but after the first night, we got on Priceline and got another hotel. We had reserved (and paid for) a King room and when we checked in, we were given a Queen room with a skylight that was broken, blinds that were broken, and one chair. The place was awful. So I went down to the desk and we were given another room. This had two chairs, a King sized bed, but run down. The light on the phone was blinking with a message and I followed the instructions to get the message so the light would stop flashing but it wouldn't allow me access. I called the front desk and after they made me feel like an incompetent idiot because I couldn't follow the instructions, they said they would send someone up. Well, they never did and we ended up covering up both phones with towels so that the blinking red lights didn't wake us up. After sleeping in the bed that night, I woke up with a backache due to the poor mattress. The last straw was trying to make coffee and the coffee pot was broken - the lid for the water reservoir had broken off. For $179 a night, I expected a bit more. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. The Royal Sonesta was superior in comparison (even without compariing them) and was $123 a night. Go Priceline !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSulli6701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
At St. James Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations.
As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again.
We deeply value your relationship with the St. James Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us. You can call us directly at 504-304-4000
Yours in service,

Sarah Hixson
Director of Sales
St James Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    302
    85
    34
    21
See reviews for
154
350
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a nice medium sized hotel, within walking distance to the French Quarters, and even nearer to Canal road, where you can catch the Streetcar to the Garden District.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. There is a steak restaurant next door to the hotel, but I didn't get a chance to try the food there. For breakfast, just walk to Ruby Slipper, which is just around the corner from St James and you can get a delicious breakfast there. They open at 7am.

The room I got was a bit small, but that was ok, as I did not spend much time in the room. Try to get a room with a window, or you may get claustrophobic. The bed was comfortable and the TV had good channels.

Overall, I have very little to complain about this hotel, as it met my expectations for the price I paid.The only complain I have is that the walls are rather thin and in the middle of the night, I could hear my neighbors having a "good" time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumimutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the St James Hotel in New Orleans. We know when you are traveling you have many options to choose from when it comes to a place to stay. We are absolutely honored that you gave us a chance and took your time to write a review on Tripadvisor!!! We cannot thank you enough and just want you to know that we truly value your opinion and you as "Our Guest".

We truly hope that on your next visit to the "Big Easy" you will choose to stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Sarah Hixson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkley, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I read a lot of reviews commending the staff, maybe they had a turn over? Not just myself, but I watched and listened as they treated other guests with bored and grumpy attitudes. Only the young lady that checked us in late at night was pleasant, don't think the other ones know how to smile. The custodial staff was much more pleasant and friendly, maybe they should run the front desk. Room was nice, but stains on the sitting chair and carpet were a bit of a turn-off. Think it was overpriced for what we got, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
At St. James Hotel, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations.
As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that this will never happen again.
We deeply value your relationship with the St. James Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us. You can call us directly at 504-304-4000
Yours in service,

Sarah Hixson
Director of Sales
St James Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just 2 quiet blocks outside the French quarter is this lies this lovely place. The room was delightful with more threads in the covering than you can count. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful (set up our room with a surprise from our kids; no business center but they printed our boarding passes). Small gripe: the word "pool" means an oversized tub. If you need an in-house coffee shoppe, this isn't your place, but neighbor places deliver. Really good value.

Room Tip: Interior court is over the small pool and voices carry up to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the St James Hotel in New Orleans. We know when you are traveling you have many options to choose from when it comes to a place to stay. We are absolutely honored that you gave us a chance and took your time to write a review on Tripadvisor!!! We cannot thank you enough and just want you to know that we truly value your opinion and you as "Our Guest".

We truly hope that on your next visit to the "Big Easy" you will choose to stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Sarah Hixson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Although the hotel isn't in the heart of French Quarter, I found that to be an asset. It's just a block or so off Canal Street, but far removed from the drunken craziness just a few blocks away (makes a big difference at night). Also, it's closer to the Convention Center & extremely close to a host of good restaurants (August, Bon Ton Cafe, Ruby Slipper, Gumbo, Mother's, etc....).

The hotel is a classic New Orleans style building with iron balconies, so it has a nice feeling. The lobby is welcoming, but my room was nothing special. The bed was quite comfortable, but the rest of the furnishings are fairly middle of the road. The bathroom was a decent size, but was a little worn/dated. Also, the hotel really doesn't offer many services/amenities. No bellman, so I ended up walking down 2 blocks to the W Hotel to catch a cab to the airport.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the St James Hotel in New Orleans. We know when you are traveling you have many options to choose from when it comes to a place to stay. We are absolutely honored that you gave us a chance and took your time to write a review on Tripadvisor!!! We cannot thank you enough and just want you to know that we truly value your opinion and you as "Our Guest".

We truly hope that on your next visit to the "Big Easy" you will choose to stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Sarah Hixson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our group of 6 fun folks had the best hospitality and customer service (from Rebecca) of any hotel we have ever stayed at in our 36+ visits to New Orleans as we always attend Quarter Fest or Jazz Fest in April over the past 30 years, so we have stayed at numerous hotels over the last 3 decades. The hotel itself is amazingly gorgeous, and in the perfect location to walk everywhere including the quarter and the river... We had the most wonderful customer service from everyone especially Rebecca who attended our every need, and helped us discover more cool places to check out. She assisted us in everyway as when we arrived, there was a power outage, and she was so polite, calm and welcoming that we immediately thought of her as one of our family members. The rooms were lovely, super clean and the courtyard areas were beautiful. I already look forward to returning next year as we had the time of our lives thanks to the FANTASTIC hotel experience at the LOVELY St. James Hotel!!!

Room Tip: The suites were WONDERFUL!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a large room, 12 foot ceiling, king bed plus couch, microwave and frig, all very comfortable and and dead quiet (in the second building, across the courtyard, along Natchez St). Free wifi was fine. Other reviewers have commented on the superb location in the CBD but near the Canal Street streetcars, the Quarter, and the river front. The hotel is about 14 years old, but in a much older renovated commercial building, so rooms vary in size and layout. As far as I could tell, all the renovation that some other reviewers complained about is over. We found this boutique hotel comfortable, convenient, and attractively priced (especially since we booked on Hotwire).

Room Tip: Second building may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Choice Hotels, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing