We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want great customer service, look no further!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“If you want great customer service, look no further!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Well New Orleans is an amazing place to be, and it really helps when your hotel is stay is great as well. The customer service made me feel special and like the staff actually cared about the guests. I give a big thank you to Amy and Danielle, those ladies are are awesome. This was definitely a great hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muff1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Amy and Danielle loved hearing they were able to enhance your stay in our great city! Customer Service is of the utmost importance here at the St. James and we are glad to know that was conveyed during your stay.

We can't wait for your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    289
    79
    32
    20
See reviews for
145
327
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed at the St James during the Essence Weekend. I found the hotel to be centrally located and convenient. When I arrived I was greeted warmly at the front desk manned by Ms Amy Ross. She was professional and knowledgeable yet friendly and warm. I was impressed by Ms Ross. She was a wonderful precursor for the rest of the staff and the hotel. All in all,I had a wonderful experience and have recommended it to a friend that is flying in to New Orleans soon. I too will return to this hotel on my next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 806LGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for the recommendation! Amy was ecstatic to hear of the impression that she gave you! We make every effort to provide that perfect mixture of professionalism and warmth you received. It's always fantastic to hear we affected a guest's trip positively!

Thank you again from everyone here at the St. James!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

WOW!! Enter a Hotel with Pleasant Staff such Amy Danyielle & Tori. These guys made me feel like i was back home. I booked St.James for the Essence Festival. I must say It was a Great Choice. I will be Booking there again. Thanks to the hospitality from Amy, Danyielle and Tori along with Tyrone & Keith. I Laughed with them every time I came out my room. Thank You guys for being a warm welcoming staff at St.James. :-}

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoKoLatDimpleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for the exceptional review!! On behalf of my entire staff, we loved having you here and enjoy when we can treat a guest like one of the family. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again next year!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My girls and I booked this Hotel for Essence Festival weekend and as soon as we pulled up and walked in we were greeted with the most warm welcome by Amy (who is freakin awesome btw). This hotel has the perfect price, is in the most perfect location and has the the friendliest staff. Beautiful hotel and our room was wonderful. Whenever I visit the Big Easy I will be sure to book here and only here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmoniqueelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the St. James! Essence Festival is one of our favorite weekends and we strive to be your home away from home while you're traveling. Amy is one of our greatest commodities and was very pleased to read your review. We can't wait until next year!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Throughly enjoyed my stay at the St. James. I had booked a Queen room and was upgraded to a King at check-in, which was nice. I got a good deal on the room at Expedia, and hotel exceeded my expectations. It's a small, boutique hotel, so there are not a lot of amenties like a bar or restaurant in the hotel, but there is a great breakfast place (The Ruby Slipper) nearby and it is close to both the French Quarter and Warehouse District which made it the perfect jumping off point for us to explore New Orleans. Amy and Danielle at the front desk were wonderful -- giving us lots of great suggestions on places to go and, especially, places eat and drink! All of the staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was comfy. Oh, and I enjoyed the cucumber water in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belladex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
I am elated to read your review! It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectations and we take pleasure in doing so. Your positive comments make performing our services that much more enjoyable! We look forward to ensuring continued satisfaction on your next visit to New Orleans!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Came to NOLA to celebrate my 30th birthday - and stayed at the St. James. Price was exceptional, rooms nicely appointed (enjoyed the iPhone alarm clock) and the staff was extremely knowledgeable and nice. They provided great recommendations on things to do, where to eat, etc. location was great...out of the quarter and way from the noise, but close enough to walk to everything or catch the streetcar. Only "downside" our room on the third floor was TINY - but we were prepared for that, knowing the property to be historic. I understand there are larger rooms available.

We enjoyed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wnchgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We are thrilled you found our hotel to be a "Gem"! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel for a recent music festival (Essence). The location and customer service was great. Danielle, Amy, and several other employees worked hard to keep us satisfied. However, the rooms and overall condition of the hotel leaves too much to be desired. We will not be returning. But if location and smiling, friendly faces is your only requirement, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_small12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review our your recent stay!

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing