We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Nola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #44 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really enjoyed, your facility there in the awesome city of New Orleans... Who dat Nation!! we stayed there for the Saints /Atlanta game , and had a blast ... Your staff is so wonderful... shout out to Amy, of course!!! When ever we come back to New Orleans, we will definetly stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel for my family's vacation. I couldn't be there at check in so I called ahead and asked them to charge my credit card for $5 and leave it in one of the rooms for my Aunt to see. I explained the story behind the $5 and the manager was more than happy to do this for me. It really is the little things that a hotel does, which makes your stay a memory and not just a stay. The staff at this hotel was very friendly during the entire stay. They answered questions, helped make reservations for us, printed out maps and gave wonderful recommendations. I will stay at this hotel anytime I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Exactly the place you want to stay if you want to experience New Orleans and the French Quarter...a very easy walk to the French Quarter , Casino, Drago's Restaurant ( OMG..the chargrilled oysters !)and the Riverboats...LET THEM PARK YOUR CAR...YOU WONT NEED IT UNTIL YOU LEAVE ...much better to walk around anyway...All the staff is great...everyone helpful....rooms clean...but the building is probably over 150 years old...there will probably be a couple annoyances...but I would stay there again in an instant.....rates we found were very reasonable...there is a pool ????.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acj0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was very nice for the price. The rooms are a bit small but still nice. I loved the courtyards! Very nice and inviting. The staff was awesome! The only downside was no one to help with luggage. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

You can't say enough about the staff! We were first greeted by James, who came out, helped park the car, proceeded to get the luggage out of the trunk with care and take it in to the hotel and up to the room. He was very helpful in getting our room set up for us(a/c, frig, ect.). Working the front desk to check us in was Tori. He checked us in quickly, helped with mapping out points of interest, places to eat and things to do. We also had the pleasure of another front desk personally, Miss Danielle. Just as energetic and helpful as Tori and James. They helped make serveral reservations, ect. for us. There is nothing this staff of friendly, energy packed, helpful, willing to go beyond the norm, caring people will not do to make your stay the best experience possible. Making you feel like family is an asset! Caring about your day, experience, helping you get the best out of your time in New Orleans is what drives them. We can not say enough of the staff, not to mention that the hotel sets in walking destance to WWII Museum, River Walk, and the French Market just to name a few. We give them a 2 THUMBS UP! And we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had booked a bachelor party to New Orleans, it was a great time and good place to go for this kind of event. This hotel may not have been the best choice for this type of venue, due to its boutique type atmosphere. However, it was nice and clean. It was also reasonably priced. What I liked the most about it was that it was off the beaten path a little bit, keeping it in a more peaceful and safe area.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Domvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife, daughter and myself stayed the weekend at the St James and can only say we will be back. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles from Danielle and James. They are exceptional ambassadors for the St.James. The room we had,122, has a semi private courtyard with a fountain and high walls surrounding it. Nice and private for the location is surrounded by busy NoLA activity. The location makes for very efficient outings being a few blocks from Canal St. and many of the best restaurants in town. The beds were extra comfy,shower easy to use,towels,sheets etc are top notch. They will bring you continental breakfast to your room as it is not served in the lobby but offered as room service only. The general neighborhood felt safe for New Orleans and was far enough from Bourbon to not hear the crowds all night but close enough to anything you would want to do.

Great staff,location,amenities and a great value. An extra kudos to Danielle and James for helping us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
1,346 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 167 in New Orleans
2,454 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#78 of 167 in New Orleans
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £99 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing