We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, rooms, AND staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #46 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My girlfriends and I planned a weekend trip to New Orleans months in advance. We called the hotel directly and booked with Danielle who was so sweet and upgraded us to a suite when she heard I was celebrating my birthday! When we checked in, there was Danielle again to make our experience fantastic right away! She gave us a map of the city and marked the best restaurants, bars, and places to see! She made sure we were taken care of in every way possible. Amy was so kind and funny! Every time we walked into the hotel she always asked where we were coming from and if we had a good time. These two are definitely major assets to the St. James! The hotel itself has an awesome location. We parked our car in Valet (and honestly never used it until we checked out). The croissants in the morning were a perfect start to our day! We will definitely be telling everyone about this hotel and will be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimmer2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Your Hotel is Elegant! I would like to thank Ashley, and Amy for their fantastic personalities and service. We throughly enjoyed our stay at your Hotel, and if we ever decide to visit New Orleans again, we will definately stay with you folks.

Thank you for your kind service and caring attitudes.

David and Anita Swartz
Alexanderia, LA.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaS71301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the St. James for two nights. The hotel room was clean and cozy. Extremely comfortable bed. The staff could not do enough to make our stay more perfect. It was our first visit to New Orleans and they helped make it wonderful. Amy, Toshiba, James, Tori, Ashley, and Danielle were so helpful with directions and suggestions. Amy told us exactly where to get on and off the street car so that we would have a seat. When we would come into the lobby we were greeted by name and asked how we were doing, where we had been, like we were family. James is the nicest bell hop, he suggested we go to Mother's restaurant our first night, it was so good. We will be back to stay at the St. James again and see all of our friends there. By the way it is also a great location to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolJG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really enjoyed, your facility there in the awesome city of New Orleans... Who dat Nation!! we stayed there for the Saints /Atlanta game , and had a blast ... Your staff is so wonderful... shout out to Amy, of course!!! When ever we come back to New Orleans, we will definetly stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel for my family's vacation. I couldn't be there at check in so I called ahead and asked them to charge my credit card for $5 and leave it in one of the rooms for my Aunt to see. I explained the story behind the $5 and the manager was more than happy to do this for me. It really is the little things that a hotel does, which makes your stay a memory and not just a stay. The staff at this hotel was very friendly during the entire stay. They answered questions, helped make reservations for us, printed out maps and gave wonderful recommendations. I will stay at this hotel anytime I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Exactly the place you want to stay if you want to experience New Orleans and the French Quarter...a very easy walk to the French Quarter , Casino, Drago's Restaurant ( OMG..the chargrilled oysters !)and the Riverboats...LET THEM PARK YOUR CAR...YOU WONT NEED IT UNTIL YOU LEAVE ...much better to walk around anyway...All the staff is great...everyone helpful....rooms clean...but the building is probably over 150 years old...there will probably be a couple annoyances...but I would stay there again in an instant.....rates we found were very reasonable...there is a pool ????.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acj0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was very nice for the price. The rooms are a bit small but still nice. I loved the courtyards! Very nice and inviting. The staff was awesome! The only downside was no one to help with luggage. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
1,307 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing