We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice boutique hotel with friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The St James Hotel is a very nicely maintained boutique hotel located downtown. The staff is extremely welcoming. The hotel is small but beautiful with a West Indies decor. Outdoor spaces include a charming courtyard just off the lobby and. small but pretty pool area. Our king room while not huge was spacious with high ceilings and tall windows. The bed was comfortable and the room was very well appointed with a new large flat screen TV, a small refrigerator and a microwave. Other special touches included a complimentary breakfast of hot croissants, jam and butter and choice of orange juice, coffee or tea delivered up to the room. That was nice. I also liked that the toiletries included a small bottle of mouthwash along with Bath and Body shop soaps, shampoo and conditioner. About the only thing the room lacked was a full length mirror ( a must for any hotel IMO). Also there were no newspapers in the lobby such as you'll usually find in other CBD hotels.

The location is quiet at night and close to the French Quarter as well as the Warehouse District. This is a great home base for foodies. The Bon Ton Cafe is right across the street. Chophouse steak house is accessible from the lobby. Le Foret, MiLa, Luke, Domenica, Herbsaint (great CBD restaurants all) are a couple of blocks away as are the wonderful restaurants of the Warehouse District.

The rate for all of this was quite reasonable compared to similar hotels in the neighborhood, especially since this was a busy weekend (Saints home game, kickoff to fall wedding season) and many hotels we tried were booked up.

My husband and I come to New Orleans frequently and like staying in the CBD. We had never stayed at the St. James before but we're adding it to our rotation after this pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trinitymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    270
    73
    29
    17
See reviews for
137
298
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My girlfriends and I planned a weekend trip to New Orleans months in advance. We called the hotel directly and booked with Danielle who was so sweet and upgraded us to a suite when she heard I was celebrating my birthday! When we checked in, there was Danielle again to make our experience fantastic right away! She gave us a map of the city and marked the best restaurants, bars, and places to see! She made sure we were taken care of in every way possible. Amy was so kind and funny! Every time we walked into the hotel she always asked where we were coming from and if we had a good time. These two are definitely major assets to the St. James! The hotel itself has an awesome location. We parked our car in Valet (and honestly never used it until we checked out). The croissants in the morning were a perfect start to our day! We will definitely be telling everyone about this hotel and will be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmer2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Your Hotel is Elegant! I would like to thank Ashley, and Amy for their fantastic personalities and service. We throughly enjoyed our stay at your Hotel, and if we ever decide to visit New Orleans again, we will definately stay with you folks.

Thank you for your kind service and caring attitudes.

David and Anita Swartz
Alexanderia, LA.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaS71301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the St. James for two nights. The hotel room was clean and cozy. Extremely comfortable bed. The staff could not do enough to make our stay more perfect. It was our first visit to New Orleans and they helped make it wonderful. Amy, Toshiba, James, Tori, Ashley, and Danielle were so helpful with directions and suggestions. Amy told us exactly where to get on and off the street car so that we would have a seat. When we would come into the lobby we were greeted by name and asked how we were doing, where we had been, like we were family. James is the nicest bell hop, he suggested we go to Mother's restaurant our first night, it was so good. We will be back to stay at the St. James again and see all of our friends there. By the way it is also a great location to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really enjoyed, your facility there in the awesome city of New Orleans... Who dat Nation!! we stayed there for the Saints /Atlanta game , and had a blast ... Your staff is so wonderful... shout out to Amy, of course!!! When ever we come back to New Orleans, we will definetly stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel for my family's vacation. I couldn't be there at check in so I called ahead and asked them to charge my credit card for $5 and leave it in one of the rooms for my Aunt to see. I explained the story behind the $5 and the manager was more than happy to do this for me. It really is the little things that a hotel does, which makes your stay a memory and not just a stay. The staff at this hotel was very friendly during the entire stay. They answered questions, helped make reservations for us, printed out maps and gave wonderful recommendations. I will stay at this hotel anytime I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Exactly the place you want to stay if you want to experience New Orleans and the French Quarter...a very easy walk to the French Quarter , Casino, Drago's Restaurant ( OMG..the chargrilled oysters !)and the Riverboats...LET THEM PARK YOUR CAR...YOU WONT NEED IT UNTIL YOU LEAVE ...much better to walk around anyway...All the staff is great...everyone helpful....rooms clean...but the building is probably over 150 years old...there will probably be a couple annoyances...but I would stay there again in an instant.....rates we found were very reasonable...there is a pool ????.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acj0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Southall Travel so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing