We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Quite Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #46 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our recent visit to NOLA and found the hotel very convenient to the places we wished to visit. The staff is very friendly and quite helpful and accommodating. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean. We would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The St james hotel was really nice, very close to the French Quarter and downtown. The front desk there was very helpful and friendly definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to come to New Orleans!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rogelio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We came here to be close enough to the French Quarter without being in the middle of the madness. The hotel is in a perfect spot: close, but not too close! Upon check-in, we were put in a room right off the lobby with a window facing traffic and a generic feel, which was slightly disappointing for a romantic weekend. However, once we discovered that the room's safe was not working, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite in the back of the property with a courtyard directly outside of the bedroom. It's definitely worth the cost difference, though, and we would've gladly paid the rate difference for such a huge improvement. The building is old (read: noisy) but beautifully refurbished and you can't beat the complimentary fresh croissant breakfast delivered right to your door! The staff was friendly and helpful; I will stay again during my next trip to NOLA.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank stephbrown44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I think this is certainly a reasonable alternative to other accommodations in the Warehouse District. The room was clean and well appointed. However, the room was small by comparison to other options at higher prices. So please be mindful of this when booking and comparing prices and such. Staff was efficient and very helpful etc. Not much more to say...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Extremely gracious staff, small but well appointed room, close to everything (but just far enough away).
We had a first floor patio room with a small pool and courtyard setting. (It was available for two other rooms and accessible via a hallway - but we saw no one else there except hotel staff - so it felt very private.)
All requests quickly and pleasantly provided to us. Note: we are not NOLA vacationers - and do not enjoy partying - so this hotel was a welcome and pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpdowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a romantic long weekend. This hotel was much nicer than we expected for the price. The rooms are updated and pretty spacious considering the age of the building. The street was nice and quiet at night. Not as noisy as the quarter, but all the fun of the quarter is only a short walk away. The St. Charles street car line is two blocks away providing access to the garden district and museums. We will definitely stay here next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 146erB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every thing about this hotel is great location a short walk to center of french quarter walk to world war II museum ,continental breakfast served to your room at specified time and fridge and micro wave in room was great. Hotel was very clean and staff was excellent very helpful and always ready to assist.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
1,305 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
2,385 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
1,128 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £82 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing