We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our August 15 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #46 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel was great ! The place was nice !! Little and sweet!! The pool was closed though but they were so nice to offer us to use the pool at one of their other hotels and even pay for the taxi !! The was so nice !! We were on the 2nd floor and we had to switch rooms cause my husband was not feeling good and we wanted to be on the first floor and they had no problem doing that !! So if your looking for a great sweet little hotel with awesome staff to stay at I recommend this place !! Carrie K

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great buy. The front desk was wonderfully nice and helpful, every day going out of there way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The rooms were nice, spacious, and had a bit of New Orleans flavor to them. The lobby was nice and there is a very pretty courtyard where we spent many evenings relaxing. There is also a very small pool. The location is great... 2 blocks from the start of the French quarter, a 10-15 min walk to bourbon st, and a 15 min walk to the WWII museum. Close enough to all the tourist destinations yet just far enough where you can actually get some rest!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Very clean, neat and tidy. Rooms were beautifully decorated in a period style without being too fussy. Great flat screen TV. Plenty of space in our room although our friends were in another room and it was very small. We paid the same and booked at the same time. So rooms could be inconsistent. We were very happy with ours. Bathroom great. Breakfast was wonderful, not a lot but very nice and you could order it for a specific time and it would arrive to your room. Close to everything you needed to see, we walked to the French Quarter and to Bourbon Street and to the paddle steamer. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Helped us to order pizza when we were too tired to go out again.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if at all possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamrock784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I had to be in New Orleans on business and my husband chose the St James for us. WOW, what a great spot. The location is walking distance to the French Quarter and on a quiet street. There are many restaurants very close by, yet you are out of the cra-cra-ness of the Quarter. The hotel itself is historic but renovated in a very period, yet tasteful way. Our room had a four poster bed and French doors that opened to the small pool area - just lovely. The staff were extremely friendly, accommodating, and a wealth of knowledge. A breakfast menu is left on your door daily and then delivered to your room at the time you desire. I cannot say enough kind and good things about the hotel, location, and service - we would stay here over and over again.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank csgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is very charming. Its a 5 min walk to Burbon St and a 5 min walk to the French Market. Its location is great. The rooms were spacious, clean and the bed was comfy. The pool is a little small but thats ok. Every morning they delivered the best croissants Ive ever had with coffee or juice. We got nice deal from Hotels.com and would stay here again. P.S. the front desk clerk, Ariel, was awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank artickiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I booked the ST. James hotel for my birthday trip to New Orleans. My stay was very pleasant which made it very enjoyable. The location was perfect and just a short walk to fine dining, shopping and Bourbon street! The highlight of my stay was when the front desk receptionist Arial sang me Happy Birthday! Besides that she went out of our way to make sure we had a comfortable stay and even recommended places to eat, tours to take and frequently gave us directions to local attractions. The housekeeping staff was also great and attentive. Overall the staff was very personable and made me feel special throughout my stay. This price of the hotel is very affordable. Definitely a good place to stay if your main focus is on touring and getting to know the city. I would definitely consider staying there again when I return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jamrock813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The staff is so friendly and accommodating that they make this hotel one of the best as far as service that I've ever stayed in. The price is right, the location is convenient (a couple of blocks off Canal), although the rooms are fairly small. The in-room, complimentary continental breakfast is nice and you pick the delivery time. The enclosed courtyards are charming. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 166 in New Orleans
1,307 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing